CWRU Law School Faculty Publication 1970 - Now

Law and the 100-Year Life addresses the growing trend of Americans living longer and healthier lives, with many reaching the age of 100. An aging nation presents new challenges for society, which must be reimagined to accommodate longer and more varied careers, multiple marriages, and defining moments of education. This volume explores the possibility of a 'third demographic dividend', a new period of productivity following middle age, and the potential for law and policy to support or divide aging citizens. Leading scholars across various fields come together to explore topics related to aging, such as health law and trusts and estates, as well as less obvious but equally important areas like housing, criminal justice, and education. This title is also available as Open Access on Cambridge Core.

This thoroughly revised second edition skilfully provides an updated and extensive overview of cutting-edge research on insider trading, the most common violation of securities law. It presents legal, economic, and empirical studies from Australasia, the Middle East, Europe and North America. Stephen M. Bainbridge brings together an array of expert contributors to provide global analysis on insider trading laws and economics. The book expands upon the previous edition with new and rigorously researched coverage exploring the USA's comprehensive insider trading ban and the related legal proceedings, as well as empirical research advancements in the field. New chapters examine important developments in other major economies, including China, Japan, and the EU, and feature new insight into insider trading laws in Israel and Arab countries. This new edition of Research Handbook on Insider Tradingis an essential resource for students, educators, and professionals in company and insolvency law, economics, and finance, interested in the intricacies of insider trading. Regulators and judges covering economic crime and corruption, and corporate law and governance will also find this book an invaluable reference.

This Research Handbook adopts an interdisciplinary approach to examine the nexus between competition law and corporate law, engaging with legal systems across the Americas, Asia and Europe. Combining theoretical, empirical and case-based research, leading experts in the field present insights into topical areas at the intersection of competition law and corporate law, such as the purposes underpinning competition and corporate law, the boundaries of the firm, corporate structures and their effects on competition, and the interplay between corporate governance, compliance and antitrust enforcement. They identify commonalities or points of divergence, and explain why the joint perspective of the corporation and of the market is needed to better understand these subjects. The chapters shed light on the varying legal and economic conceptions of the 'firm' and how these play out and interact or occasionally clash. They also reveal the deep and ever evolving interaction between competition and corporate law throughout history and given modern market realities. This Handbook provides detailed explorations of consumer welfare, shareholder primacy and managerial liability, as well as in-depth discussions on common ownership, interlocking directorates, killer acquisitions, corporate board diversity, ESG and antitrust sanctions. This is a beneficial read for students and academics in competition and corporate law, economics and corporate finance. The broad range of case studies and empirical insights also makes this a valuable tool for legal practitioners and policymakers.

This book provides a comprehensive survey of ethical issues raised by advanced medical technologies. The field's leading authorities explore how artificial intelligence, telehealth, robot caregivers, genetic therapies and enhancement, stem cell research, neurotechnology, electronic health records, data collection, and digital nudging are reshaping the landscape of medical practice. Organized around core ethical themes, the chapters consider how new and emerging technologies transform personal identity, the provider-patient relationship, privacy and autonomy, and social equity. Contributors clarify the complex values involved in medical innovation and practice, and explore what is at stake in the current ethical debates around these issues. While offering a valuable introduction for advanced students, professional philosophers, medical ethicists, and policymakers, this book also advances the scholarly discussion by presenting original theses and arguments, making it essential reading for specialists.