Articles Published in 2022
Articles on our Scholarly Commons
Book Chapters Published in 2022
Andrew A. Zashin, Jewish Divorce in Baldwin's Ohio Practice, Domestic Relations Law Beatrice K. Sowald and Stanley Morganstern eds., 2022-2023 ed.)
Shannon E. French, War and Technology: Should Data Decide Who Lives, Who Dies? in Ethics in the AI, Technology, and Information Age (Michael Boylan and Wanda Teays eds., 2022)
Ethics in the AI, Technology, and Information Age by ISBN: 1538160749Publication Date: 2022Increasingly, technology, the Internet and social media are playing a major part in our lives. What should we think about the ethical issues that arise, such as the changing role of intelligent machines in this Information Age? The impact of technology upon society is a perennial question, but the power of computing and artificial intelligence has ratcheted up the ethical implications of this relationship. It merits careful consideration. Ethics in the AI, Technology, and Information Age brings together a cohort of international scholars to explore the ethical ramifications of the latest technologies and their effects on our lives. This it does in three parts: (1) theoretical considerations, (2) practical applications, and (3) challenges. Beginning with theoretical essays, the book investigates the relationship between technology and nature, the limits of being "human" versus "machine," and the moral implications of artificial intelligence. The book then examines key questions; such as ownership of technology, artificial intelligence's replacement of human jobs and functions, privacy and cybersecurity, the ethics of self-driving cars, and the problematic aspects of drone warfare. With an appendix of films and documentaries to inspire further discussion on these topics, students and scholars will find Ethics in the AI, Technology, and Information Age an essential and engaging resource both in the classroom and in their daily technology-filled lives.
Dale A. Nance, Burdens of Proof and Choice of Law in Evidential Legal Reasoning: Crossing Civil Law and Common Law Traditions 361 (Jordi Ferrer Beltra'n and Carmen Va'zquez eds., 2022).
Evidential Legal Reasoning by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781316516997Publication Date: 2022This book offers a transnational perspective of evidentiary problems, drawing on insights from different systems and legal traditions. It avoids the isolated manner of analyzing evidence and proof within each Common Law and Civil Law tradition. Instead, it features contributions from leading authors in the evidentiary field from a variety of jurisdictions and offers an overview of essential topics that are of both theoretical and practical interest. The collection examines evidence not only as a transnational field, but in a cross-disciplinary context. Each chapter engages with the interdisciplinary themes cutting through the issues discussed, benefiting from the expertise and experience of their diverse authors.
Cassandra Burke Robertson, The United States Experience in Research Handbook On Extraterritoriality In International Law (Austen Parrish and Cedric Ryngaert, eds., 2022).
Research Handbook on Extraterritoriality in International Law by ISBN: 9781800885585Publication Date: 2023-08-28By engaging with ongoing discussions surrounding the scope of cross-border regulation, this expansive Research Handbook provides the reader with key insights into the concept of extraterritoriality. It offers an incisive overview and analysis of one of the most critical components of global governance. Authored by central voices in the global extraterritoriality debate, the Research Handbook on Extraterritoriality in International Lawoffers legal, interdisciplinary and regional perspectives on this evolving field. It covers a variety of issues, such as the economics of extraterritorial crime, judicial extraterritoriality, and extraterritorial human rights obligations. This comprehensive Research Handbook will be a valuable research resource for scholars and students of international law and politics, as well as international and domestically oriented legal practitioners who seek to grasp the difficult legal questions surrounding extraterritoriality.
Robin Shura and Brian Gran, The European Network of Ombudspersons for Children (ENOC): Key Influences on Children’s Rights Promotion in Children’s Rights and Independent Children’s Rights Institutions chapter 10 ((Agnes Lux and Brian Gran eds., 2022).
Brian Gran, Why the United States needs A National Children’s Rights Ombudsperson in Children’s Rights and Independent Children’s Rights Institutions chapter 10 ((Agnes Lux and Brian Gran eds., 2022).
The Roles of Independent Children's Rights Institutions in Advancing Human Rights of Children by ISBN: 9781801176095Publication Date: 2022Independent children's rights institutions (ICRIs) have been established across the world. Endorsed by the UN, they are independent of their governments and endowed with legal powers. Yet we know little about how ICRIs function. How do they work? What impacts their success? What objectives do ICRIs seek to achieve? The contributors to this edited collection provide first-hand experiences in directing, working for, and studying ICRIs and detail their unique, in-depth accounts of factors shaping ICRIs' efforts to monitor and advance children's rights. Chapters examine ICRIs in Belgium, Germany, Hungary, Ireland, the Netherlands, Pakistan, and the United States, as well as an extraordinary network of ICRIs, and introduce innovative ideas of how to think about ICRIs' independence and legal powers. Offering perspectives from across the world, this volume provides both theoretical and practical insights on a crucial element of children's rights, independent children's rights institutions. The Roles of Independent Children's Rights Institutions in Advancing Human Rights of Childrenis essential reading for students, researchers, and scholars interested in studies of sociology of childhood, law and society, children's rights, and human rights.
Reema Sen and Brian K. Gran, Pandemic Perils of Migrant Workers: Inequalities Intensified in 2 Social Problems in the Age of COVIC-19 73 (Glenn W. Muschert, Kristen M. Budd, David C. Lane, and Jason A. Smith eds., 2022).
Social Problems in the Age of COVID-19 Vol 2 by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781447360629Publication Date: 2022No detailed description available for "Social Problems in the Age of COVID-19 Vol 2".
B. Jessie Hill, Right to Decisional Privacy in Laws of Medicine: Core Legal Aspects for the Healthcare Professional, 471 (2022).
Laws of Medicine by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9783031081613Publication Date: 2022This book provides an overview of the US laws that affect clinical practice for healthcare professionals with no legal background. Divided into thirteen sections, each chapter starts with a summary of the chapter's content and relevant legal concepts in bullet points before discussing the topics in detail. An application section is provided in many chapters to clarify essential issues by reflecting on clinically relevant case law or clinical vignette(s). Filling a crucial gap in the literature, this comprehensive guide gives healthcare professionals an understanding or a starting point to legal aspects of healthcare.
Jonathan H. Adler, A "Step Zero" for Delegations in The Administrative State Before the Supreme Court: Perspectives on the Non-delegation Doctrine, 161 (2022).
The Administrative State Before the Supreme Court by Call Number: OhioLinkISBN: 0844750425Publication Date: 2022In The Administrative State Before the Supreme Court: Perspectives on the Nondelegation Doctrine, leading scholars consider a revival of the Constitution's nondelegation doctrine--the separation-of-powers principle that bars Congress from transferring its legislative powers to the administrative agencies. Although the nondelegation doctrine has lain dormant since 1935, some Supreme Court justices have recently called for its return. As the Supreme Court takes up the doctrine in current cases, this volume makes a timely contribution to our understanding of the separation of powers and the Constitution.
Books Published in 2022
Aging with a Plan 2d by ISBN: 1839982365Publication Date: 2022The book is a concise and comprehensive resource for people who are middle-aged and beyond and are facing the prospects of their own aging and of caring for elderly relatives--an often overwhelming task for which little in life prepares us. Using an interdisciplinary approach and many personal anecdotes, Professor Hoffman develops recommendations for building sustainable social, legal, medical, and financial support systems for aging and caregiving. Aging with a Plan combines thorough research with engaging anecdotes and practical advice. It offers one-stop shopping for anyone in need of guidance without a lot of time for independent research. The book answers questions such as: What legal documents should you be sure to have? What expenses should you anticipate in retirement and how do you save for them? What do you need to know about medical care as you or your loved ones grow older? How should you approach conversations about the sensitive topic of safe driving with elderly loved ones? What options exist for end-of-life care, and how do you make sure that your wishes will be followed? The book is user-friendly and accessible to a general audience, and each chapter ends with a helpful checklist.
Evidence Law, a Student's Guide to the Law of Evidence As Applied in American Trials by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781636591261Publication Date: 2022In clear and engaging prose that makes concepts accessible without oversimplification, this Treatise explains the Federal Rules, selected state variations, major cases, essential doctrines, and important underlying policies. Frequent practical examples drawn from courtroom practice introduce students to courtroom procedure, provide a context in which evidence problems arise, and acquaint them with the language of the courtroom. This volume can serve as background for beginning students and as a one-stop refresher for those taking advanced courses. Professors can assign various sections to track the syllabus or simply recommend this book as useful background reading.
Food and Drug Administration, 4th (2022 eds) by Call Number: WestlawPublication Date: 2022From Publisher: "An encyclopedic legal guide to practical procedure, Food and Drug Administration, 4th:
Covers federal FDA practices, administrative enforcement, and court proceedings. Offers insights on biotechnology issues, import and export issues, drug and device approval requirements, state food and drug regulations, inspections, and warnings Is cited as an authoritative FDA source by the U.S. Supreme Court and numerous circuit and district courts.
Giannelli Evidence (4th ed) by Call Number: OhioLinkISBN: 9781731920751Publication Date: 2022 supplementFrom the publisher: "Evidence, 4th examines the Ohio Rules of Evidence, rule by rule. The text of each rule is presented, followed by expert commentary and discussion of how the rule has been interpreted and applied by the Ohio courts."
Giannelli Rules of Evidence Handbook (2022 ed.) by Call Number: KFO540.G53Publication Date: 2022From publisher: "This softcover volume, Rules of Evidence Handbook, is a quick reference to the Ohio Rules of Evidence. Authors' expert comments shed light on each rule of Ohio evidence, emphasizing changes in the rules, as well as their application and interpretation by the Ohio courts since 1980."
Katz & Giannelli Criminal Law 3d by Call Number: KFO561.K37 2009ISBN: 9780314903587Publication Date: 2022 suppelmentFrom publisher: "Katz & Giannelli Criminal Law covers all aspects of criminal procedure, from initial appearance to postconviction remedies, with special emphasis on constitutional and evidentiary issues. The authors have integrated the Rules of Criminal Procedure with revised code provisions, common-law precedent, and recent caselaw from Ohio, other states, and the federal system. Expert commentary is enhanced with convenient cross-references to all major related treatises."
Katz & Giannelli Ohio Criminal Laws and Rules (2022 ed.) by Call Number: KFO561.A29O32Publication Date: 2022From publisher: "Providing a comprehensive criminal law reference for use in court, office, classroom, or police cruiser, Ohio Criminal Laws and Rules is written for everyone involved with Ohio’s criminal justice system. Contents include the full text of Ohio Revised Code Title 29 and selected provisions of the Ohio Constitution..."
Ohio Appellate Practice (2022-2023 ed.) by Call Number: KFO555.A4ISBN: 9781539228240Publication Date: 2022From publisher: "Ohio Appellate Practice provides fast answers to questions about appellate practice in Ohio, as well as in-depth analysis of all of the most recent caselaw, rules, and statutes governing it. The text covers all aspects of practice..."
Ohio Arrest, Search and Seizure (2022 ed.) by Call Number: KFO576.K37ISBN: 9781539228394Publication Date: 2022From the publisher: "In Ohio Arrest, Search and Seizure, a nationally recognized Fourth Amendment authority examines the balance of an individual's rights with legitimate law enforcement procedures, as reflected in decisions of the U.S. Supreme Court, Ohio criminal rules and statutes, and state caselaw. This basic reference on Ohio criminal procedure interprets new trends and developments while addressing facts and holdings in more than 800 cases.."
Ohio School Law (2022-2023 ed.) by Call Number: KFO390.L48Publication Date: 2022From publisher: Ohio School Law contains the authors' text from Baldwin's Ohio School Law in a handy format, with cross-references to federal and state statutes and caselaw. Expert commentary is geared to your practical needs, and it discusses all aspects of Ohio school law, with special emphasis on topics of current concern..."- The Roles of Independent Children's Rights Institutions in Advancing Human Rights of Children by ISBN: 9781801176095Publication Date: 2022Independent children's rights institutions (ICRIs) have been established across the world. Endorsed by the UN, they are independent of their governments and endowed with legal powers. Yet we know little about how ICRIs function. How do they work? What impacts their success? What objectives do ICRIs seek to achieve? The contributors to this edited collection provide first-hand experiences in directing, working for, and studying ICRIs and detail their unique, in-depth accounts of factors shaping ICRIs' efforts to monitor and advance children's rights. Chapters examine ICRIs in Belgium, Germany, Hungary, Ireland, the Netherlands, Pakistan, and the United States, as well as an extraordinary network of ICRIs, and introduce innovative ideas of how to think about ICRIs' independence and legal powers. Offering perspectives from across the world, this volume provides both theoretical and practical insights on a crucial element of children's rights, independent children's rights institutions. The Roles of Independent Children's Rights Institutions in Advancing Human Rights of Childrenis essential reading for students, researchers, and scholars interested in studies of sociology of childhood, law and society, children's rights, and human rights.
