CWRU Law School Faculty Authors

This set is comprehensive and technically literate and more informative on regulation and policy issues. Thomas Murray is a world-renowned leader in this field. This set is comprehensive and technically literate with very informative entries on regulation and policy issues.

This publication contains essays by leading evidence scholars discussing the stories behind landmark cases and illuminating principles and materials across the evidence curriculum. The seldom-told stories behind cases in which evidence plays a significant role are told with important illustrations of the development, application, and importance of the rules of evidence.

The American criminal justice system, though undoubtedly one of the best in the world, is far from perfect. Every once in a while a notorious case comes along and reveals its uglier side¿¿for instance, its differential treatment of whites and people of color. Such cases often garner huge amounts of national media attention and capture the sustained interest of a normally restless American public. Whatever their outcome, they provide academics with exceptional opportunities to study, learn, and teach about the justice system. They also offer the chance to study related matters, such as the conduct of particular law enforcement and other officials, as well as the underlying causes of crime and the public's reaction to it. The Duke lacrosse players' rape prosecution is one such case. One evening in March 2006, members of the lacrosse team held an off-campus party where alcohol was served and two erotic dancers were hired to perform. A disagreement broke out between the dancers and the players; later, one of the former, Crystal Mangum, alleged that three players had raped her. Mangum was black and relatively poor; the accused were white and relatively privileged. Up for re-election in a jurisdiction with many African American voters, District Attorney Mike Nifong pursued the case very aggressively. He used questionable identification procedures and was unusually outspoken in numerous local and national media appearances. Even after DNA evidence indicated that the defendants had not engaged in sexual activity with the victim, he declined to drop the charges. Worse, he hid other exculpatory DNA evidence. The case split the Duke campus, the Durham community, and observers at large into sharply divided factions. Desperately trying to preserve its hard-won reputation as an upper-echelon school, the university cancelled the lacrosse season, suspended the three indicted players, and commenced a series of internal investigations. After months of dramatic twists and turns, the North Carolina Bar Association charged Nifong with violating several ethics provisions based on his handling of the prosecution. Within days of being charged, Nifong relinquished the case to the North Carolina Attorney General who, after reviewing the proof, dismissed all remaining charges against the lacrosse players and publicly declared their innocence. After a thirteen-month ordeal, the case was finally over. Eventually, the disgraced Nifong was disbarred.

This comprehensive handbook reviews relevant common law, the Federal Rules of Evidence, and federal statutes. Topics covered include procedural aspects, admissability, sufficiency, scientific evidence, character and habit evidence, exclusionary rules, and the various hearsay exceptions.

Learn about the latest developments in evidence law, including evidentiary issues posed by fax and e-mail, scientific and polygraph evidence, and more.

Written to impress upon students that the law of evidence remains far from "federalized." Many states remain without local counterparts to the Federal Rules of Evidence and, even where such counterparts exist, state law frequently varies substantially from the federal pattern. These considerations, together with the fact that vast areas of evidence are outside the purview of the federal rules, warrant continuing attention to state law.

The most significant change in the Seventh Edition deals with the revolution in Confrontation Clause jurisprudence occasioned by the Supreme Court's decisions in Crawford v. Washington (2004) and Davis v. Washington (2006). The confrontation section of the book in Chapter 13 is completely revised and substantially expanded. Extensive notes describe the operation of the earlier system of confrontation analysis, the immediate impact, and the areas of continuing uncertainty under Crawford and Davis. The new edition also continues the trend in the Sixth Edition, which dramatically revamped the book's treatment of scientific evidence, and includes a number of new cases and notes regarding scientific evidence because of the dynamic nature of that particular area of evidence law.

This comprehensive look at the law of evidence has been extensively updated and made current since the previous edition. One of the most significant changes in the Eighth Edition deals with the revolution in Confrontation Clause jurisprudence occasioned by the Supreme Court's decision in Crawford v. Washington (2004). Since the last edition, the Supreme Court has decided half a dozen cases involving Crawford's approach. Substantial additions to the detailed notes regarding confrontation reflect those new developments. Also, new material concerning scientific evidence has been added because of the dynamic nature of that particular area of evidence law-for example, the National Academy of Science's 2009 landmark report on forensic science. Finally, a number of cases and notes on new technologies, such as e-mail, computer simulations, social networking websites, and other the internet issues have been added.

From the publisher: "Evidence, 4th examines the Ohio Rules of Evidence, rule by rule. The text of each rule is presented, followed by expert commentary and discussion of how the rule has been interpreted and applied by the Ohio courts."

From the publisher: "This softcover volume, Rules of Evidence Handbook, is a quick reference to the Ohio Rules of Evidence, selected sections..Authors' expert comments shed light on each rule of Ohio evidence, emphasizing changes in the rules, as well as their application and interpretation by the Ohio courts since 1980.

From publisher: "Providing a comprehensive criminal law reference for use in court, office, classroom, or police cruiser, Ohio Criminal Laws and Rules is written for everyone involved with Ohio’s criminal justice system. Contents include the full text of Ohio Revised Code Title 29 and selected provisions of the Ohio Constitution..."

This looseleaf reference work for Ohio practitioners includes: sample foundational questions, jury instructions on evidentiary matters, annotations to Ohio reported and unreported cases, Federal Rules, and the complete Ohio Rules of Evidence. The volume integrates the Ohio Rules with Revised Code provisions on evidence and Ohio common law precedents.

From the publisher: "Ohio Juvenile Law is a straightforward treatise containing selected provisions of the state revised code and rules of procedure and covering all major aspects of juvenile law..."

From the publisher: "Ohio Juvenile Law is a straightforward treatise containing selected provisions of the state revised code and rules of procedure and covering all major aspects of juvenile law..."

From the publisher: "Ohio Juvenile Law is a straightforward treatise containing selected provisions of the state revised code and rules of procedure and covering all major aspects of juvenile law..."

This guidebook analyzes the Ohio Rules of Evidence, emphasizing the changes in the Rules and their application and interpretation by Ohio courts since 1980. The full text of the Ohio Rules of Evidence and the Official Staff Notes are included in the book. A chart comparing Ohio and Federal Rules of Evidence is provided in the work.

Seventy-two new problems have been added in this new edition. A number of these new problems concern authentication of social media and electronic evidence and the authentication of DNA with interesting chain of custody problems. Additional problems have been added dealing with expert evidence, including validation of new types of expert and lay testimony regarding cell tower tracking. Three new problems in the area of attorney-client privilege examine the application Federal Rule of Evidence Rule 502. Many of the new problems draw their inspiration from recent appellate opinions dealing with cutting-edge evidence issues.

Many of the new problems added to this edition concern the Supreme Court's new approach to confrontation in Crawford v. Washington. A number have been added for expert testimony, and revisions have been made regarding DNA evidence. Others deal with character evidence in criminal cases, including other crimes evidence and prior sexual assaults in both civil and criminal cases. Some examine the challenges presented by new technology when evidence comes from cell phones and computer hard drives. A new problem also raises issues that the new federal rule concerning "inadvertent disclosure" of privileged attorney-client material can help resolve.

From the publisher: "Questions and Answers: Evidence helps you develop a better, fuller understanding of the law of evidence that will carry you through your evidence class and on into practice. This indispensable supplement, part of our well-known Questions and Answers series, helps you apply concepts as you learn them so that you can prepare more effectively for class and gain a competitive edge on exams...."

This treatise comprehensively covers issues of scientific evidence and discusses frequently encountered types of scientific evidence. Modern scientific methodology is examined, including: laser techniques for visualizing fingerprints, electrophoresis, hypnotic enhancement of memory, voiceprints, and scanning electron microscopy.

"Organized logically and written in clear terms for the active litigator, Scientific Evidence, Sixth Edition, covers rules and precedents relating to admissibility, constitutional limitations, discovery, expert testimony, laboratory reports, and chain of custody. It then analyzes the most frequently encountered scientific evidence and the latest developments in scientific evidence, such as the use of probabilistic genotyping software to analyze complex DNA samples, neuroscience, facial recognition, drugged driving testing, blockchain, and the use of liquid chromatography tandem mass spectrometry in drug testing."--

This Understanding treatise presents the essential topics in evidence law cogently and concisely. While it was written primarily for students in Evidence and Trial Practice courses, the Key Points summary at the end of each chapter and the inclusion of the current Federal Rules of Evidence in an appendix make this treatise an excellent reference for busy attorneys. Understanding Evidence begins with an overview of Evidence law followed by an explanation of the roles of the judge and jury. The remaining chapters are organized under the following topics: Procedural Framework of Trial Relevancy Witnesses Real and Demonstrative Evidence Writings Hearsay Privileges Substitutes for Evidence This treatise extensively discusses and cites the Federal Rules of Evidence. Cases, statutes, other rules, and secondary sources are also cited, providing a comprehensive framework for understanding evidence law.

From the publisher:"The California edition expands the latest edition of the well-established treatise Understanding Evidence to explore California's unique approach. Each chapter begins with the federal doctrine, followed by a section on how California approaches the topic. The Appendices include the California Evidence Code. The book is primarily intended as a reference for law school civil procedure students in California. However, its treatment of recent developments may make it useful to some practitioners as well."