Librarian
Introduction
The Judge Ben C. Green Law Library presents our faculty's publications.
Included are their articles, chapters in books, and books. This site is a work in progress, if you know of any publication not listed please contact Lisa Peters (lisa.peters@case.edu). The articles's link is to our Scholarly Commons, which offers open access to full text documents.
Our faculty are often consulted on legal topics in the news. To see news stories where are our faculty have been consulted see Faculty in the News.
From the menu on the left you can view these publications by author. The call numbers are those of The Judge Ben C. Green Law Library, unless otherwise noted. The URL link will take you either to the Case or OhioLINK catalog.
Featured: Dean, Paul Rose
Paul Rose
Dean
Areas of Expertise: Sovereign Wealth Funds, Corporate Governance, and Securities Regulation
Articles
Rose on our Scholarly Commons.
Book Chapters
The Impact of Tax Laws and International Treaties on Sovereign Wealth Funds, in The Palgrave Handbook on Sovereign Wealth Funds (H. Kent Baker, Jeffery H. Harris & Gyiyath F. Nkshbendi eds., 2024 ed.).
Sovereign Wealth Funds and Shareholder Activism: Corporate Governance and Public Policy Deliberations, in The Palgrave Handbook on Sovereign Wealth Funds (H. Kent Baker, Jeffery H. Harris & Gyiyath F. Nkshbendi eds., 2024 ed.).
The Palgrave Handbook of Sovereign Wealth Funds by ISBN: 9783031508202Publication Date: 2024The Palgrave Handbook of Sovereign Wealth Funds provides a comprehensive, detailed analysis of these funds from a multidimensional perspective consisting of 33 chapters divided into seven sections. Section I provides background material about SWFs, providing a foundation for the remainder of the handbook. Section II examines various controversies, governance, and accountability topics involving SWFs. Section III discusses the political, legal, and tax aspects of SWFs. Section IV reviews numerous topics involving SWF management. Section V deals with SWFs' policies, preferences, and performance. Section VI provides descriptive analyses of SWFs based on country or region. It also offers a comparison of SWF similarities and differences across countries. Section VII concludes by examining special issues and the future of SWFs. This handbook spans the gamut from theoretical to practical while offering the right balance of detailed and user-friendly coverage. Discussion of relevant research permeates the handbook. Although other books are available on SWFs, few are as comprehensive or provide a multidimensional perspective from academics and practitioners. This handbook fills a gap by showing how SWFs are a growing and dynamic force in international finance.
Sovereign Wealth Funds and Domestic Political Risk, in The Oxford Handbook of Sovereign Wealth Funds 159 (Douglas Cumming, Geoffrey Wood, Igor Filatotchev & Juliane Reinecke eds., 2017).
The Oxford Handbook of Sovereign Wealth Funds by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780191070822Publication Date: 2017Sovereign Wealth Funds have become increasingly powerful and influential investors. Their increasing role, and unusual character as both political and market actors, raise a number of issues with regard to finance, politics, regulation, and international business. This handbook draws together the growing but fragmented research on SWFs.
The U.S. Foreign Investment and National Security Act: Assessing the First Five Years of Implementation, in Handbook on Sovereign Wealth Funds and International Investment Law (Fabio Bassan ed., 2015).
Research Handbook on Sovereign Wealth Funds and International Investment Law by Call Number: OhioLinkISBN: 9781781955192Publication Date: 2015Research into the role of sovereign investments in a time of crisis is still unsatisfactory. This timely Research Handbookinvestigates the juridical foundation of sovereign wealth funds and investments and extends our frontier of understanding in this important area. Current research surrounding sovereign wealth funds is focused on investment flows and trends that are grounded in economics, neglecting to consider the role of law and governance in the investigation. From a legal perspective, the Handbooknarrates a 'passive' side of sovereign wealth funds and state owned companies, exploring how and to what extent the legal constraints imposed by host States act as barriers to investments. Additionally, the active side is also discussed and the influence of ethical principles, treaty re-negotiations and sovereign immunity practices on state investments considered. A comprehensive reference on a complex area of research, the Handbookwill be a valuable addition to the library of scholars and students interested in investment law, central banks, international economics and governance. Contributors:G. Adinolfi, F. Bassan, M. Castelli, L. Catà Backer, A. De Luca, S. Ghahramani, K. Gordon, L. Hsu, A.Lee, F. Munari, J. Pohl, B.J. Richardson, P. Rose, F. Scacciavillani, M. Vellano, A. Viterbo, T. Weiler, E. Whitsitt
Books
High Court Case Summaries on Constitutional Law by ISBN: 0314256962Publication Date: 2000Adaptable to courses utilizing Gunther and Sullivan's casebook on constitutional law, 13th edition.
High Court Case Summaries on Criminal Law by ISBN: 0314255419Publication Date: 2000Adaptable to courses utilizing Johnson's casebook on criminal law.
An Introduction to the Law of Business Organizations 3rd ed. by Call Number: OhioLINKISBN: 1685613721Publication Date: 2023This edition continues to bridge the gap between lawyers' understanding of the perspective of managers and vice-versa. It is designed to be an accessible introduction to the law of business organizations, with a focus on the practical aspects of business law that affect firm governance and management. The book continues to meet the needs of management students and M.Jur./M.S.L. students, but would also be appropriate for short (2-3 credit) business associations courses for JD students. The revised edition has been updated to include recent important changes in Delaware law, including recent extensions of directors' oversight duties, and has added explanatory material to make the text more accessible to a broader range of students. In an era of re-examination of the basic assumptions of business regulation, this text is an excellent introduction to the field.
Strategic Investment Funds by Call Number: OhioLINKISBN: 1464818703Publication Date: 2022This book provides a reference for policy makers who are creating or strengthening the operations of SIFs, particularly as governments examine the value of such funds as a policy instrument in the aftermath of the COVID-19 pandemic.
