Jonathan L. Entin
Jonathan L. Entin
David L. Brennan Professor Emeritus of Law and Adjunct Professor of Political Science
Areas of Expertise: Constitutional Law, Administrative and Regulatory Law, Civil Rights, and Judicial Clerkships
Articles
Entin on our Scholarly Commons
Book Chapters
Use of Foreign Law by the U.S. Supreme Court, in The Culture of Judicial Independence in a Globalized World 219 (Shimon Shetreet & Wayne McCormack eds., 2016).
The Culture of Judicial Independence in a Globalised World by Call Number: K3367.C853 2016ISBN: 9789004307063Publication Date: 2016This volume The Culture of Judicial Independence in a Globalised World is an academic continuation of the previous three volumes: Judicial Independence: The Contemporary Debate, edited by Professor Shimon Shetreet and Chief Justice Deschenes (Brill/Nijhoff, 1985), The Culture of Judicial Independence: Conceptual Foundations and Practical Challenges, edited by Professor Shimon Shetreet and Professor Christopher Forsyth (Brill/Nijhoff, 2012), and The Culture of Judicial Independence: Rule of Law and World Peace edited by Professor Shimon Shetreet (Brill/Nijhoff, 2014). This volume offers papers and studies by academics, judges and practitioners from many jurisdictions on judicial independence - both national and international.
Jonathan L. Entin, Race and the Origins of Zoning in the Chicago Suburbs, in Contested Terrain: Power, Politics and Participation in Suburbia 71 (Marc Silver & Martin Melkonian eds., 1995).
Contested Terrain by Call Number: JS341.C68 1995ISBN: 0313296006Publication Date: 1995Politics, by its nature, is a contentious arena. Suburbia, on the other hand, has long presented the image of a relatively serene, harmonious, and homogenous social context. Until recently little attention has been paid to whatever might be the distinctive qualities of the suburban political scene. Yet, as this collection of essays makes apparent, suburbia is as volatile a political environment as any other. The suburban political sphere is truly a contested terrain, and this volume effectively shows the links between suburban political realities and our collective economic and social well-being. The suburban political sphere is truly a contested terrain. As the authors make clear, the political conflicts that have haunted the United States from its inception--class inequalities, racial frictions, constraints on the democratic impulse--loom large in the suburbia of today. The haven from social turmoil and strife that suburbia represented at mid-century increasingly appears to have been short-lived and, perhaps, even illusory. Political scientists, sociologists, and other researchers as well as concerned citizens are challenged to examine seriously the suburban political landscape. In this volume all will come away with a better understanding of the distinctive practical facets of the suburban political context, and all will have a better appreciation of the connections to our collective economic and social well-being.
Jonathan L. Entin, Environmental and Natural Resource Regulation, in Developments in Administrative Law and Regulatory Practice 275 (Jeffrey S. Lubbers ed., 2004).
- Developments in Administrative Law and Regulatory Practice byCall Number: KF5402.D38Publication Date: 2004
Jonathan L. Entin, Miranda v. Arizona, in the Dictionary of American History 404 (Stanley I. Kutler ed., 2003).
Dictionary of American History (3rd ed) by Call Number: E174.D52 2003 (Kelvin Smith Library)ISBN: 0684805332Publication Date: 2003Entries from previous editions have been updated and revised in light of historical developments and current scholarship, and more than 800 new entries cover recent events and topics not covered previously. For the first time, illustrations and maps are incorporated into the main body of the work; a collection of primary source documents appears in Volume 9.
Jonathan L. Entin, Brown v. Mississippi, 297 U.S. 278 (1936), in 1 The Encyclopedia of the Supreme Court of the United States 224 (David S. Tanenhaus ed., 2008).
Jonathan L. Entin, Commerce Clause, in 1 Encyclopedia of the Supreme Court of the United States 362 (David S. Tanenhaus ed., 2008).
Jonathan L. Entin, Concurring Opinions, in 1 Encyclopedia of the Supreme Court of the United States 388 (David S. Tanenhaus ed., 2008).
Jonathan L. Entin, Kelo v. City of New London, 545 U,S, 469 (2005), in 3 Encyclopedia of the Supreme Court of the United States 109 (David S. Tanenhaus ed., 2008).
Jonathan L. Entin, Rational Basis, in 4 Encyclopedia of the Supreme Court of the United States 182 (David S. Tanenhaus ed., 2008).
Jonathan L. Entin, Raymond Motor Transportation, Inc. v. Rice, 434 U.S. 429 (1978), in 4 Encyclopedia of the Supreme Court of the United States 185 (David S. Tanenhaus ed., 2008).
Encyclopedia of the Supreme Court of the United States by Call Number: eBookISBN: 002866129XPublication Date: 2008
Jonathan L. Entin, Henry King: Reflections on a Legal Giant, in Henry T. King, Jr.: A Life Dedicated to International Justice, 23 (Michael P. Scharf ed., 2011).
Henry T. King by Call Number: KF373.K498 S33 2011ISBN: 9781611630381Publication Date: 2011In his nine decades on the planet, the late Henry T. King, Jr., served as a Prosecutor at Nuremberg, Legal Adviser of the Marshall Plan, Chief Corporate International Counsel for TRW, Chairman of the American Bar Association's International Law Section, Professor of Law at Case Western Reserve University, Delegate to the Rome Diplomatic Conference on the Establishment of the International Criminal Court, and Honorary Consul of Canada. In his final work, Professor King shares insights about his life's extraordinary journey, the history of international accountability for war crimes, and his philosophy of peace through justice. The book includes a Foreword by Professor King's son, best-selling novelist Dave King, as well as personal reflections about Professor King by prominent international prosecutors, government officials, and academic colleagues.
Jonathan L. Entin, Court Packing and Judicial Independence: An American Perspective, in Judicial Independence: Cornerstone of Democracy 382 (Shimon Shetreet & Hiram E. Chodosh eds., 2024).
Judicial Independence: Cornerstone of Democracy by ISBN: 9789004535084Publication Date: 2024This book is an academic continuation of the previous five volumes on judicial independence. This volume offers studies by distinguished scholars and judges from different jurisdictions on numerous dimensions regarding the essential role of judicial independence in democracy. It includes analyses of basic constitutional principles and contemporary issues of judicial independence and judicial procces in many jurisdictions and analyses of international standarts of judicial independence and judicial ethics
Jonathan L. Entin, Balanced Budget and Emergency Deficit Control Act, in 1 Major Acts of Congress 51 (Bryan K. Landsberg et al. eds, 2004).
Major Acts of Congress by Call Number: OhioLinkISBN: 9780028657509Publication Date: 2004"A selection of 262 significant laws, beginning with the Northwest Ordinance of 1787 and concluding with the Department of Homeland Security Act of 2002, these congressional acts are explained in detail and with historical context. The entries are well written and accessible to students and the general public. Contributors include legal scholars, practicing attorneys, economists, and political scientists. Same-page definitions of terms, sidebars and illustrations illuminating historical events, a glossary, and a timeline enhance this useful ready-reference work."--"Reference that rocks," American Libraries, May 2005.
