Skip to Main Content

Advanced Contracts Seminar

This is a guide to law library resources for students in Professor Kostritsky's Advanced Contracts Seminar; March 2022 update.

Locating Books and E-Books

A.  Tools for Locating Hard Copy Monographs, Treatises, Loose-leafs, etc. (i.e., library catalogs!):

1. Case catalog - CWRU campus-wide library catalog. Use "Advance Search" or "Simple Search" and then "Modify Search." Can limit results to just the law library's holdings, but the Kelvin Smith Library also has many relevant books on reproductive rights.

2. OhioLINK catalog - Union catalog of all university and college libraries in Ohio. You can directly request any "available" book which is not already available at a CWRU campus library.

3. WorldCat - Union catalog of many, if not most, research libraries in the United States. Request materials via Interlibrary Loan (ILL).

4. Cleveland Public Library

5. Cuyahoga County Public Library

6. Bibliographies - Search for "contracts bibliography" using Google.

B. Library of Congress Subject Heading Searches:

  1. Contracts - Generally
  2. Contracts - Related Subjects
  3. Contracts - All     
  4. Contracts – United States 
  5. Contracts - U.S. - History
  6. Contracts - International
  7. Commercial Law
  8. Uniform Commercial Code
  9. Public Contracts (i.e., Government Contracts)
  10. Restitution -- United States
  11. Quasi contracts -- United States
  12. Unjust enrichment -- United States
  13. Equitable remedies -- United States
  14. Economics - Contract Law

C. Browsing by LC Call Number:

Call Number

Subject Area

KF801

Contracts – United States

K1030

Contracts – International Sale of Goods

K2400

International Arbitration

K1005

Commercial Law - International

KF890

Uniform Commercial Code

KF395

Restatement of the Law of Contracts, Restitution, etc.

KF1244

Quasi Contracts, Restitution, Equitable Remedies

K487.E3

Law and Economics

KF1430s & KF1440s

Securities – U.S.

KF1500s

Bankruptcy – U.S.
 

Bibliographic records in Catalog link into eBooks on Westlaw, Lexis, Heinonline, LLMC, etc.

Note:  Searches by call number will not retrieve eBooks (e.g., CCH Government Contracts Reporter).

D. E-Book Platforms: 

  1. ProQuest E-Book Central - Legal titles from a variety of publishers

  2. Ebsco eBook Collection - This is an e-book library on many academic subjects. The collection includes thousands of titles purchased by OhioLINK, plus thousands of public-domain e-books. EBSCO operates on the library check-out model, where readers check out e-books for a specified amount of time. Many titles published before 2005.

  3. Cambridge Core -  A collection of e-books published since 2015 by Cambridge University Press

  4. Lexis Digital Collection - Electronic access to selected Lexis treatises

  5. Elgaronline eBook Collections - Access to 295 electronic book titles on various international law topics

  6. PLI Plus - includes CLE Course Handbooks, Transcripts and PLI Treatises. Scope: a wide range of civil & business law topics, including corporate, health, diversity, international, IP plus. 

  7. Business Expert Press - Business and management topics for operations, supply chain, finance, accounting, marketing, public relations. Editors include WSOM faculty. Sign In to create workspace to mark up, save chapters.

  8. Making of Modern Law, Legal Treatises, 1800-1926 - Access to historical American and British legal treatises

  9. OhioLINK Electronic Book Center - Multi-disciplinary titles

  10. Google Books - The world's most comprehensive index of full-text books

  11. HathiTrust (Public Domain & Copyright Works) - A partnership of academic and research institutions offering millions of titles digitized from libraries around the world

E. Online Study Aids:

  1. LexisNexis Study Aids - Study aids published by Lexis and Carolina Press, such as the Understanding and Q&A Series

  2. West Academic Study Aids - Study aids published by West, such as hornbooks, nutshells, and the Black Letter Series

  3. Wolters Kluwer Study Aids - Study aids published by WK, including Emmanuel Law Outlines and Examples and Explanations

  4. Brief Course Guide for 1L Contracts 

Note: If working from home, you will need to use a VPN connection for databases not using Single Sign-On. You can download the Case VPN client from UTECH.