The Problems with Precaution: A Principle without Principle, in Crop Chemophobia: Will Precaution Kill the Green Revolution? 33 (Jon Entine ed., 2011).
Clean Fuels, Dirty Air, in Environmental Politics : Public Costs, Private Rewards 19 (Michael S. Greve & Fred L. Smith eds., 1992).
Environment, in The Encyclopedia of Libertarianism 150 (Ronald Hamowy ed., 2008).
The Encyclopedia of Libertarianism by Ronald Hamowy (Editor); Cato Institute Staff (Contribution by)
Call Number: JC585 .E53 2008
Publication Date: 2008
As a continuation of the older tradition of classical liberalism, libertarian thinking draws on a rich body of thought and scholarship. Contemporary libertarian scholars are continuing that tradition by making substantial contributions to such fields as philosophy, jurisprudence, economics, evolutionary psychology, political theory, and history, in both academia and politics. With more than 300 A-to-Z signed entries written by top scholars, The Encyclopedia of Libertarianism is purposed to be a useful compilation of and introduction to libertarian scholarship. The Encyclopedia starts with an introductory essay offering an extensive historical and thematic overview of key thinkers, events, and publications in the development of libertarian thought. The Reader's Guide groups content for researchers and students alike, allowing them to study libertarianism topically, biographically, and by public policy issues.Key FeaturesEntries conclude with bibliographies and references for further reading and cross-references to related entries.Each entry provides an introduction to a topic or policy question relevant to libertarianism or a biography of a person who has had an impact on libertarianism.Editors take special care to ensure entries clearly explain libertarian approaches to issues, do not take sides on disputed matters or engage in polemics, and represent the views of all sides fairly and accurately.
The Precautionary Principle’s Challenge to Progress, in Global Warming & Other Eco-Myths: How the Environmental Movement Uses False Science to Scare Us to Death 264 (Ronald Bailey ed., 2002).
Global Warming and Other Eco Myths by Ronald Bailey
Call Number: OhioLink
Publication Date: 2002
Bailey (a writer and adjunct scholar at CEI, the Competitive Enterprise Institute) gathers these dozen articles to discredit what he calls false science and an ideological environmentalism that wants to claim the mantle of objective science.... Bailey's contributor assertions include: global
Judicial Minimalism, the Mandate, and Mr. Roberts, in The Health Care Case: The Supreme Court’s Decisions and its Implications 171 (Nathaniel Persily, Gillian E. Metzger & Trevor W. Morrison eds., 2013).
Perverse Incentives and the Endangered Species Act, in Issues of the Day: 100 Commentaries on Climate, Energy, the Environment, Transportation, and Public Health Policy 128 (Ian W.H. Parry & Felicia Day eds., 2010).
Issues of the Day by Ian W. H. Parry; Felicia Day
Call Number: GE170 .I77 2010
Publication Date: 2010
Issues of the Day provides an easy way for students, academics, journalists, policymakers, and the public to learn about a diverse range of policy issues affecting the environment, energy, transportation, and public health. Each commentary gives a short assessment of a topic, summarizing in a non-technical way the current state of analysis or evidence on the issue, along with selected recommendations for further reading. The essays are written by world renowned scholars, mostly economists, and provide useful insights on policy problems that are often complex and poorly understood. Some of the topics covered include air pollution, hazardous waste, voluntary environmental programs, domestic (U.S.) and global climate policy design, fishery management, water quality, endangered species, forest fires, oil security, solar power, road and airport, fuel taxes and fuel economy standards, alternative fuel vehicles, health and longevity, smoking, malaria, tuberculosis, and the environment and development. The objective is to disseminate the findings of sound, objective research on the costs, benefits, and appropriate reform of public policies. The book provides a useful supplement for undergraduate- and graduate-level course reading, a reference guide for professionals, and a way for the general reader to quickly develop an informed perspective on the most important policy problems of the day. Issues of the Day is available to download as a PDF from the Resources for the Future website: www.rff.org/weeklycommentary
Letting Fifty Flowers Bloom: Using Federalism to Spur Environmental Innovation, in The Jurisdynamics of Environmental Protection: Change and the Pragmatic Voice in Environmental Law 263 (Jim Chen ed., 2004).
Labeling the Little Things, in The Nanotechnology Challenge : creating legal institutions for uncertain risks 203 (David A. Dana ed., 2012).
The Nanotechnology Challenge : creating legal institutions for uncertain risks by David A. Dana
Call Number: K3924.H54 N36 2012
Publication Date: 2012
"This book is about nanotechnology, very tiny substances that are manipulated to act in all sorts of extraordinary ways, and that many think have or are about to usher in the next industrial revolution. The focus of the book is how society can continue to reap economic and other benefits from nanotechnology, while addressing the possible risk to human and the environment from nanotechnology. Leading scholars offer a range of solutions to the challenge of regulating nanotechnology in a way that allows for continued fast innovation worldwide while making certain we limit or avoid the possible harms from nanotechnology"-- Provided by publisher
The Adverse Environmental Consequences of Uncompensated Land-Use Controls, in Property Rights: Eminent Domain and Regulatory Takings Re-Examined 187 (Bruce Benson ed., 2010).
Property Rights by Bruce L. Benson (Editor)
Call Number: KF5599 .P76 2010
Publication Date: 2010
In an effort to understand the reasons for and consequences of the political backlash to the U.S. Supreme Court decision, Kelo v. New London, this book brings together a diverse group of scholars and practitioners who explore the uses and abuses of eminent domain and regulatory takings.
Once More, With Feeling: Reaffirming the Limits of Clean Water Act Jurisdiction, in The Supreme Court and The Clean Water Act: Five Essays on Raponos v. United States 81 (Kinvin Wroth ed., 2007).
Do Conservation Conventions Conserve?, in Sustainable Development: Promoting Progress or Perpetuating Poverty? 173 (Julian Morris ed., 2002).
Sustainable Development by Julian Morris (Editor)
Call Number: HD75.6.S875 2002
Publication Date: 2002
Most discussion of sustainable development has paid more attention to the long-term needs of the environment than to the needs of the present. But, as this book argues, the needs of people who are alive today must not take second place. And although the policies that are put forward in the name of 'sustainable development' are intended to benefit everyone, especially the poor, in reality many of them would harm rich and poor alike.Seventeen expert contributors examine every aspect of sustainable development, including the changes in humanity's well-being over the last two centuries, the prospects for specific current global policies, the predicament of poorer regions that have failed to develop sustainably, and the problems of climate change, energy policy and management of natural resources. Their analysis shows that the key to more sustainable development is not to impose global environmental regulations, but to ensure that people have a real stake in the global economy. Formal ownership of property and removal of the red tape that holds back entrepreneurial activity: these steps will give people the incentives they need to protect, conserve and innovate, and in so doing to build sustainable societies. In this way sustainable development can truly promote progress - not perpetuate poverty.
Benchmarks: The Ecological and Economic Trends That Are Shaping the Natural Environment and Human Societies, in The True State of the Planet 393 (Ronald Bailey ed., 1995) (with Peter Cazamia and David Monack).
The True State of the Planet by Ronald Bailey
Call Number: OhioLink
Publication Date: 1995
In the 25 years since the first Earth Day in 1970, the environmental movement has spawned a new generation of scientists asking vital questions about the true state and fate of the planet. But, surprisingly, some of their answers -- and even the questions themselves -- contradict the movement's deepest beliefs. Why are reserves of oil, precious metals, and other natural resources more plentiful than ever before? Why has the population growth of the twentieth century brought rising standards of living for nearly all? In The True State of the Planet ten premier scholars shatter the myths of overpopulation, food, global warming, and pesticides, while redirecting environmentalists' concerns to the far more urgent problems of fisheries, fresh water, and third-world pollution -- and the political causes behind them.