Skip to Main Content

Advanced Contracts Seminar

This is a guide to law library resources for students in Professor Kostritsky's Advanced Contracts Seminar; March 2022 update.

Databases to Locate Business and Finance Articles and Information

Note: If working from home, you will need to use a VPN connection for databases not using Single Sign-On. You can download the Case VPN client from UTECH.

A. Databases for locating Business & Finance Articles and Information: 

  • Academic Search Premier - Indexes over 4300 periodicals and contains full text for over 3400 scholarly publications.  Provides full text journal coverage for nearly all academic areas of study - including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.  Coverage from 1975 to present.

  • Accounting, Tax & Banking Collection -  Article database for accounting, taxation, financial management, policies, standards, legislation, compensation & pension plans, AICPA, FASB, and IASB. Includes accounting & consulting firm profiles. Comprehensive coverage of key industry publications, newspapers, and scholarly & trade literature. Advanced search options & help features available.

  • Business Abstracts with Full Text (H.W. Wilson) - Offering full-text business magazines and scholarly journals, Business Abstracts with Full Text is useful for those looking to conduct research in any area of business.

  • Business Source Complete - Covers over 3,200 scholarly business journals in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, finance, international business, econometrics and economics.  Coverage is from 1965 to present.
  • EconLit - Produced by the American Economics Association, this database covers international economic issues.  It provides comprehensive information on capital markets, econometrics, economic forecasting, government regulations, labor economics, monetary theory, urban economics and much more.  EconLit records include journals as well as articles in collective volumes (essays, proceedings, etc.), books, book reviews, dissertations, and working papers.  Coverage is from 1969 to present .
  • eJournal Portal (CWRU) - The E-Journal Portal is a research tool that helps you find out to which journals, periodicals, and magazines the Library has full-text access. The A-to-Z Title List includes journal titles, coverage dates, provider and database level-URLs that link directly to the journal whenever available. The E-Journal Portal Journal Finder is a list of journal titles, not a research database. If you don't have a citation, or don't know in which journals the articles you need may be located, you need to first search your topic in a research database.

  • JSTOR Complete Archive - Provides electronic, full text access to the backfiles of approximately 670 scholarly periodicals in a variety of disciplines including law, social sciences, humanities, arts and the sciences.

  • Dissertations and Theses A&I (ProQuest) - The "world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1861 to the present day." Indexing and abstracts provided for all items.

  • OhioLINK Electronic Journal Center - The OhioLINK Electronic Journal Center (EJC) is a full text searchable database of electronic journal articles from more than 11,000 academic journals from top scholarly publishers, academic societies and university presses. The EJC covers a wide range of disciplines and contains just published scientific research as well as historical journal articles. New articles are added daily.

  • bepress Legal Repository - The Bepress Legal Repository offers working papers and pre-prints from scholars and professionals at some of the best law schools in the world. Additionally, the bepress Legal Repository includes articles from bepress' roster of peer-reviewed journals

  • SSRN - SSRN is devoted to the rapid worldwide dissemination of social science research and is composed of a number of specialized research networks in each of the social sciences (i.e., financial, economics, accounting, legal, management). Each of SSRN's networks encourages the early distribution of research by publishing submitted abstracts and by soliciting abstracts of top quality research papers around the world. The SSRN eLibrary consists of two parts: an Abstract Database containing abstracts on over 43,500 scholarly working papers and forthcoming papers and an Electronic Paper Collection currently containing over 24,300 downloadable full text documents in Adobe Acrobat pdf format. The eLibrary also includes the research papers of a number of fee based partner publications. The SSRN eLibrary can be searched by title, author, or journal/topic.

  • Google Books - A service from Google Inc. that searches the full text of books and magazines that Google has scanned, converted to text using optical character recognition (OCR), and stored in its digital database. Currently contains over 40 million titles.

  • Google Scholar - For case law and journal articles.

B. CWRU A-Z Database Lists:

Note: Please see the Law Library's and Kelvin Smith Library's A-Z Lists of Databases if any of the above links are not functioning and for additional databases that may be helpful.