B. Jessie Hill
B. Jessie Hill
Associate Dean for Academic Affairs and Judge Ben C. Green Professor of Law
Areas of Expertise: Constitutional Law, Law and Religion, Reproductive Rights, and Civil Right
Articles
Hill on our Scholarly Commons
Book Chapters
Abortion and Reproductive Health Services: Point and Counterpoint, in Debates on U.S. Health Care 175 (Jennie Jacobs Kronenfeld, Wendy E. Parmet & Mark A. Zezza eds., 2012).
- Debates on U.S. Health Care byCall Number: RA395.A3 D433 2012Publication Date: 2012This issues-based reference work shines a spotlight on health care policy and practice in the United States. Impassioned debates about the best solutions to health care in America have perennially erupted among politicians, scholars of public policy, medical professionals, and the general public. The fight over the Health Care Reform Act of 2010 brought to light a multitude of fears, challenges, obstacles, and passions that often had the effect of complicating rather than clarifying the debate. The discourse has never been more heated. The complex issues that animate the health care debate have forced the American public to grapple with the exigencies of the present system with regard to economic, fiscal, and monetary policy, especially as they relate to philosophical, often ideologically driven approaches to the problem. Americans have also had to examine their ideas about the relationship of the individual to and interaction with the state and the varied social and cultural beliefs about what an American solution to the problem of health care looks like. In light of the need to keep students, researchers, and other interested readers informed and up-to-date on the issues surrounding health care in the U.S., this volume uses introductory essays followed by point/counterpoint articles to explore prominent and perennially important debates, providing readers with views on multiple sides of this complex issue.--Publisher website
God and Man and Religious Exemptions at the Modern University, in Religious Freedom, LGBT Rights, and the Prospects for Common Ground (William Eskridge & Robin Fretwell Wilson eds., 2018)
Religious Freedom, LGBT Rights, and the Prospects for Common Ground by Call Number: KF4783.R429 2019ISBN: 9781108470155Publication Date: 2018The rights of lesbian, gay, bisexual, and transgender persons (LGBT) are strongly contested by certain faith communities, and this confrontation has become increasingly pronounced following the adjudication of a number of legal cases. As the strident arguments of both sides enter a heated political arena, it brings forward the deeply contested question of whether there is any possibility of both communities' contested positions being reconciled under the same law. This volume assembles impactful voices from the faith, LGBT advocacy, legal, and academic communities - from the Human Rights Campaign and ACLU to the National Association of Evangelicals and Catholic and LDS churches. The contributors offer a 360-degree view of culture-war conflicts around faith and sexuality - from Obergefell to Masterpiece Cakeshop - and explore whether communities with such profound differences in belief are able to reach mutually acceptable solutions in order to both live with integrity.
New, Experimental, and Life-Saving Therapies, in The Oxford Handbook of U.S. Health Law 291 (I. Glenn Cohen, Allison K. Hoffman, and William M. Sage, eds., 2017)
The Oxford Handbook of U.S. Health Law by Call Number: KF3821 .O98 2017ISBN: 9780199366521Publication Date: 2016The Oxford Handbook of U.S. Health Law covers the breadth and depth of health law, with contributions from the most eminent scholars in the field. The Handbook paints with broad thematic strokes the major features of American healthcare law and policy, its recent reforms including theAffordable Care Act, its relationship to medical ethics and constitutional principles, and how it compares to the experience of other countries. It explores the legal framework for the patient experience, from access through treatment, to recourse (if treatment fails), and examines emerging issuesinvolving healthcare information, the changing nature of healthcare regulation, immigration, globalization, aging, and the social determinants of health. This Handbook provides valuable content, accessible to readers new to the subject, as well as to those who write, teach, practice, or make policyin health law.
Regulating Reasons: Governmental Regulation of Private Deliberation in Reproductive Decision-Making, in Law, Religion, and Health in the United States (Holly Fernandez Lynch, I. Glenn Cohen & Elizabeth Sepper eds.2017).
Law, Religion and Health in the United States by Call Number: KF4783 .L387 2017ISBN: 9781107164888Publication Date: 2017While the law can create conflict between religion and health, it can also facilitate religious accommodation and protection of conscience. Finding this balance is critical to addressing the most pressing questions at the intersection of law, religion, and health in the United States: should physicians be required to disclose their religious beliefs to patients? How should we think about institutional conscience in the health care setting? How should health care providers deal with families with religious objections to withdrawing treatment? In this timely book, experts from a variety of perspectives and disciplines offer insight on these and other pressing questions, describing what the public discourse gets right and wrong, how policymakers might respond, and what potential conflicts may arise in the future. It should be read by academics, policymakers, and anyone else - patient or physician, secular or devout - interested in how US law interacts with health care and religion.
B. Jessie Hill, Change, Dissent, and the Problem of Consent, in The Rise of Corporate Religious Liberty (Micah Schwartzman, Chad Flanders, and Zoe Robinson eds., 2016)
The Rise of Corporate Religious Liberty by Call Number: KF4783.R57 2016ISBN: 9780190262525Publication Date: 2016What are the rights of religious institutions? Should those rights extend to for-profit corporations? Houses of worship have claimed they should be free from anti-discrimination laws in hiring and firing ministers and other employees. Faith-based institutions, including hospitals anduniversities, have sought exemptions from requirements to provide contraception. Now, in a surprising development, large for-profit corporations have succeeded in asserting rights to religious free exercise. The Rise of Corporate Religious Liberty explores this "corporate" turn in law and religion.Drawing on a broad range perspectives, this book examines the idea of "freedom of the church," the rights of for-profit corporations, and the implications of the Supreme Court's landmark decision in Burwell v. Hobby Lobby for debates on anti-discrimination law, same-sex marriage, health care, andreligious freedom.
Other
Carey v. Population Services International, in Encyclopedia of American Civil Liberties (Paul Finkelman ed., 2006).
Colautti v. Franklin, in Encyclopedia of American Civil Liberties (Paul Finkelman ed., 2006).
Planned Parenthood (“Nuremberg Files”) Litigation, in Encyclopedia of American Civil Liberties (Paul Finkelman ed., 2006).
Encyclopedia of American Civil Liberties by Call Number: KF4747.5.E53 2006ISBN: 9780415943420Publication Date: 2006This Encyclopediaon American history and law is the first devoted to examining the issues of civil liberties and their relevance to major current events while providing a historical context and a philosophical discussion of the evolution of civil liberties. Coverage includes the traditional civil liberties: freedom of speech, press, religion, assembly, and petition. In addition, it also covers concerns such as privacy, the rights of the accused, and national security. Alphabetically organized for ease of access, the articles range in length from 250 words for a brief biography to 5,000 words for in-depth analyses. Entries are organized around the following themes: organizations and government bodies legislation and legislative action, statutes, and acts historical overviews biographies cases themes, issues, concepts, and events. The Encyclopedia of American Civil Libertiesis an essential reference for students and researchers as well as for the general reader to help better understand the world we live in today. , concepts, and events. The Encyclopedia of American Civil Libertiesis an essential reference for students and researchers as well as for the general reader to help better understand the world we live in today.
Capitol Square Review & Advisory Board v. Pinette, in 1 Encyclopedia of the Supreme Court if the United States 269 (David Spinoza Tanenhaus ed., 2008).
McCreary County v. ACLU, in 3 Encyclopedia of the Supreme Court if the United States 266 (David Spinoza Tanenhaus ed., 2008).
Encyclopedia of the Supreme Court of the United States by Call Number: eBookISBN: 002866129XPublication Date: 2008
