Articles Published in 2008
Articles on our Scholarly Commons
Book Chapters Published in 2008
Jonathan L. Entin, Brown v. Mississippi, 297 U.S. 278 (1936), in 1 The Encyclopedia of the Supreme Court of the United States 224 (David S. Tanenhaus ed., 2008).
Jessie Hill, Capitol Square Review & Advisory Board v. Pinette, in 1 Encyclopedia of the Supreme Court if the United States 269 (David Spinoza Tanenhaus ed., 2008).
Jonathan L. Entin, Commerce Clause, in 1 Encyclopedia of the Supreme Court of the United States 362 (David S. Tanenhaus ed., 2008).
Jonathan L. Entin, Concurring Opinions, in 1 Encyclopedia of the Supreme Court of the United States 388 (David S. Tanenhaus ed., 2008).
Erik M. Jensen, Hylton v. United States, 3 U.S. 171 (1976), in 2 Encyclopedia of the Supreme Court of the United States 438 (David S. Tenenhause ed., 2008).
Jessie Hill, McCreary County v. ACLU, in 3 Encyclopedia of the Supreme Court if the United States 266 (David Spinoza Tanenhaus ed., 2008).
Cassandra Burke Robertson, Judicial Pay, in 3 Encyclopedia of the Supreme Court of the United States 52 (David S. Tanenhaus ed., 2008).
Erik M. Jensen, Life Tenure of Judges, in 3 Encyclopedia of the Supreme Court of the United States 187 (David S. Tenenhause ed., 2008).
Jonathan L. Entin, Kelo v. City of New London, 545 U,S, 469 (2005), in 3 Encyclopedia of the Supreme Court of the United States 109 (David S. Tanenhaus ed., 2008).
Erik M. Jensen, Sixteenth Amendment, in 4 Encyclopedia of the Supreme Court of the United States 403 (David S. Tenenhause ed., 2008).
Jonathan L. Entin, Raymond Motor Transportation, Inc. v. Rice, 434 U.S. 429 (1978), in 4 Encyclopedia of the Supreme Court of the United States 185 (David S. Tanenhaus ed., 2008).
Jonathan L. Entin, Rational Basis, in 4 Encyclopedia of the Supreme Court of the United States 182 (David S. Tanenhaus ed., 2008).
Encyclopedia of the Supreme Court of the United States by Call Number: eBookISBN: 002866129XPublication Date: 2008
Maxwell J. Mehlman, The Ethical, Legal, and Social Implications of Antiaging Technologies, in Aging, Biotechnology, and the Future (Catherine Y. Read, Robert C. Green & Michael A. Smyer eds., 2008).
Aging, Biotechnology, and the Future by Call Number: WT 104 A267abf 2008 (Allen Library)ISBN: 9780801887888Publication Date: 2008This wide-ranging, multidisciplinary collection examines how advances in medicine and technology are affecting the aging process and the lives of elderly persons. In analyzing the state of biotechnology, these essays applaud the positive--extended longevity and the potential for greater quality of life--while probing such ethical quandaries as presymptomatic genetic testing, therapeutic cloning, antiaging technologies, and the transhumanist movement. The volume includes discussions about the respective roles of health care professionals, government, and individuals in shaping a workable regulatory framework and unifying multiple perspectives to make the biotechnology revolution beneficial to all. Featuring contributions from renowned scholars of religion, ethics, philosophy, psychology, law, medicine and nursing, and gerontology, Aging, Biotechnology, and the Future illuminates the promises and perils of growing old in the biomedical age. Contributors: George J. Annas, Jessica Brommelhoff, Lisa Sowle Cahill, Margaret Gatz, Pamela J. Grace, Robert C. Green, Fernando A. Guerra, Rose M. Harvey, Kathy J. Horvath, Ann C. Hurley, Robert Lanza, Karen Lebacqz, Erin Linnenbringer, Maxwell J. Mehlman, Toni P. Miles, Sarah Moses, Thomas T. Perls, Leonard W. Poon, Catherine Y. Read, J. Scott Roberts, Diane Scott-Jones, Thomas A. Shannon, Richard L. Sprott, Rosemarie Tong, Laurie Zoloth
Erik M. Jensen, The US Legislative and Regulatory Approach to Tax Avoidance, in Comparative Perspectives on Revenue Law: Essays in Honour of John Tiley (John Avery Jones, Peter Harris & David Oliver eds., 2008).
Comparative Perspectives on Revenue Law by Call Number: KD5359.A2 C66 2008ISBN: 9780521887779Publication Date: 2008Dedicated to the work of John Tiley, the premier tax academic in the UK for more than two decades, this volume of essays focuses on two themes that, among others, inspire the writings of Tiley. The first of these themes, tax avoidance, involves using tax law in a manner that is contrary to legislative intent. The second of these themes, taxation of the family, involves proper identification of the tax subject and is therefore one of the fundamental structural features of income tax. Drawing on historical precedent, academic excellence and personal experience, the importance of Tiley's contribution to the tax field is identified through contributions by some of the world's most influential tax writers.
Sharona Hoffman, Healthcare in the United States: a Matter of Right or Privilege?, in Health Capital and Sustainable Socioeconomic Development 267 (Patricia A. Cholewka & Mitra M Motlagh eds., 2008).
Health Capital and Sustainable Socioeconomic Development by Call Number: OhioLinkISBN: 9781420046908Publication Date: 2008Given ongoing worldwide calamities such as famine, natural disasters, and drug abuse, international attention has increasingly focused upon disease detection, prevention, containment, and treatment. Serving an unmet need in the marketplace, Health Capital and Sustainable Socioeconomic Development highlights mounting evidence of the strong relationship between human capital and socioeconomic development and poses management strategies from international and interdisciplinary sources. With a fresh perspective, scholars and practitioners in the health and sustainable development fields address such issues as healthcare and education, funding for healthcare services, and the impact of legal and political policies on healthcare needs. An original contribution to the subject, this indispensable reference not only analyzes diverse worldwide health crises and their causes, but also provides insights into effective, pragmatic, and sustainable solutions. Broad Range of Topics Illuminated in a Readable and Pertinent Manner Encompassing theory and practice within three distinct sections, the text begins by examining social and cultural issues including HIV/AIDS and alcohol, with an emphasis on the role of collaborative networks in developing countries. The second part delves into economic considerations as they pertain to western healthcare and low-income countries. It spotlights healthcare in the United States, analyzes Iraq as a case study of the brain drain of health capital, and explores sustainable development as a tangible step toward famine elimination. The book concludes with a thorough analysis of legal and political ramifications, from the social and economic benefits of ending the war on drugs to a human rights approach to healthcare commercialization. Features authors from the Max Planck Institute, Columbia University, the London School of Economics, the Russian Academy of Sciences, Care Per¿, and other prestigious institutions
Michael P. Scharf, Aut Dedere Aut Judicare (Prosecute or Extradite), in Max Planck Encyclopedia of Public International Law (Rudiger Wolfurm ed., 2008).
Jonathan H. Adler, Environment, in The Encyclopedia of Libertarianism 150 (Ronald Hamowy ed., 2008).
The Encyclopedia of Libertarianism by Call Number: JC585 .E53 2008ISBN: 9781412965804Publication Date: 2008As a continuation of the older tradition of classical liberalism, libertarian thinking draws on a rich body of thought and scholarship. Contemporary libertarian scholars are continuing that tradition by making substantial contributions to such fields as philosophy, jurisprudence, economics, evolutionary psychology, political theory, and history, in both academia and politics. With more than 300 A-to-Z signed entries written by top scholars, The Encyclopedia of Libertarianism is purposed to be a useful compilation of and introduction to libertarian scholarship. The Encyclopedia starts with an introductory essay offering an extensive historical and thematic overview of key thinkers, events, and publications in the development of libertarian thought. The Reader's Guide groups content for researchers and students alike, allowing them to study libertarianism topically, biographically, and by public policy issues.Key FeaturesEntries conclude with bibliographies and references for further reading and cross-references to related entries.Each entry provides an introduction to a topic or policy question relevant to libertarianism or a biography of a person who has had an impact on libertarianism.Editors take special care to ensure entries clearly explain libertarian approaches to issues, do not take sides on disputed matters or engage in polemics, and represent the views of all sides fairly and accurately.
Brian K. Gran, The Rights of the Child, in The Leading Rogue State: The US and Human Rights 47 (Judith Blau, David L. Brunsma, Alberto Moncada & Catherine Simmer eds., 2008).
The Leading Rogue State by Call Number: OhioLinkISBN: 9781594515880Publication Date: 2008Most Americans would be surprised to learn that their government has declined to join most other nations in UN treaties addressing inadequate housing, poverty, children's rights, health care, racial discrimination, and migrant workers. Yet this book documents how the U.S. has, for decades, declined to ratify widely accepted treaties on these and many other basic human rights. Providing the first comprehensive topical survey, the contributors build a case and specific agendas for the nation to change course and join the world community as a protector of human rights.
Books Published in 2008
Baldwin's Ohio School Law (Rev. ed) by Call Number: KFO390.L485 2003ISBN: 0832210382Publication Date: (2003 with 2008-2009 supplement)- Courtroom Criminal Evidence (4th ed) byPublication Date: 2005-2010 (annual supplements)
Enemy of the State by Call Number: KMJ41.H87 N49 2008ISBN: 9780312385569Publication Date: 2008On October 19, 2005, Saddam Hussein was let into the courtroom of the Iraq High Tribunal in Baghdad for one of the most important and chaotic trials in history. This title goes behind behind the scenes at the mother of all trials with the U.S. law professors who set it up.
Giannelli Snyder Rules of Evidence Handbook (2008 ed) by Call Number: KFO540.G53Publication Date: 2008
Kansas Legal Research by Call Number: OhioLinkISBN: 9781594605093Publication Date: 2008Kansas Legal Research is the first book of its kind devoted to the resources and strategies needed to research Kansas state law. This legal research textbook is designed for first-year and upper level law students, librarians, paralegals, undergraduate students researching Kansas law, and even lay people.
Katz & Giannelli Ohio Criminal Laws and Rules (2008 ed) by Call Number: KFO561.A29O32Publication Date: 2008From publisher: "Providing a comprehensive criminal law reference for use in court, office, classroom, or police cruiser, Ohio Criminal Laws and Rules is written for everyone involved with Ohio’s criminal justice system. Contents include the full text of Ohio Revised Code Title 29 and selected provisions of the Ohio Constitution..."
Katz Giannelli Criminal Law (2nd ed) by Call Number: KFO561.K37 2003ISBN: 9780832209833Publication Date: 2003-2008 (annual supplement)
The Law of Intellectual Property (2nd ed) by Call Number: KF2979 .N366 2008ISBN: 9780735579156Publication Date: 2008the Law of Intellectual Property, Second Edition, presents core concepts through cutting-edge applications, engaging problems, and dynamic perspectives. Cutting-edge, high-interest issues — such as the development of human genomics, copyright questions raised by digital music, And The applicability of trademark law to domain names — enliven class discussion and connect students in a meaningful way to a rich selection of case law, theory, and statutes. the Law of Intellectual Property, Second Edition, features : distinguished authorship by three luminaries in Intellectual Property comprehensive and current coverage cutting-edge cases and statutory materials chosen for currency, interest.- New York Suppression Manual : Arrest, Search & Seizure, Confession, Identification byCall Number: KFN6166.K389 1991Publication Date: 1991 - 2012 (looseleaf)
Ohio Appellate Practice (2008 ed) by Call Number: KFO555.A4ISBN: 9781539228240Publication Date: 2008From publisher: "Ohio Appellate Practice provides fast answers to questions about appellate practice in Ohio, as well as in-depth analysis of all of the most recent caselaw, rules, and statutes governing it. The text covers all aspects of practice..."
Ohio Arrest, Search and Seizure (2008 ed) by Call Number: KFO576.K37ISBN: 9781539228394Publication Date: 2008From the publisher: "In Ohio Arrest, Search and Seizure, a nationally recognized Fourth Amendment authority examines the balance of an individual's rights with legitimate law enforcement procedures, as reflected in decisions of the U.S. Supreme Court, Ohio criminal rules and statutes, and state caselaw. This basic reference on Ohio criminal procedure interprets new trends and developments while addressing facts and holdings in more than 800 cases.."
Ohio Juvenile Law (2008 ed) by Call Number: KFO595.O38Publication Date: 2008From the publisher: "Ohio Juvenile Law is a straightforward treatise containing selected provisions of the state revised code and rules of procedure and covering all major aspects of juvenile law..."
Ohio School Law (2008 ed) by Call Number: KFO390.L48Publication Date: 2008From publisher: Ohio School Law contains the authors' text from Baldwin's Ohio School Law in a handy format, with cross-references to federal and state statutes and caselaw. Expert commentary is geared to your practical needs, and it discusses all aspects of Ohio school law, with special emphasis on topics of current concern..."
Patent Law by Call Number: KF3095 .N38 2008ISBN: 9781587789021Publication Date: 2007This Concepts and Inisghts title offers an unusual mix of approaches to explaining the modern patent system. It combines both a comprehensive view of the law itself with key academic insights that illuminates the manypolicy challenges in the area today. The book is theoretical, yet grounded in the realities of the legal system - drawing from a range of original works across the field. As such, the book will be useful to the scholar, the student, and the practitioner - anyone who needs a compact, yet sophisticated overview of patent law.
Public and Private Social Policy by Call Number: HN18.3.P83 2008ISBN: 9780230527331Publication Date: 2008Exploring the increasing involvement of the private sector in social policy, this collection examines the complex relationship between the public and private sectors from an international perspective, focusing on health and pension policies.
Scientific Evidence (4th ed) by Call Number: KF8961.G53 2007ISBN: 9780820575766Publication Date: 2007-2001 (annual supplements)
Tax Aspects of Marital Dissolution (2nd Rev. ed) by Call Number: KF6333.G33 2005Publication Date: 2005 - (loose-leaf)
