Articles Published in 2000
Articles on our Scholarly Commons
Book Chapters Published 2000
Michael P. Scharf, Commentary on the ICTR’s Jurisprudence Concerning Witness Issues, in 2 Annotated Leading Cases of International Criminal Tribunals 249 (Andre Klip & Goran Sluiter eds., 2000).
Annotated Leading Cases of International Criminal Tribunals by Call Number: KZ6310 .A5 1999ISBN: 905095135XPublication Date: 1999This 2nd volume of Annotated Leading Cases of International Criminal Tribunals contains decisions taken by the International Criminal Tribunal for Rwanda in 1994-1999. It includes the most important decisions, identical to the original version, and includes concurring, separate, and dissenting opinions. In the book, distinguished experts in the field of international criminal law have commented on the decisions.
Paul C. Giannelli and Sharona Hoffman, DNA Databanks, in Encyclopedia of Ethical, Legal, and Policy Issues in Biotechnology 413 (Thomas H. Murray & Maxwell J. Mehlman eds., 2000) (with Wendy E. Wagner).
Maxwell J. Mehlman, Human Enhancement Uses of Biotechnology, in Encyclopedia of Ethical, Legal and Policy Issues in Biotechnology 515 (Thomas H. Murray & Maxwell J. Mehlman eds., 2000).
Maxwell J. Mehlman, Human Enhancement Uses of Biotechnology, Genetic Enhancement and the Regulation of Acquired Genetic Advantages, in Encyclopedia of Ethical, Legal and Policy Issues in Biotechnology 515 (Thomas H. Murray & Maxwell J. Mehlman eds., 2000).
Encyclopedia of Ethical, Legal, and Policy Issues in Biotechnology by Call Number: TP248.16 .E539 2000ISBN: 0471176125Publication Date: 2000This set is comprehensive and technically literate and more informative on regulation and policy issues. Thomas Murray is a world-renowned leader in this field. This set is comprehensive and technically literate with very informative entries on regulation and policy issues.
Jessica Wilen Berg, When, If Ever, Should Confidentiality Be Set Aside?, in Ethical Dilemmas in Neurology 61 (Adam Zeman & Linda L. Emanuel eds., 2000).
Ethical Dilemmas in Neurology by Call Number: OhioLinkISBN: 0702022276Publication Date: 1999An international team of recognized authorities offer a collection of thought provoking essays on ethical questions often faced by neurologists in clinical practice.
Richard K. Gordon, Law of Tax Administration and Procedure, in Tax Law Design and Drafting 95 (Victor Thuronyi ed., 2000).
Richard K. Gordon, Taxation of Wealth, in Tax Law Design and Drafting 292 (Victor Thuronyi ed., 2000) (with Rebecca S. Rudnick).
Richard K. Gordon, Tax Legislative Process, in Tax Law Design and Drafting 1 (Victor Thuronyi ed., 2000) (with Victor Thuronyi).
Tax Law Design and Drafting by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9781455230525Publication Date: 1996Edited by Victor Thuronyi, this book offers an introduction to a broad range of issues in comparative tax law and is based on comparative discussion of the tax laws of developed countries. It presents practical models and guidelines for drafting tax legislation that can be used by officials of developing and transition countries. Volume I covers general issues, some special topics, and major taxes other than income tax.
Kenneth F. Ledford, German lawyers and the state in the Weimar Republic, in The Holocaust's Ghost : Writings on Art, Politics, Law, and Education 431 (F.C. DeCoste & Bernard Schwartz eds., 2000).
The Holocaust's Ghost by Call Number: D804.18.H68 2000ISBN: 0888643586Publication Date: 2000A powerful collection of commentary on the Holocaust by international writers from nine disciplines. The volume forms a response to the Holocaust's demands on memory and on thought, and is an occasion to encounter the Holocaust both as history and as possibility. Contributors provided essays on art, politics, law, and education. The 38 contributors include: Stephen Feinstein, Director, Center for Holocaust and Genocide Studies; Carol Ann Reed, Director, Holocaust Education and Memorial Centre of Toronto; Sid Chafetz, artist and professor of art; Henry Friedlander, professor of history, Brooklyn College; David M. Crowe, professor of history, Elon College; Mark Osiel, professor of law, University of Iowa; James E. Young, professor of English and Judaic studies, University of Massachusetts at Amherst; Sybil Milton, Vice-President, Independent Experts: Switzerland-World War II; and Zygmunt Bauman, emeritus professor of sociology, University of Leeds. The book has won several awards, including the Tom Fairley Award for Editorial Excellence, Second Place, to copyeditor Carol Berger.
Michael P. Scharf, The ICC's Jurisdiction over the Nationals of Non-Party States, in The United States and the International Criminal Court: National Security and International Law 213 (Sarah B. Sewall &Carl Kaysen eds., 2000).
Michael P. Scharf, Justice versus Peace, in The United States and the International Criminal Court: National Security and International Law 179 (Sarah B. Sewall & Carl Kaysen eds., 2000).
Michael P. Scharf, The United States and the International Criminal Court: An Overview, in The United States and the International Criminal Court: National Security and International Law 1 (Sarah B. Sewall & Carl Kaysen eds., 2000) (with Sarah B. Sewall and Carl Kaysen).
The United States and the International Criminal Court by Call Number: KZ6310 .U55 2000ISBN: 0742501345Publication Date: 2000American reluctance to join the International Criminal Court illuminates important trends in international security and a central dilemma facing U.S. Foreign policy in the 21st century. The ICC will prosecute individuals who commit egregious international human rights violations such as genocide. The Court is a logical culmination of the global trends toward expanding human rights and creating international institutions. The U.S., which fostered these trends because they served American national interests, initially championed the creation of an ICC. The Court fundamentally represents the triumph of American values in the international arena. Yet the United States now opposes the ICC for fear of constraints upon America's ability to use force to protect its national interests. The principal national security and constitutional objections to the Court, which the volume explores in detail, inflate the potential risks inherent in joining the ICC. More fundamentally, they reflect a belief in American exceptionalism that is unsustainable in today's world. Court opponents also underestimate the growing salience of international norms and institutions in addressing emerging threats to U.S. national interests. The misguided assessments that buttress opposition to the ICC threaten to undermine American leadership and security in the 21st century more gravely than could any international institution.
Books Published in 2000
Acts of God by Call Number: GB5007.S74 2000ISBN: 0195142632Publication Date: 2000Incredibly, the ten most costly catastrophes in U.S. history have all been natural disasters--seven of them hurricanes--and all have occurred since 1989, a period, ironically, that Congress has dubbed the Decade for Natural Disaster Reduction. Why this tremendous plague on our houses? Whilesome claim that nature is the problem, in fact, as environmental historian Ted Steinberg explains, historically speaking, much of the death and destruction has been well within the realm of human control. Surveying more than a century of losses from weather and seismic extremes, Steinberg exposesthe fallacy of seeing such calamities as simply random events. Acts of God explores the unnatural history of natural calamity, the decisions of business leaders and government officials that have paved the way for the greater losses of life and property, especially among those least able to withstand such blows--America's poor, elderly, and minorities.Seeing nature or God as the primary culprit, Steinberg argues, has helped to paper over the fact that, in truth, some Americans are better protected from the violence of nature than their counterparts lower down the socioeconomic ladder. How else can we explain that the hardest hit areas have beenmobile home parks and other low-income neighborhoods? Beginning with the 1886 Charleston and 1906 San Francisco earthquakes, and continuing to the present, Steinberg spotlights the defective approach to natural hazards taken by real estate interests, the media, and policymakers. By understating the extent of storm damage in news reports and offeringquick repairs and cosmetic solutions to damaged property, fundamental flaws in the status quo go unremedied, class divisions are maintained, and unsafe practices continue unquestioned. Even today, with our increased scientific knowledge, he shows that reckless building continues unabated inseismically active areas and flood-prone coastal plains, often at taxpayer expense. Sure to provoke discussion, Acts of God is a call to action that must be heard before the next disaster hits.- Courtroom Criminal Evidence (3rd ed) byCall Number: KF9662.C68 1998Publication Date: 1998-2004 (annual supplements)
Ecology, Liberty and Property by Call Number: HC110.E5 E25 2000ISBN: 1889865028Publication Date: 2000- Encyclopedia of Ethical, Legal, and Policy Issues in Biotechnology by Call Number: TP248.16.M87 2000ISBN: 0471176125Publication Date: 2000This set is comprehensive and technically literate and more informative on regulation and policy issues. Thomas Murray is a world-renowned leader in this field. This set is comprehensive and technically literate with very informative entries on regulation and policy issues.
- Environmental Performance at the Bench: the EPA's Record in Federal Court byPublication Date: 2000
Giannelli Snyder Rules of Evidence Handbook (2000 ed) by Call Number: KFO540.G53Publication Date: 2000- Greenhouse Policy without Regrets: a Free Market Approach to the Uncertain Risks of Climate Change byPublication Date: 2000
International Criminal Law: Cases and Materials (2nd ed) by Call Number: K5000 .I58 2007ISBN: 9781594602474Publication Date: 2006The third edition has been significantly updated, especially to reflect case trends in the International Criminal Tribunals for Former Yugoslavia and for Rwanda (encompassing, among other matters, individual responsibility, defenses, war crimes, genocide, and other crimes against humanity), as well as developments and issues with respect to creation of the new permanent International Criminal Court. Some chapters have been deleted and some materials have been cut back to include new materials for a more manageable book.- Katz & Giannelli Ohio Criminal Justice (2000 ed) byCall Number: KFO561.A29O32Publication Date: 2000
- New York Suppression Manual : Arrest, Search & Seizure, Confession, Identification byCall Number: KFN6166.K389 1991Publication Date: 1991 - 2012 (looseleaf)
Ohio Arrest, Search and Seizure (2000 ed) by Call Number: KFO576.K37ISBN: 9781539228394Publication Date: 2000From the publisher: "In Ohio Arrest, Search and Seizure, a nationally recognized Fourth Amendment authority examines the balance of an individual's rights with legitimate law enforcement procedures, as reflected in decisions of the U.S. Supreme Court, Ohio criminal rules and statutes, and state caselaw. This basic reference on Ohio criminal procedure interprets new trends and developments while addressing facts and holdings in more than 800 cases.."
Ohio Juvenile Law (Annually 2000 ed) by Call Number: KFO595.O38Publication Date: 2000From the publisher: "Ohio Juvenile Law is a straightforward treatise containing selected provisions of the state revised code and rules of procedure and covering all major aspects of juvenile law..."- Scientific Evidence (3rd ed) byCall Number: KF8961.G53 1999ISBN: 0327049855Publication Date: 1999-2006 (annual supplements)
- Tax Aspects of Marital Dissolution (2nd ed) byCall Number: KF6333.W74 1997Publication Date: 1997-2004 (loose-leaf)
