Sharona Hoffman
Sharona Hoffman
Edgar A. Hahn Professor of Law; Professor of Bioethics; Co-Director of the Law-Medicine Center
Areas of Expertise: Employment Discrimination, Health Law, Aging and the Law, and Health Information Technology
Articles
Hoffman on our Scholarly Commons
Book Chapters
Big Data’s New Discrimination Threats: Amending the Americans with Disabilities Act to Cover Discrimination Based on Data-Driven Predictions of Future Disease, in Big Data, Health Law, and Bioethics (Glenn Cohen, Allison Hoffman and William Sage eds., 2018).
Big Data, Health Law, and Bioethics by Call Number: OhioLinkISBN: 9781107193659Publication Date: 2018When data from all aspects of our lives can be relevant to our health - from our habits at the grocery store and our Google searches to our FitBit data and our medical records - can we really differentiate between big data and health big data? Will health big data be used for good, such as to improve drug safety, or ill, as in insurance discrimination? Will it disrupt health care (and the health care system) as we know it? Will it be possible to protect our health privacy? What barriers will there be to collecting and utilizing health big data? What role should law play, and what ethical concerns may arise? This timely, groundbreaking volume explores these questions and more from a variety of perspectives, examining how law promotes or discourages the use of big data in the health care sphere, and also what we can learn from other sectors.
DNA Databanks, in Encyclopedia of Ethical, Legal, and Policy Issues in Biotechnology 413 (Thomas H. Murray & Maxwell J. Mehlman eds., 2000) (with Paul C. Giannelli and Wendy E. Wagner).
Encyclopedia of Ethical, Legal, and Policy Issues in Biotechnology by Call Number: TP248.16 .E539 2000ISBN: 0471176125Publication Date: 2000This set is comprehensive and technically literate and more informative on regulation and policy issues. Thomas Murray is a world-renowned leader in this field. This set is comprehensive and technically literate with very informative entries on regulation and policy issues.
Electronic Health Information Security and Privacy, in Harboring Data: Information Security, Law and the Corporation 103 (Andrea M. Matwyshyn ed., 2009) (with Andy Podgurski).
Harboring Data by Call Number: KF1263.C65 H37 2009ISBN: 9780804760089Publication Date: 2009As identity theft and corporate data vulnerability continue to escalate, corporations must protect both the valuable consumer data they collect and their own intangible assets. Both Congress and the states have passed laws to improve practices, but the rate of data loss persists unabated and companies remain slow to invest in information security. Engaged in a bottom-up investigation, Harboring Data reveals the emergent nature of data leakage and vulnerability, as well as some of the areas where our current regulatory frameworks fall short.With insights from leading academics, information security professionals, and other area experts, this original work explores the business, legal, and social dynamics behind corporate information leakage and data breaches. The authors reveal common mistakes companies make, which breaches go unreported despite notification statutes, and surprising weaknesses in the federal laws that regulate financial data privacy, children's data collection, and health data privacy. This forward-looking book will be vital to meeting the increasing information security concerns that new data-intensive business models will have.
Healthcare in the United States: a Matter of Right or Privilege?, in Health Capital and Sustainable Socioeconomic Development 267 (Patricia A. Cholewka & Mitra M Motlagh eds., 2008).
Health Capital and Sustainable Socioeconomic Development by Call Number: OhioLinkISBN: 9781420046908Publication Date: 2008Given ongoing worldwide calamities such as famine, natural disasters, and drug abuse, international attention has increasingly focused upon disease detection, prevention, containment, and treatment. Serving an unmet need in the marketplace, Health Capital and Sustainable Socioeconomic Development highlights mounting evidence of the strong relationship between human capital and socioeconomic development and poses management strategies from international and interdisciplinary sources. With a fresh perspective, scholars and practitioners in the health and sustainable development fields address such issues as healthcare and education, funding for healthcare services, and the impact of legal and political policies on healthcare needs. An original contribution to the subject, this indispensable reference not only analyzes diverse worldwide health crises and their causes, but also provides insights into effective, pragmatic, and sustainable solutions. Broad Range of Topics Illuminated in a Readable and Pertinent Manner Encompassing theory and practice within three distinct sections, the text begins by examining social and cultural issues including HIV/AIDS and alcohol, with an emphasis on the role of collaborative networks in developing countries. The second part delves into economic considerations as they pertain to western healthcare and low-income countries. It spotlights healthcare in the United States, analyzes Iraq as a case study of the brain drain of health capital, and explores sustainable development as a tangible step toward famine elimination.
Sharona Hoffman, Privacy and Integrity of Medical Records, Oxford Handbook of Comparative Health Law (Tamara Hervery and David Orentlicher eds., 2020)
Oxford Handbook of Comparative Health Law by Call Number: eBookISBN: 9780190846756Publication Date: 2020
Medial privacy and security, in The Oxford Handbook of U.S. Health Law 267 (I. Glenn Cohen, Allison K. Hoffman, and William M. Sage, eds., 2017).
The Oxford Handbook of U.S. Healthcare Law by Call Number: KF3821 .O98 2017ISBN: 9780199366521Publication Date: 2016The Oxford Handbook of U.S. Health Law covers the breadth and depth of health law, with contributions from the most eminent scholars in the field. The Handbook paints with broad thematic strokes the major features of American healthcare law and policy, its recent reforms including theAffordable Care Act, its relationship to medical ethics and constitutional principles, and how it compares to the experience of other countries. It explores the legal framework for the patient experience, from access through treatment, to recourse (if treatment fails), and examines emerging issuesinvolving healthcare information, the changing nature of healthcare regulation, immigration, globalization, aging, and the social determinants of health. This Handbook provides valuable content, accessible to readers new to the subject, as well as to those who write, teach, practice, or make policyin health law.
Personal Health Records as a Tool for Transparency in Health Care, in Transparency in Health and Health Care in the United States: Law and Ethics 260 (Holly Fernandez Lynch et al., eds. 2019).
Transparency in Health and Health Care in the United States by ISBN: 9781108456937Publication Date: 2019Transparency is a concept that is becoming increasingly lauded as a solution to a host of problems in the American health care system. Transparency initiatives show great promise, including empowering patients and other stakeholders to make more efficient decisions, improve resource allocation, and better regulate the health care industry. Nevertheless, transparency is not a cure-all for the problems facing the modern health care system. The authors of this volume present a nuanced view of transparency, exploring ways in which transparency has succeeded and ways in which transparency initiatives have room for improvement. Working at the intersection of law, medicine, ethics, and business, the book goes beyond the buzzwords to the heart of transparency's transformative potential, while interrogating its obstacles and downsides. It should be read by anyone looking for a better understanding of transparency in the health care context.
Sharona Hoffman and Mariah Dick, Artificial Intelligence and Discrimination Based on Prediction of Future Illness in Deep Diving into Data Protection 1979-2019: Celebrating 40 Years of Privacy and Data Protection at the CRID 365 (Jean Herveg ed. 2021).
Books
- Aging with a Plan byCall Number: HQ1062 .H634 2015ISBN: 9781440838903Publication Date: 2015This book offers a concise, comprehensive resource for middle-aged readers who are facing the prospects of their own aging and of caring for elderly relatives--an often overwhelming task for which little in life prepares us. * Covers a broad range of topics and offers a wealth of practical advice that should be considered by individuals who are planning for old age, supplying a comprehensive "one-stop" resource on the subject * Presents interdisciplinary perspectives that draws on the author's background in law and bioethics as well as personal experience with health care and the elderly * Combines thorough scholarly research and analysis with engaging anecdotes and personal observations * Provides a preparedness checklist at the end of each chapter that summarizes take-away messages and outlines practical next steps for the reader
Aging with a Plan 2d by ISBN: 1839982365Publication Date: 2022The book is a concise and comprehensive resource for people who are middle-aged and beyond and are facing the prospects of their own aging and of caring for elderly relatives--an often overwhelming task for which little in life prepares us. Using an interdisciplinary approach and many personal anecdotes, Professor Hoffman develops recommendations for building sustainable social, legal, medical, and financial support systems for aging and caregiving. Aging with a Plan combines thorough research with engaging anecdotes and practical advice. It offers one-stop shopping for anyone in need of guidance without a lot of time for independent research. The book answers questions such as: What legal documents should you be sure to have? What expenses should you anticipate in retirement and how do you save for them? What do you need to know about medical care as you or your loved ones grow older? How should you approach conversations about the sensitive topic of safe driving with elderly loved ones? What options exist for end-of-life care, and how do you make sure that your wishes will be followed? The book is user-friendly and accessible to a general audience, and each chapter ends with a helpful checklist.
Electronic Health Records and Medical Big Data by Call Number: KF3827.R4 H64 2016ISBN: 9781107166547Publication Date: 2016This book helps readers gain an in-depth understanding of electronic health record (EHR) systems, medical big data, and the regulations that govern them. It analyzes both the shortcomings and benefits of EHR systems, exploring the law's response to the creation of these systems, highlighting gaps in the current legal framework, and developing detailed recommendations for regulatory, policy, and technological improvements. Electronic Health Records and Medical Big Data addresses not only privacy and security concerns but also other important challenges, such as those related to data quality and data analysis. In addition, the author formulates a large body of recommendations to improve the technology's safety, security, and efficacy for both clinical and secondary (such as research) uses of medical data.
