CWRU Law School Faculty Authors

The Elgar Encyclopedia of Environmental Law is a landmark reference work, providing definitive and comprehensive coverage of this dynamic field.

Legal governance of disaster brings both care and punishment to the upending of daily life of place-based disasters. National states use disasters to reorganize how they govern. This collection considers how law is implicated in disaster. The late modern expectation that states are to care for their population makes it particularly important to point out the limits to care - limits that appear less in the grand rhetoric than in the government reports, case-level decisionmaking, administrative rules, and criminalization that make up governing. The authors argue that government documents explaining disaster put the responsibility to adapt to rapidly changing circumstances on people - often on individuals - not on the government. Law is a causal force in what are commonly called natural disasters. When courts consider causation and property rights, often separated across cases and over time, they often defer to the importance of economic activity. Police forces charged with protection rapidly turn on those they are to protect, thinking that people need protection from the victims of disaster. These insightful essays feature leading scholars whose perspectives range across disasters around the world. Their findings point to reconsidering what states do in disaster, and how law enables and constrains action.

The laws that try to reduce climate change are well known. But what about the climate change that is occurring regardless of these efforts? The Law of Adaptation to Climate Change takes a sweeping look at the current and proposed legal aspects of coping with climate change from drought, extreme precipitation, heat waves, and wild fires to global shifts in temperature, sea level, water and food supply, coastal conditions, infrastructure, ecosystems, and human health and economies. Applicable laws exist at all levels, but are uncoordinated and embody numerous contradictions and inevitable gaps. This book provides a comprehensive resource of laws aimed at increasing resilience and reducing vulnerability to climate change. Written by authorities from private practice, government, and academia, this compendium examines the legal aspects of coping with climate change, both in the United States and around the world. Chapters address critical U.S. concerns related to water, energy, building and infrastructure, public lands, coastal issues, species and ecosystem impacts, and disaster preparedness, as well as important international issues such as financing, health, population displacement, maritime jurisdiction, water, and human security."

The variety, pace, and power of technological innovations that have emerged in the 21st Century have been breathtaking. These technological developments, which include advances in networked information and communications, biotechnology, neurotechnology, nanotechnology, robotics, and environmental engineering technology, have raised a number of vital and complex questions. Although these technologies have the potential to generate positive transformation and help address "grand societal challenges", the novelty associated with technological innovation has also been accompanied by anxieties about their risks and destabilizing effects.

Energy law and policy is in transition, the scope which is wide and vast. This discipline itself is accompanying a profound social, environmental, and economic change or transformation. One could not diminish the significance of aspects of the transition that are not apparent in the overall picture. This book addresses different aspects of the phenomenon and tackles the energy field from the double perspective of law and policy. Scholars from France, the U.K., and the U.S. have written chapters on different areas of energy law and policy, analyzing different instruments, provisions, and objectives, and questioning the role of actors and institutions. This perspective stems from a broader view of the energy transition and security, but mostly from different approaches relying on law, politics, science, etc. This book presents reflections on concepts, foreign policy, regional and international cooperation, and the specific role the state is to play when it comes to such thing as energy law and policy. Victor B. Flatt is the Dwight Olds Professor of Law and is the Faculty Co-Director of the Environment, Energy, and Natural Resources (EENR) Center at the University of Houston Law Center. He is also a Distinguished Scholar of Carbon Markets at the University of Houston's Gutierrez Energy Management Institute. Alfonso López de la Osa Escribano is the Director of the Center of U.S. and Mexican Law, and Adjunct Faculty on Comparative Health Law of the Health Law and Policy Institute at the University of Houston Law Center. He is also affiliated with the Environment, Energy, and Natural Resources (EENR) Center. Aubin Nzaou-Kongo is a Marie Sklodowska-Curie Fellow in Law and Energy Policy at the Environment, Energy, and Natural Resources (EENR) Center, and at the Center of U.S. and Mexican Law at the University of Houston Law Center (U.S.). He is an Assistant Professor of Law at the University of Lyon 3 and a Visiting Assistant Professor at the University Savoie Mont-Banc.

This new casebook is an excellent tool for teaching students how to analyze environmental issues and become environmental lawyers. It covers the most significant environmental programs, shows how they operate, and demonstrates how remaining ambiguities are resolved by both agencies and the courts. In addition to containing thorough coverage of the major pollution control laws and NEPA, this book places more emphasis than most similar books do on areas such as the wetlands program and the Endangered Species Act.

This new edition is an excellent tool for teaching students how to analyze environmental issues and become environmental lawyers. It covers the most significant environmental programs, showing how they operate and how both agencies the courts resolve statutory ambiguities. In addition to including a new chapter on international environmental law, the second edition has been updated to include several new developments, including the Supreme Court's decision in Rapanos, the D.C. Circuit's new source review decisions in the two New York cases, and the Eighth Circuit's post-Aviall private-cost-recovery decision in the Atlantic case.

The new edition features an entirely new section on climate change law. It also contains updated sections on all federal environmental laws and more coverage of international environmental laws. It continues to be an excellent tool for analyzing environmental issues and teaching how to be an environmental lawyer.

The new edition features an entirely new section on regulatory-takings law. It also contains updated sections on the major federal environmental laws and more coverage of climate change. It continues to be an excellent tool for analyzing environmental issues and teaching how to be an environmental lawyer.