CWRU Law School Faculty Publication 1970 - Now

"Crimes against humanity were one of the three crimes elaborated in the Nuremberg Charter. However, unlike genocide and war crimes, they were never set out in a comprehensive international convention. This book represents an effort to complete the Nuremberg legacy by filling this gap. It contains a complete text of a specialized draft convention on crimes against humanity in English and in French, and fifteen original papers written by leading experts on international criminal law. The papers contain reflections on various aspects of crimes against humanity, including gender crimes, universal jurisdiction, the history of codification efforts, the responsibility to protect, ethnic cleansing, peace and justice dilemmas, amnesties and immunities, the jurisprudence of the ad hoc tribunals, the definition of the crime in customary international law, the ICC definition, the architecture of international criminal justice, modes of criminal participation, crimes against humanity and terrorism, and the inter-state enforcement regime"-- Provided by publisher

In his nine decades on the planet, the late Henry T. King, Jr., served as a Prosecutor at Nuremberg, Legal Adviser of the Marshall Plan, Chief Corporate International Counsel for TRW, Chairman of the American Bar Association's International Law Section, Professor of Law at Case Western Reserve University, Delegate to the Rome Diplomatic Conference on the Establishment of the International Criminal Court, and Honorary Consul of Canada. In his final work, Professor King shares insights about his life's extraordinary journey, the history of international accountability for war crimes, and his philosophy of peace through justice. The book includes a Foreword by Professor King's son, best-selling novelist Dave King, as well as personal reflections about Professor King by prominent international prosecutors, government officials, and academic colleagues.

"The burgeoning interdisciplinary interest in 'intellectual' property has expanded beyond the conventional categories of patent, copyright, and trademark to encompass a diverse array of topics ranging from traditional knowledge to international trade. Though recognition of the central role played by knowledge economies has increased, there is a special urgency associated with present-day inquiries into where rights to information come from, how they are justified, and the ways in which they are deployed. [This book] presents a range of divers--and even conflicting--contemporary perspectives on intellectual property rights and the contested sources of authority associated with them. Examining fundamentatl concepts and challenging conventional narratives--including those centered on authorship, invention, and the public domain--this book provides a rich introduction to an important intersection of law, culture, and material production"-- Page [4] of cover

This completely revised and up to date Second Edition of this well received work offers in one volume a comprehensive review of United States copyright, patent, and trademark laws. It provides thorough and sophisticated treatment of this complex material in a form both less cumbersome than a treatise and considerably deeper and more sophisticated than a study outline or 'nutshell.' With its detailed citations, and readily accessible and complete subject coverage, this book will be a useful quick reference or deskbook for intellectual property practitioners, students, law professors, and librarians, as well as for anyone interested in understanding American intellectual property law.

This softcover volume, Rules of Evidence Handbook, is a quick reference to the Ohio Rules of Evidence. Authors' expert comments shed light on each rule of Ohio evidence, emphasizing changes in the rules, as well as their application and interpretation by the Ohio courts since 1980.

In his nine decades on the planet, the late Henry T. King, Jr., served as a Prosecutor at Nuremberg, Legal Adviser of the Marshall Plan, Chief Corporate International Counsel for TRW, Chairman of the American Bar Association's International Law Section, Professor of Law at Case Western Reserve University, Delegate to the Rome Diplomatic Conference on the Establishment of the International Criminal Court, and Honorary Consul of Canada. In his final work, Professor King shares insights about his life's extraordinary journey, the history of international accountability for war crimes, and his philosophy of peace through justice. The book includes a Foreword by Professor King's son, best-selling novelist Dave King, as well as personal reflections about Professor King by prominent international prosecutors, government officials, and academic colleagues.

From publisher: "Providing a comprehensive criminal law reference for use in court, office, classroom, or police cruiser, Ohio Criminal Laws and Rules is written for everyone involved with Ohio’s criminal justice system. Contents include the full text of Ohio Revised Code Title 29 and selected provisions of the Ohio Constitution..."

The Law of Intellectual Property, Second Edition, presents coreconcepts through cutting-edge applications, engaging problems, and dynamicperspectives. Cutting-edge, high-interest issues -- such as the development ofhuman genomics, copyright questions raised by digital music, and theapplicability of trademark law to domain names -- enliven class discussion andconnect students in a meaningful way to a rich selection of case law, theory,and statutes.The Law of Intellectual Property, Second Edition, features :distinguished authorship by three luminaries in Intellectual Propertycomprehensive and current coveragecutting-edge cases and statutory materials chosen for currency,interest, and the clarity with which they illustrate the principles underdiscussionstraightforward Notes that highlight salient themes, provide context,make connections between and among related case decisions and statutespedagogical innovations, such as Comparative Perspectives andPolicy Perspectives, which introduce special rules relating to technology,offer comparative analysis, and discuss viewpoints on topics and issuesscenario problems in each chapter, drawn from actual cases, teststudents' general comprehension of principles and statutory materials -- thesehighly engaging cases introduce products, expressions, and inventions thatwill intrigue and motivate studentscomprehensive Teacher's Manual with sample syllabi, teachingnotes, discussion pointers, additional problems, lists of supplementalmaterials, and suggestions for exams and assignmentsUpdated throughout, the Second Edition includes :new cases such as Dastar Corp., Nash, Funky Films, and Perfect 10,Inc. v. Amazon.Com, Inc .Written Description and Definiteness, and a section on StatutorySubject Matterdiscussion of the eBay copyright casesa new section on Reasonable Steps to Preserve Secrecy in the TradeSecret chapterThe Law of Intellectual Property, Second Edition, puts current andengaging cases and materials into an accessible framework to support teaching,enliven discussion, and motivate students.

"The burgeoning interdisciplinary interest in 'intellectual' property has expanded beyond the conventional categories of patent, copyright, and trademark to encompass a diverse array of topics ranging from traditional knowledge to international trade. Though recognition of the central role played by knowledge economies has increased, there is a special urgency associated with present-day inquiries into where rights to information come from, how they are justified, and the ways in which they are deployed. [This book] presents a range of divers--and even conflicting--contemporary perspectives on intellectual property rights and the contested sources of authority associated with them. Examining fundamentatl concepts and challenging conventional narratives--including those centered on authorship, invention, and the public domain--this book provides a rich introduction to an important intersection of law, culture, and material production"-- Page [4] of cover

From publisher: "Ohio Appellate Practice provides fast answers to questions about appellate practice in Ohio, as well as in-depth analysis of all of the most recent caselaw, rules, and statutes governing it. The text covers all aspects of practice..."

From the publisher: "In Ohio Arrest, Search and Seizure, a nationally recognized Fourth Amendment authority examines the balance of an individual's rights with legitimate law enforcement procedures, as reflected in decisions of the U.S. Supreme Court, Ohio criminal rules and statutes, and state caselaw. This basic reference on Ohio criminal procedure interprets new trends and developments while addressing facts and holdings in more than 800 cases.."

From the publisher: "Ohio Juvenile Law is a straightforward treatise containing selected provisions of the state revised code and rules of procedure and covering all major aspects of juvenile law..."

From publisher: Ohio School Law contains the authors' text from Baldwin's Ohio School Law in a handy format, with cross-references to federal and state statutes and caselaw. Expert commentary is geared to your practical needs, and it discusses all aspects of Ohio school law, with special emphasis on topics of current concern..."

Many of the new problems added to this edition concern the Supreme Court's new approach to confrontation in Crawford v. Washington. A number have been added for expert testimony, and revisions have been made regarding DNA evidence. Others deal with character evidence in criminal cases, including other crimes evidence and prior sexual assaults in both civil and criminal cases. Some examine the challenges presented by new technology when evidence comes from cell phones and computer hard drives. A new problem also raises issues that the new federal rule concerning "inadvertent disclosure" of privileged attorney-client material can help resolve.

The Endangered Species Act (ESA) may be the most powerful environmental law in the United States. Enacted in 1973, the ESA prohibits any actions that may cause harm to endangered plants and animals or the ecosystems upon which they depend. But although more than 1,200 species are protected under the Act, most remain in peril. The ESA may have saved some species from the brink of extinction, but there is little evidence it is working as intended to recover endangered and threatened species. In some cases, the Act's extensive regulatory requirements may actually discourage conservation efforts.In Rebuilding the Ark: New Perspectives on Endangered Species Act Reform, Jonathan H. Adler leads a group of environmental law experts in evaluating the ESA's successes and failures and exploring multiple avenues for reform. The authors examine methods for incentivizing conservation on private land and water, for revising and standardizing the ESA's regulatory framework, and for increasing transparency, accountability, and public participation in the Fish and Wildlife Service and other conservation agencies. Rebuilding the Ark also considers how the Act should be reformed to address the threat of climate change, and how ESA reform in the United States may affect species conservation overseas.The Endangered Species Act has not been altered for over twenty-five years. Debates over ESA reform are often contentious and hampered by partisan infighting and pressure from interest groups. But reform is crucial if we are to achieve the ESA's ambitious goals and conserve the world's endangered plants and animals. Rebuilding the Ark is a valuable resource for policymakers, conservationists, business owners, and concerned citizens alike.