CWRU Law School Faculty Publication 1970 - Now

Is denying a patient medical care ever justified? Should patents on living organisms be permitted? When does "consciousness" begin in human being? Are there circumstances under which people should be sterilized? Questions such as these and others are the basis of assignments, debate topics, and life and death decisions people face everyday. They are aspects of a broad and dynamic field called Bioethics. Bioethics is the where ethics--right and wrong--intersect with biology, medicine, biotechnology, politics, law, religion and philosophy. It encompasses issues of profound importance to students, faculty and laypersons. Yet balanced, objective information--free from business, political or religious agendas--is hard to come by.

Standing on the shoulders of thinkers who have sought carefully to delineate proper behaviour in armed conflict--not least to distinguish just from illegitimate wars--military ethics is a subdiscipline enjoying renewed interest and, at the beginning of the twenty-first century, increasing practical relevance. It is particularly vibrant and expansive at the moment due to the emergence of novel forms of military activity. Whereas classical warfare involved a near symmetrical encounter between opposing forces, present-day asymmetric conflicts (such as fighting terrorists and insurgents) and other military challenges (such as humanitarian intervention and peacekeeping) raise especially difficult--and often dizzying--ethical issues.

With rapid advancements in human enhancement technologies, society struggles with many issues, such as definition, effects, participation, regulation, and control. Current and future initiatives in these technologies may not be in the participants' best interests; therefore, it is imperative for research on humanitarian considerations to be available to those affiliated with this field. Global Issues and Ethical Considerations in Human Enhancement Technologies compiles prestigious research and provides a well-rounded composite of the field's role in emerging technologies. Addressing both present and future concerns, this publication serves as a valuable reference work for researchers, students, professionals, and practitioners involved in computer science and the humanities, as well as many engaged in a humanities approach to metasystems, new artificial life, and robotics.

This comprehensive look at the law of evidence has been extensively updated and made current since the previous edition. One of the most significant changes in the Eighth Edition deals with the revolution in Confrontation Clause jurisprudence occasioned by the Supreme Court's decision in Crawford v. Washington (2004). Since the last edition, the Supreme Court has decided half a dozen cases involving Crawford's approach. Substantial additions to the detailed notes regarding confrontation reflect those new developments. Also, new material concerning scientific evidence has been added because of the dynamic nature of that particular area of evidence law-for example, the National Academy of Science's 2009 landmark report on forensic science. Finally, a number of cases and notes on new technologies, such as e-mail, computer simulations, social networking websites, and other the internet issues have been added.

This softcover volume, Rules of Evidence Handbook, is a quick reference to the Ohio Rules of Evidence. Authors' expert comments shed light on each rule of Ohio evidence, emphasizing changes in the rules, as well as their application and interpretation by the Ohio courts since 1980.

Winner of the 2015 PROSE Award for US History A "fascinating, encyclopedic history...of greater New York City through an ecological lens" (Publishers Weekly, starred review)--the sweeping story of one of the most man-made spots on earth. Gotham Unbound recounts the four-century history of how hundreds of square miles of open marshlands became home to six percent of the nation's population. Ted Steinberg brings a vanished New York back to vivid, rich life. You will see the metropolitan area anew, not just as a dense urban goliath but as an estuary once home to miles of oyster reefs, wolves, whales, and blueberry bogs. That world gave way to an onslaught managed by thousands, from Governor John Montgomerie, who turned water into land, and John Randel, who imposed a grid on Manhattan, to Robert Moses, Charles Urstadt, Donald Trump, and Michael Bloomberg. "Weighty and wonderful...Resting on a sturdy foundation of research and imagination, Steinberg's volume begins with Henry Hudson's arrival aboard the Half Moon in 1609 and ends with another transformative event--Hurricane Sandy in 2012" (The Plain Dealer, Cleveland). This book is a powerful account of the relentless development that New Yorkers wrought as they plunged headfirst into the floodplain and transformed untold amounts of salt marsh and shellfish beds into a land jam-packed with people, asphalt, and steel, and the reeds and gulls that thrive among them. With metropolitan areas across the globe on a collision course with rising seas, Gotham Unbound helps explain how one of the most important cities in the world has ended up in such a perilous situation. "Steinberg challenges the conventional arguments that geography is destiny....And he makes the strong case that for all the ecological advantages of urban living, hyperdensity by itself is not necessarily a sound environmental strategy" (The New York Times).

From publisher: "Providing a comprehensive criminal law reference for use in court, office, classroom, or police cruiser, Ohio Criminal Laws and Rules is written for everyone involved with Ohio’s criminal justice system. Contents include the full text of Ohio Revised Code Title 29 and selected provisions of the Ohio Constitution..."

This comprehensive and practical book focuses on the core concepts of Intellectual Property. The book's innovative pedagogy engages students with problems drawn from actual cases and provides them with introductions to cases and contextual summaries in the notes. Features: Includes recent patent cases Includes new trademark principal cases Streamlined coverage of fair use

A lean yet comprehensive casebook on the law of patents that features helpful introductory text, technologically-accessible cases, detailed comments, comparative and policy perspectives, and statutes Incorporates the America Invents Act, the most sweeping changes to the patent statute since 1952 The move from a first-to-invent priority system to a first-inventor-to-file system Significant changes to 35 U.S.C. section 102 Post-grant review of patent applications Inter-partes review of patents. Important new Supreme Court and Federal Circuit cases, including Myriad Genetics, Prometheus Labs, Global Tech, Akamai, Bowman, Actavis, and Therasense Updated Comments and Comparative and Policy Perspectives New and updated PowerPoint slides and website

From publisher: "Ohio Appellate Practice provides fast answers to questions about appellate practice in Ohio, as well as in-depth analysis of all of the most recent caselaw, rules, and statutes governing it. The text covers all aspects of practice..."

From the publisher: "In Ohio Arrest, Search and Seizure, a nationally recognized Fourth Amendment authority examines the balance of an individual's rights with legitimate law enforcement procedures, as reflected in decisions of the U.S. Supreme Court, Ohio criminal rules and statutes, and state caselaw. This basic reference on Ohio criminal procedure interprets new trends and developments while addressing facts and holdings in more than 800 cases.."

From the publisher: "Ohio Juvenile Law is a straightforward treatise containing selected provisions of the state revised code and rules of procedure and covering all major aspects of juvenile law..."

From publisher: Ohio School Law contains the authors' text from Baldwin's Ohio School Law in a handy format, with cross-references to federal and state statutes and caselaw. Expert commentary is geared to your practical needs, and it discusses all aspects of Ohio school law, with special emphasis on topics of current concern..."

Property Law and Social Morality develops a theory of property that highlights the social construction of obligations that individuals owe each other. By viewing property law through the lens of obligations rather than through the lens of rights, the author affirms the existence of important property rights (when no obligation to another exists) and defines the scope of those rights (when an obligation to another does exist). By describing the scope of the decisions that individuals are permitted to make and the requirements of other-regarding decisions, the author develops a single theory to explain the dynamics of private and common property, including exclusion, nuisance, shared decision making, and decision making over time. The development of social recognition norms adds to our understanding of property evolution, and the principle of equal freedom underlying social recognition that limit government interference with property rights.

From the publisher:"The California edition expands the latest edition of the well-established treatise Understanding Evidence to explore California's unique approach. Each chapter begins with the federal doctrine, followed by a section on how California approaches the topic. The Appendices include the California Evidence Code. The book is primarily intended as a reference for law school civil procedure students in California. However, its treatment of recent developments may make it useful to some practitioners as well."

Available via LexisNexis Digital Library.