CWRU Law School Faculty Authors

This book offers thorough coverage of international intellectual property law, with a text which is detailed and rich with case references and analysis, yet complete in one easily accessible volume. It will meet the needs of practicing lawyers, law teachers and scholars, and law students. It is as up-to-date as possible, as it includes the Trademark Treaty Revision of 1998 and the Digital Millennium Copyright Act of 1998 and the 1998 Copyright Term Extension Act and Fairness in Music Licensing Act. This work was originally published as a monograph in the International Encyclopedia of Laws, Intellectual Property.

This completely revised and up to date Second Edition of this well received work offers in one volume a comprehensive review of United States copyright, patent, and trademark laws. It provides thorough and sophisticated treatment of this complex material in a form both less cumbersome than a treatise and considerably deeper and more sophisticated than a study outline or 'nutshell.' With its detailed citations, and readily accessible and complete subject coverage, this book will be a useful quick reference or deskbook for intellectual property practitioners, students, law professors, and librarians, as well as for anyone interested in understanding American intellectual property law.

This completely revised and up to date Fourth Edition of this well received work offers in one volume a comprehensive review of United States copyright, patent, and trademark laws. The material has been completely updated and includes detailed discussion of the 2011 America Invents Act, as well as other pertinent developments in U.S. law It provides thorough and sophisticated treatment of this complex material in a form both less cumbersome than a treatise and considerably deeper and more sophisticated than a study outline or nutshell. With its detailed citations, and readily accessible and complete subject coverage, this book will be a useful quick reference or deskbook for intellectual property practitioners, students, law professors, and librarians, as well as for anyone interested in understanding American intellectual property law.

Intellectual Property and the Judiciary examines the role of judges in the development, interpretation and application of intellectual property (IP) law and norms. In this regard, the authors engage in a comparative analysis of various national, European and international court systems while also exploring the competing and complementary roles of legislators and executive actors. Each chapter seeks to capture the comparative institutional advantages of government bodies within existing legal frameworks as well as offering a thorough examination of both the common law and civil law traditions in the context of judicial treatment of intellectual property. The result is a series of proposals relating to the architecture of judiciaries and the functional role of judges with the goal of optimally positioning jurists to address complex issues and advance intellectual property doctrine and policy. Featuring high-level authors from both academia and practice, the book will be of great interest to academic researchers and practicing lawyers who have a focus on intellectual property. It will be of particular value to those who are engaged in the rapidly changing enforcement environment of intellectual property rights.

Presents the federal law on trademark, copyright, and patents and key state law doctrines such as trade secrets, rights in ideas, and rights of publicity. This book introduces applications, problems, and perspectives within the context of traditional IP principles. It also integrates IP case law, theory, and statutes in the contexts for its use.

the Law of Intellectual Property, Second Edition, presents core concepts through cutting-edge applications, engaging problems, and dynamic perspectives. Cutting-edge, high-interest issues — such as the development of human genomics, copyright questions raised by digital music, And The applicability of trademark law to domain names — enliven class discussion and connect students in a meaningful way to a rich selection of case law, theory, and statutes. the Law of Intellectual Property, Second Edition, features : distinguished authorship by three luminaries in Intellectual Property comprehensive and current coverage cutting-edge cases and statutory materials chosen for currency, interest, And The clarity with which they illustrate the principles under discussion straightforward Notes that highlight salient themes, provide context, make connections between and among related case decisions and statutes pedagogical innovations, such as Comparative Perspectives and Policy Perspectives, which introduce special rules relating to technology, offer comparative analysis, and discuss viewpoints on topics and issues scenario problems in each chapter, drawn from actual cases, test students’ general comprehension of principles and statutory materials — these highly engaging cases introduce products, expressions, and inventions that will intrigue and motivate students comprehensive Teacher’s Manual with sample syllabi, teaching notes, discussion pointers, additional problems, lists of supplemental materials, and suggestions for exams and assignments Updated throughout, The Second Edition includes : new cases such as Dastar Corp., Nash, Funky Films, and Perfect 10, Inc. v. Amazon.Com, Inc . Written Description and Definiteness, and a section on Statutory Subject Matter discussion of the eBay copyright cases a new section on Reasonable Steps to Preserve Secrecy in the Trade Secret chapter the Law of Intellectual Property, Second Edition, puts current and engaging cases and materials into an accessible framework to support teaching, enliven discussion, and motivate students.

The Law of Intellectual Property, Second Edition, presents coreconcepts through cutting-edge applications, engaging problems, and dynamicperspectives. Cutting-edge, high-interest issues -- such as the development ofhuman genomics, copyright questions raised by digital music, and theapplicability of trademark law to domain names -- enliven class discussion andconnect students in a meaningful way to a rich selection of case law, theory,and statutes.The Law of Intellectual Property, Second Edition, features :distinguished authorship by three luminaries in Intellectual Propertycomprehensive and current coveragecutting-edge cases and statutory materials chosen for currency,interest, and the clarity with which they illustrate the principles underdiscussionstraightforward Notes that highlight salient themes, provide context,make connections between and among related case decisions and statutespedagogical innovations, such as Comparative Perspectives andPolicy Perspectives, which introduce special rules relating to technology,offer comparative analysis, and discuss viewpoints on topics and issuesscenario problems in each chapter, drawn from actual cases, teststudents' general comprehension of principles and statutory materials -- thesehighly engaging cases introduce products, expressions, and inventions thatwill intrigue and motivate studentscomprehensive Teacher's Manual with sample syllabi, teachingnotes, discussion pointers, additional problems, lists of supplementalmaterials, and suggestions for exams and assignmentsUpdated throughout, the Second Edition includes :new cases such as Dastar Corp., Nash, Funky Films, and Perfect 10,Inc. v. Amazon.Com, Inc .Written Description and Definiteness, and a section on StatutorySubject Matterdiscussion of the eBay copyright casesa new section on Reasonable Steps to Preserve Secrecy in the TradeSecret chapterThe Law of Intellectual Property, Second Edition, puts current andengaging cases and materials into an accessible framework to support teaching,enliven discussion, and motivate students.

This comprehensive and practical book focuses on the core concepts of Intellectual Property. The book's innovative pedagogy engages students with problems drawn from actual cases and provides them with introductions to cases and contextual summaries in the notes. Features: Includes recent patent cases Includes new trademark principal cases Streamlined coverage of fair use

This comprehensive and practical book focuses on the core concepts of Intellectual Property. Its innovative pedagogy engages students with problems drawn from actual cases and provides them with introductions to cases and contextual summaries in the notes.

Rich in doctrine, policy, and theory, The Law of Patents offers a logical and comprehensive treatment of patent law. This casebook is more lean in nature than competing textbooks, yet covers all the main topics in an accessible manner for students. it offers helpful introductory text preceding each chapter and case or set of cases, technologically-accessible cases, detailed comments following the principal cases, highlighted statutes for easy reference, and uniquely offset comparative and policy perspectives. More succinct than others of its kind, this casebook offers everything your students need to master the subject of patent law: a lean yet comprehensive format covers all of the main topics of patent law a logical and accessible sequencing of chapters helpful introductory text precedes each chapter, sub-section and case, to give students insight into what is covered and a general doctrinal/policy framework of the materials to follow “comments” following the principal cases provide students with details on the case, delve into the doctrine and policy in a more extensive manner, and provide citations of secondary literature “perspectives” throughout the book, shaded and offset from the main text. There are two types of perspectives: comparative perspectives explore the comparative/international aspects of any given use policy perspectives discuss a theoretical point or relevant policy debate relevant statutory section numbers are identified at the beginning of each chapter to alert the student which statutes apply To The following materials relevant statutory provisions are included in a separate section of the text and are marked off by a black band on the side of the book for easy access , eliminating the need for students to buy a separate statutory supplement and increasing the likelihood that they will read the relevant statutes many chapters have extensive citations to academic literature, which provides students and instructors with guidance if they choose to dig deeper into the subject matter a companion website provides a fast and convenient means to disseminate judicial and legislative updates, and includes PDF files of all of the patents-in-suit discussed in the principal cases, The complete prosecution history of the “pizza box” patent explored in Chapter One, As well as historical documents and links to important patent law sites and documents PowerPoint slides available for adopters for classroom use An author website to support classroom instruction using this title is available at http://law.case.edu/lawofpatents .

Rich in doctrine, policy, and theory, The Law of Patents offers a logical and comprehensive treatment of patent law. This casebook is more lean in nature than competing textbooks, yet covers all the main topics in an accessible manner for students. it offers helpful introductory text preceding each chapter and case or set of cases, technologically-accessible cases, detailed comments following the principal cases, highlighted statutes for easy reference, and uniquely offset comparative and policy perspectives. More succinct than others of its kind, this casebook offers everything your students need to master the subject of patent law: a lean yet comprehensive format covers all of the main topics of patent law a logical and accessible sequencing of chapters helpful introductory text precedes each chapter, sub-section and case, to give students insight into what is covered and a general doctrinal/policy framework of the materials to follow “comments” following the principal cases provide students with details on the case, delve into the doctrine and policy in a more extensive manner, and provide citations of secondary literature “perspectives” throughout the book, shaded and offset from the main text. There are two types of perspectives: comparative perspectives explore the comparative/international aspects of any given use policy perspectives discuss a theoretical point or relevant policy debate relevant statutory section numbers are identified at the beginning of each chapter to alert the student which statutes apply To The following materials relevant statutory provisions are included in a separate section of the text and are marked off by a black band on the side of the book for easy access , eliminating the need for students to buy a separate statutory supplement and increasing the likelihood that they will read the relevant statutes many chapters have extensive citations to academic literature, which provides students and instructors with guidance if they choose to dig deeper into the subject matter a companion website provides a fast and convenient means to disseminate judicial and legislative updates, and includes PDF files of all of the patents-in-suit discussed in the principal cases, The complete prosecution history of the “pizza box” patent explored in Chapter One, As well as historical documents and links to important patent law sites and documents PowerPoint slides available for adopters for classroom use An author website to support classroom instruction using this title is available at http://law.case.edu/lawofpatents .

A lean yet comprehensive casebook on the law of patents that features helpful introductory text, technologically-accessible cases, detailed comments, comparative and policy perspectives, and statutes Incorporates the America Invents Act, the most sweeping changes to the patent statute since 1952 The move from a first-to-invent priority system to a first-inventor-to-file system Significant changes to 35 U.S.C. section 102 Post-grant review of patent applications Inter-partes review of patents. Important new Supreme Court and Federal Circuit cases, including Myriad Genetics, Prometheus Labs, Global Tech, Akamai, Bowman, Actavis, and Therasense Updated Comments and Comparative and Policy Perspectives New and updated PowerPoint slides and website

The Law of Patents, Fourth Edition is a comprehensive casebook on the law of patents that features helpful introductory text, technologically-accessible cases, detailed comments, comparative and policy perspectives, and statutes. Key Features of the New Edition: * Up-to-date Federal Circuit and Supreme Court case law, including Nautilus, Alice, Teva, Williamson, and Lexmark * Detailed substantive comments following the principal cases * More statistics and charts, particularly relating to USPTO decision making and PTAB inter partes review * Enhanced Policy and Comparative Perspectives

This comprehensive and up-to-date casebook on the law of patents features helpful introductory text, technologically-accessible cases, detailed comments, comparative, policy, and patent reform perspectives. The new Fifth Edition offers up-to-date Federal Circuit and Supreme Court case law, including Helsinn, Impression Products, Halo, and Promega, as well as detailed comments following the principal cases. This edition also features enhanced policy and comparative perspectives, as well as additional materials on patent reform perspectives (e.g. America Invents Act). New to the 5th Edition: Up-to-date federal circuit and Supreme Court case law, including Helsinn, Impression Products, and Halo Detailed substantive comments following the principal cases More statistics and charts, particularly relating to USPTO decision making and PTAB inter partes review Enhanced Policy and Comparative Perspectives Enhanced Patent Reform Perspectives (e.g. America Invents Act) Patent statute (both pre- and post-AIA) included in the back of the book Greater citation and discussion of patent law academic and empirical literature New and updated PowerPoint slides and companion website Professors and students will benefit from: Richness in doctrine, policy, and theory Concise, but thorough coverage Logical and accessible sequencing of chapters Helpful introductions to each chapter, transitional text within sections, and introductions and background information for most cases Detailed comments sections follow the cases, delving into the doctrine and policy, and comparative perspectives Perspectives throughout that provide stimulating points for discussion

This Concepts and Inisghts title offers an unusual mix of approaches to explaining the modern patent system. It combines both a comprehensive view of the law itself with key academic insights that illuminates the manypolicy challenges in the area today. The book is theoretical, yet grounded in the realities of the legal system - drawing from a range of original works across the field. As such, the book will be useful to the scholar, the student, and the practitioner - anyone who needs a compact, yet sophisticated overview of patent law.

Principles of Patent Law makes patent law accessible to students of all backgrounds, from English Literature, History, or Political Science to Biology, Chemistry, or Electronics. The most distinctive characteristics of Principles of Patent Law include the: * sequence of the materials presented, which highlights the evolution of the law while ensuring a gradual exposure to the intricacies of the law & the technologies; * vivid examples, case notes, & problems; & * inclusion of innovative "side bar" discussions by prominent members of the Bench & Bar, written especially to recount anecdotes, offer advice & discuss conundrums.

Using case studies, case notes, examples, and problems to illustrate points under consideration, Principles of Patent Law presents the patent law process sequentially, highlighting the legal history and discussing the intricacies of law and technology. Covering such topics as obtaining a patent, utility, infringement, and remedies, recognized authorities provide expert commentary and advice from the viewpoint of both attorney and judge. The updated edition covers important legislative, administrative, and judicial developments, including the Festo decision at both the U.S. Supreme Court and Federal Circuit levels. It also includes many more patent drawings in principal cases, provides extensive textual revisions to statutory subject matter and remedies, and offers greater comparative coverage of patent laws of U.S., Europe, and Japan, particularly related to novelty, nonobviousness, patentable subject matter, and infringement. The third edition is supplemented by a Web site, http://law.case.edu/ppl, which is organized by chapter and principal case; the Web site also includes Adobe Acrobat Portable Document Format (PDF) files of patent(s)-in-suite and prior art, as well as links to relevant patent law sites.