CWRU Law School Faculty Authors

Researching ballot measures can be one of the most daunting types of legal research. Exploring Initiative and Referendum Law: Selected State Research Guides offers legal researchers an easy-to-use guide that provides thorough overviews of I&R (initiative and referendum) laws within twenty-three states. This unique resource provides state-specific guidance about both forms of I&R law, those state laws permitting I&R, and those state laws enacted as a result of the I&R process. Any legal researcher beginning a project or needing to know just where to go for the right resources will get helpful general and specific information on practical research strategies and resources. Up to now, finding the literature to research the state-specific history of a law passed by initiative or referendum has been extremely difficult. This book fills this gap by providing top researchers with brief overviews of the individual state processes while providing important primary and secondary sources, including Web sites. The guide's chapters are separated alphabetically by state for fast and easy reference. Annotated bibliographies of books, articles, and Web sites are provided, along with instructions about what documents one can expect to find on the Web, and how to use free databases. Because of this useful volume's unique focus, the book may well become an essential resource for law librarians, attorneys, law faculty, law students, and Political Science scholars. This book was published as a special issue of Legal Reference Services Quarterly.

The Negligence: Purpose, Elements, and Evidence book provides in depth knowledge separated by the individual states in the United States. This book will greatly benefit every plaintiff attorney and judge in the USA.

Explore the controversial legal history of the formation of the United States Prestatehood Legal Materialsis your one-stop guide to the history and development of law in the U.S. and the change from territory to statehood. Unprecedented in its coverage of territorial government, this book identifies a wide range of available resources from each state to reveal the underlying legal principles that helped form the United States.

This new encyclopedia discusses the practical, political, psychological, and philosphical challenges we face as technological advances have changed the landscape of traditional notions of privacy.

This new edition discusses the practical, political, psychological, and philosphical challenges we face as technological advances have changed the landscape of traditional notions of privacy.

Provides up-to-date, annotated bibliographies of the basiclegal practice tools for each of the fifty states and theDistrict of Columbia in a single, easily accessible source.Each bibliography is current within a few months of itspublication and includes cases, statutes, administrativematerials, law-related periodicals, encyclopedias, andtreatises. Both print and electronic resources are listed.Essential for anyone conducting state law research.

Kansas Legal Research is the first book of its kind devoted to the resources and strategies needed to research Kansas state law. This legal research textbook is designed for first-year and upper level law students, librarians, paralegals, undergraduate students researching Kansas law, and even lay people. Kansas practitioners and others who need to be familiar with Kansas legal resources will also want this book in their library. Taking a process-oriented approach, the book focuses on how to research the primary sources of law such as the constitution, statutes, cases, and rules and regulations. It explains to the researcher how to research these sources both in print and in electronic format. The book also focuses on how to research sources of law usually covered in an advanced legal research course, such as legislative history and legal ethics. Additional chapters describe the research process and research strategies. Appendices include legal citation rules and a list of Kansas practice materials. Kansas Legal Research is clearly written, making even complex ideas accessible. Outlines of the research process and short excerpts from Kansas resources make the book easy to use. Web addresses point researchers to the many sources for finding free Kansas legal material online. The book also provides concise explanations of resources needed for researching federal law and the law of other states. As a result, Kansas Legal Research can be used as a stand-alone text or in conjunction with a research text concentrating on federal law.