Brian K. Gran
Brian K. Gran
Professor of Sociology and Law; Faculty Associate of the Center for Policy Studies
Areas of Expertise: Social Policy, and Political Sociology and Sociology of Law
Articles
Gran on our Scholarly Commons
Book Chapters
The Rights of the Child, in The Leading Rogue State: The US and Human Rights 47 (Judith Blau, David L. Brunsma, Alberto Moncada & Catherine Simmer eds., 2008).
The Leading Rogue State by Call Number: OhioLinkISBN: 9781594515880Publication Date: 2008Most Americans would be surprised to learn that their government has declined to join most other nations in UN treaties addressing inadequate housing, poverty, children's rights, health care, racial discrimination, and migrant workers. Yet this book documents how the U.S. has, for decades, declined to ratify widely accepted treaties on these and many other basic human rights. Providing the first comprehensive topical survey, the contributors build a case and specific agendas for the nation to change course and join the world community as a protector of human rights.
The World’s Social Laboratory: Women, Work, and Pensions in New Zealand, in span style="font-variant:small-
Women, Work, and Pensions by Call Number: OhioLinkISBN: 033520595XPublication Date: 2001Population aging has fuelled interest in pensions and intergenerational equity, leading to privatization of pensions. Yet the gender implications of such policies and the connections between the gender contract and the generational contract remain unexplored.
Andrea Boggio and Bran K. Gran, A Proposal for Indicators of the Human Right to Science in The Right to Science, Then and Now 268 (Helle Porsdam and Sebastian Porsdam Mann eds., 2021.)
Brian K. Gran, A World Society Analysis of the Rights of Unaccompanied Children in Rights of Unaccompanied Minors: Perspectives and Case Studies on Migrant Children 19 (Yvonne Vissing and Sofia Leitao eds., 2021).
The Rights of Unaccompanied Minosr: Perspectives and Case Studies on Migrant Children by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9783030755942Publication Date: 2021"This volume explores the various challenges faced by migrant unaccompanied children, using a clinical sociological approach and a global perspective. It applies a human rights and comparative framework to examine the reception of unaccompanied children in European, North American, South American, Asian and African countries. Some of the important issues the volume discusses are: access of displaced unaccompanied children to justice across borders and juridical contexts; voluntary guardianship for unaccompanied children; the diverse but complementary needs of unaccompanied children in care, which if left unaddressed can have serious implications on their social integration in the host societies; and the detention of migrant children as analyzed against the most recent European and international human rights law standards. This is a one-of-a-kind volume bringing together perspectives from child rights policy chairs across the world on a global issue. The contributions reflect the authors' diverse cultural contexts and academic and professional backgrounds, and hence, this volume synthesizes theory with practice through rich firsthand experiences, along with theoretical discussions. It is addressed not only to academics and professionals working on and with migrant children, but also to a wider, discerning public interested in a better understanding of the rights of unaccompanied children."
Robin Shura and Brian Gran, The European Network of Ombudspersons for Children (ENOC): Key Influences on Children’s Rights Promotion in Children’s Rights and Independent Children’s Rights Institutions chapter 10 ((Agnes Lux and Brian Gran eds., 2022).
Brian Gran, Why the United States needs A National Children’s Rights Ombudsperson in Children’s Rights and Independent Children’s Rights Institutions chapter 10 ((Agnes Lux and Brian Gran eds., 2022).
The Roles of Independent Children's Rights Institutions in Advancing Human Rights of Children by ISBN: 9781801176095Publication Date: 2022Independent children's rights institutions (ICRIs) have been established across the world. Endorsed by the UN, they are independent of their governments and endowed with legal powers. Yet we know little about how ICRIs function. How do they work? What impacts their success? What objectives do ICRIs seek to achieve? The contributors to this edited collection provide first-hand experiences in directing, working for, and studying ICRIs and detail their unique, in-depth accounts of factors shaping ICRIs' efforts to monitor and advance children's rights. Chapters examine ICRIs in Belgium, Germany, Hungary, Ireland, the Netherlands, Pakistan, and the United States, as well as an extraordinary network of ICRIs, and introduce innovative ideas of how to think about ICRIs' independence and legal powers. Offering perspectives from across the world, this volume provides both theoretical and practical insights on a crucial element of children's rights, independent children's rights institutions. The Roles of Independent Children's Rights Institutions in Advancing Human Rights of Childrenis essential reading for students, researchers, and scholars interested in studies of sociology of childhood, law and society, children's rights, and human rights.
Books
Handbook of Sociology and Human Rights by Call Number: HM585 .H363 2013ISBN: 9781594518829Publication Date: 2013Long the province of international law, human rights now enjoys a renaissance of studies and new perspectives from the social sciences. This landmark book is the first to synthesize and comprehensively evaluate this body of work. It fosters an interdisciplinary, international, and critical engagement both in the social study of human rights and the establishment of a human rights approach throughout the field of sociology. Sociological perspectives bring new questions to the interdisciplinary study of human rights, as amply illustrated in this book. The Handbook is indispensable to any interdisciplinary collection on human rights or on sociology. This text: Brings new perspectives to the study of human rights in an interdisciplinary fashion. Offers state-of-the-art summaries, critical discussions of established human rights paradigms, and a host of new insights and further research directions. Fosters a comprehensive human rights approach to sociology, topically representing all 45 sections of the American Sociological Association.
Public and Private Social Policy by Call Number: HN18.3.P83 2008ISBN: 9780230527331Publication Date: 2008Exploring the increasing involvement of the private sector in social policy, this collection examines the complex relationship between the public and private sectors from an international perspective, focusing on health and pension policies.
The Sociology of Children's Rights by Call Number: HQ789 .G86 2021 Kelvin Smith LibraryISBN: 9781509527847Publication Date: 2021-02-08Children's rights appear universal, inalienable, and indivisible, intended to advance young people's interests. Yet, in practice, evidence suggests the contrary: the international framework of treaties, procedures, and national policies contains fundamental contradictions that weaken commitments to children's real-world protections. Brian Gran helps us understand what is at stake when children's rights are compromised. This insightful text grounds readers in core theories and key data about children's legal entitlements. The chapters tackle central questions about what rights accrue to young people, whether they advance equality, and how they influence children's identities, freedoms, and societal participation. Ultimately, this book shows how current frameworks hinder young people from possessing and benefiting from human rights, arguing that they function as cynical invitations to question whether we truly believe children are endowed with human rights. The Sociology of Children's Rights offers a critical and accessible introduction to understanding a complex issue in the contemporary world, and is a compelling read for students and researchers concerned with human rights in sociology, political science, law, social work, and childhood studies.- The Roles of Independent Children's Rights Institutions in Advancing Human Rights of Children by ISBN: 9781801176095Publication Date: 2022Independent children's rights institutions (ICRIs) have been established across the world. Endorsed by the UN, they are independent of their governments and endowed with legal powers. Yet we know little about how ICRIs function. How do they work? What impacts their success? What objectives do ICRIs seek to achieve? The contributors to this edited collection provide first-hand experiences in directing, working for, and studying ICRIs and detail their unique, in-depth accounts of factors shaping ICRIs' efforts to monitor and advance children's rights. Chapters examine ICRIs in Belgium, Germany, Hungary, Ireland, the Netherlands, Pakistan, and the United States, as well as an extraordinary network of ICRIs, and introduce innovative ideas of how to think about ICRIs' independence and legal powers. Offering perspectives from across the world, this volume provides both theoretical and practical insights on a crucial element of children's rights, independent children's rights institutions. The Roles of Independent Children's Rights Institutions in Advancing Human Rights of Childrenis essential reading for students, researchers, and scholars interested in studies of sociology of childhood, law and society, children's rights, and human rights.
