Having Trouble?
If you are having trouble using this guide or would like legal research tips, chat with us or contact your local law library.
Need an Attorney?
Many bar associations offer a lawyer referral service, which often includes a free or low-cost initial consultation. Find your local bar association.
Looking for a pro bono (no fee) attorney? Find your local Legal Aid Society.
Is It Still Good Law?
Remember to verify that the case you are using is still good law, meaning the case has not been reversed or overruled. Similarly, if you are using a statute, remember to verify that you are using the current version.
Citators, like Shepard's on Lexis or KeyCite on Westlaw, highlight cases and statutes that are no longer good law. LawCite provides a free citator for some cases; however, to verify that a statute is up to date, you must check the official print version.
Ask a Librarian
Quick Links
 |
United States District Court, Northern District of Ohio The official website for the United States District Court for the Northern District of Ohio includes court info, FAQs, and electronic filing. |
 |
The American Association of Law Librarians' (AALL) toolkit meant to help public librarians understand the process of legal research and help the patron locate the legal information they need. |
 |
FindLaw is a resource created by Thomson Reuters that contains case law and codes, case summaries, blogs, podcasts, practice information, and an attorney directory. |
 |
Legal Information Institute (LII) LII provides open access to legal materials, including: Wex, a legal dictionary and encyclopedia; state constitutions, statutes, and regulations; Supreme Court decisions; the Code of Federal Regulations (CFR), and more. |
 |
Caselaw Access Project provides access to Harvard Law School's digitized collection and includes all official, book-published state and federal U.S. case law. |
 |
Justia provides a search tool for federal and state cases, laws and regulations, research guides, newsletters, attorney directory, and information on law schools. Justia requires registration to annotate but provides links to search for cases, etc. via Google Scholar and other search engines that provide open access. |
 |
Public Access to Court Electronic Records (PACER) PACER provides U.S. federal case and docket information. Although quarterly fees less than $30 are waived, PACER requires registration with a valid credit card. |
 |
RECAP is a joint project of the Center for Information Technology Policy at Princeton University and Free Law Project. It is a browser extension used to archive millions of docket files from PACER. Search the archived court data at CourtListener. |
 |
CourtListener contains millions of legal opinions from federal and state courts as well as a citator. |
 |
The Law Library of Congress provides research guides to federal and state law; international and foreign law; beginner's guides to a number of legal topics; and more. |
 |
GlobaLex is an electronic legal publication dedicated to international and foreign law research. It is published by the Hauser Global Law School Program at NYU School of Law. |
 |
This guide is Georgetown Law Library's introduction to U.S. health law research. It includes select legal and policy resources on various aspects of health law. |