CWRU Law School Faculty Publication 1970 - Now

This issues-based reference work shines a spotlight on health care policy and practice in the United States. Impassioned debates about the best solutions to health care in America have perennially erupted among politicians, scholars of public policy, medical professionals, and the general public. The fight over the Health Care Reform Act of 2010 brought to light a multitude of fears, challenges, obstacles, and passions that often had the effect of complicating rather than clarifying the debate. The discourse has never been more heated. The complex issues that animate the health care debate have forced the American public to grapple with the exigencies of the present system with regard to economic, fiscal, and monetary policy, especially as they relate to philosophical, often ideologically driven approaches to the problem. Americans have also had to examine their ideas about the relationship of the individual to and interaction with the state and the varied social and cultural beliefs about what an American solution to the problem of health care looks like. In light of the need to keep students, researchers, and other interested readers informed and up-to-date on the issues surrounding health care in the U.S., this volume uses introductory essays followed by point/counterpoint articles to explore prominent and perennially important debates, providing readers with views on multiple sides of this complex issue.--Publisher website

"This book is about nanotechnology, very tiny substances that are manipulated to act in all sorts of extraordinary ways, and that many think have or are about to usher in the next industrial revolution. The focus of the book is how society can continue to reap economic and other benefits from nanotechnology, while addressing the possible risk to human and the environment from nanotechnology. Leading scholars offer a range of solutions to the challenge of regulating nanotechnology in a way that allows for continued fast innovation worldwide while making certain we limit or avoid the possible harms from nanotechnology"-- Provided by publisher

This completely revised and up to date Fourth Edition of this well received work offers in one volume a comprehensive review of United States copyright, patent, and trademark laws. The material has been completely updated and includes detailed discussion of the 2011 America Invents Act, as well as other pertinent developments in U.S. law It provides thorough and sophisticated treatment of this complex material in a form both less cumbersome than a treatise and considerably deeper and more sophisticated than a study outline or nutshell. With its detailed citations, and readily accessible and complete subject coverage, this book will be a useful quick reference or deskbook for intellectual property practitioners, students, law professors, and librarians, as well as for anyone interested in understanding American intellectual property law.

This softcover volume, Rules of Evidence Handbook, is a quick reference to the Ohio Rules of Evidence. Authors' expert comments shed light on each rule of Ohio evidence, emphasizing changes in the rules, as well as their application and interpretation by the Ohio courts since 1980.

International criminal justice as a discipline throws up numerous conceptual issues, engaging disciplines such as law, politics, history, sociology and psychology, to name but a few. This book addresses themes around international criminal justice from a mixture of traditional and more radical perspectives.While law, and in particular international law, is at the heart of much of the discussion around this topic, history, sociology and politics are invariably infused and, in some aspects of international criminal justice, are predominant elements. Fundamentally the exploration concerns questions of coherence and legitimacy, which are foundational to both the content and application of the discipline, and the book charts an illuminating path through these diverse perspectives. The contributions in this book come from some of the eminent scholars and practitioners in the area, and will provide some profound insight into and an enriched understanding of international criminal justice, helping to advance the field of study.This ambitious and necessary book will appeal to academics and students of international criminal law, international criminal justice, international law, transitional justice and comparative criminal law, as well as practitioners of international criminal law.

From publisher: "Providing a comprehensive criminal law reference for use in court, office, classroom, or police cruiser, Ohio Criminal Laws and Rules is written for everyone involved with Ohio’s criminal justice system. Contents include the full text of Ohio Revised Code Title 29 and selected provisions of the Ohio Constitution..."

From publisher: "Ohio Appellate Practice provides fast answers to questions about appellate practice in Ohio, as well as in-depth analysis of all of the most recent caselaw, rules, and statutes governing it. The text covers all aspects of practice..."

From the publisher: "In Ohio Arrest, Search and Seizure, a nationally recognized Fourth Amendment authority examines the balance of an individual's rights with legitimate law enforcement procedures, as reflected in decisions of the U.S. Supreme Court, Ohio criminal rules and statutes, and state caselaw. This basic reference on Ohio criminal procedure interprets new trends and developments while addressing facts and holdings in more than 800 cases.."

From the publisher: "Ohio Juvenile Law is a straightforward treatise containing selected provisions of the state revised code and rules of procedure and covering all major aspects of juvenile law..."

From publisher: Ohio School Law contains the authors' text from Baldwin's Ohio School Law in a handy format, with cross-references to federal and state statutes and caselaw. Expert commentary is geared to your practical needs, and it discusses all aspects of Ohio school law, with special emphasis on topics of current concern..."

Transhumanists advocate for the development and distribution of technologies that will enhance human intellectual, physical, and psychological capacities, even eliminate aging. What if the dystopian futures and transhumanist utopias found in the pages of science journals, Margaret Atwood novels, films like Gattaca, and television shows like Dark Angel are realized? What kind of world would humans have created? Maxwell J. Mehlman considers the promises and perils of using genetic engineering in an effort to direct the future course of human evolution. He addresses scientific and ethical issues without choosing sides in the dispute between transhumanists and their challengers. However, Transhumanist Dreams and Dystopian Nightmares reveals that radical forms of genetic engineering could become a reality much sooner than many people think, and that we need to encourage risk-management efforts. Whether scientists are dubious or optimistic about the prospects for directed evolution, they tend to agree on two things. First, however long it takes to perfect the necessary technology, it is inevitable that humans will attempt to control their evolutionary future, and second, in the process of learning how to direct evolution, we are bound to make mistakes. Our responsibility is to learn how to balance innovation with caution.