CWRU Law School Faculty Publication 1970 - Now

When data from all aspects of our lives can be relevant to our health - from our habits at the grocery store and our Google searches to our FitBit data and our medical records - can we really differentiate between big data and health big data? Will health big data be used for good, such as to improve drug safety, or ill, as in insurance discrimination? Will it disrupt health care (and the health care system) as we know it? Will it be possible to protect our health privacy? What barriers will there be to collecting and utilizing health big data? What role should law play, and what ethical concerns may arise? This timely, groundbreaking volume explores these questions and more from a variety of perspectives, examining how law promotes or discourages the use of big data in the health care sphere, and also what we can learn from other sectors.

The Negligence: Purpose, Elements, and Evidence book provides in depth knowledge separated by the individual states in the United States. This book will greatly benefit every plaintiff attorney and judge in the USA.

Written by leading scholars and judges, the Research Handbook on Representative Shareholder Litigation is a modern-day survey of the state of this essential field. The book is an important and timely contribution by leading corporate law scholars, judges, and practitioners, seeking to better understand and explain the proliferation of shareholder litigation across the globe. It provides a cross-jurisdictional survey of litigation and empirical evidence on the recent evolution of these lawsuits, including in-depth analyses of several key forms of shareholder litigation. Its chapters cover securities class actions, merger litigation, derivative suits, and appraisal litigation, as well as other forms of shareholder litigation. Through in-depth analysis of these different forms of litigation, the book explores the agency costs inherent in representative litigation, the challenges of multijurisdictional litigation and disclosure-only settlements, and the rise of institutional investors. It also surveys how related issues are addressed across the globe, with a special focus on parallel forms of litigation in the United States, Canada, the United Kingdom, the European Union, Israel and China.This Research Handbook will be an invaluable resource on this important topic for scholars of corporate law, practitioners, judges, and legislators.

Learn about the latest developments in evidence law, including evidentiary issues posed by fax and e-mail, scientific and polygraph evidence, and more.

This problem-pedagogy casebook gives due attention to common law cases but also emphasizes the importance of statutes in the modern world. Innovative features, such as graphic exercises and diagrams of crimes, are integrated with more traditional elements. Beginning with an overview of the criminal justice system, the book goes on to devote chapters to the following topics: punishment, making criminal law, conduct, mental states, homicide, causation, defenses, rape, attempted crimes, complicity, consipracy, and theft. Criminal Law also includes an appendix with relevant sections of the Model Penal Code.

In clear and engaging prose that makes concepts accessible without oversimplification, this Treatise explains the Federal Rules, selected state variations, major cases, essential doctrines, and important underlying policies. Frequent practical examples drawn from courtroom practice introduce students to courtroom procedure, provide a context in which evidence problems arise, and acquaint them with the language of the courtroom. This volume can serve as background for beginning students and as a one-stop refresher for those taking advanced courses. Professors can assign various sections to track the syllabus or simply recommend this book as useful background reading.

An encyclopedic legal guide to practical procedure.

The Balkan Wars, the Rwanda genocide, and the crimes against humanity in Cambodia and Sierra Leone spurred the creation of international criminal tribunals to bring the perpetrators of unimaginable atrocities to justice. When Richard Goldstone, David Crane, Robert Petit, and Luis Moreno-Ocampo received the call - each set out on a unique quest to build an international criminal tribunal and launch its first prosecutions. Never before have the founding International Prosecutors told the behind-the-scenes stories of their historic journey. With no blueprint and little precedent, each was a path-breaker. This book contains the first-hand accounts of the challenges they faced, the obstacles they overcame, and the successes they achieved in obtaining justice for millions of victims.

From publisher: "This softcover volume, Rules of Evidence Handbook, is a quick reference to the Ohio Rules of Evidence. Authors' expert comments shed light on each rule of Ohio evidence, emphasizing changes in the rules, as well as their application and interpretation by the Ohio courts since 1980."

From publisher: "Providing a comprehensive criminal law reference for use in court, office, classroom, or police cruiser, Ohio Criminal Laws and Rules is written for everyone involved with Ohio’s criminal justice system. Contents include the full text of Ohio Revised Code Title 29 and selected provisions of the Ohio Constitution..."

From publisher: "Ohio Appellate Practice provides fast answers to questions about appellate practice in Ohio, as well as in-depth analysis of all of the most recent caselaw, rules, and statutes governing it. The text covers all aspects of practice..."

From the publisher: "In Ohio Arrest, Search and Seizure, a nationally recognized Fourth Amendment authority examines the balance of an individual's rights with legitimate law enforcement procedures, as reflected in decisions of the U.S. Supreme Court, Ohio criminal rules and statutes, and state caselaw. This basic reference on Ohio criminal procedure interprets new trends and developments while addressing facts and holdings in more than 800 cases.."

From publisher: Ohio School Law contains the authors' text from Baldwin's Ohio School Law in a handy format, with cross-references to federal and state statutes and caselaw. Expert commentary is geared to your practical needs, and it discusses all aspects of Ohio school law, with special emphasis on topics of current concern..."

Seventy-two new problems have been added in this new edition. A number of these new problems concern authentication of social media and electronic evidence and the authentication of DNA with interesting chain of custody problems. Additional problems have been added dealing with expert evidence, including validation of new types of expert and lay testimony regarding cell tower tracking. Three new problems in the area of attorney-client privilege examine the application Federal Rule of Evidence Rule 502. Many of the new problems draw their inspiration from recent appellate opinions dealing with cutting-edge evidence issues.

From the publisher: "Questions and Answers: Evidence helps you develop a better, fuller understanding of the law of evidence that will carry you through your evidence class and on into practice. This indispensable supplement, part of our well-known Questions and Answers series, helps you apply concepts as you learn them so that you can prepare more effectively for class and gain a competitive edge on exams...."