Remember to verify that the case you are using is still good law, meaning the case has not been reversed or overruled. Similarly, if you are using a statute, remember to verify that you are using the current version.
Citators, like Shepard's on Lexis or KeyCite on Westlaw, highlight cases and statutes that are no longer good law. LawCite provides a free citator for some cases; however, to verify that a statute is up to date, you must check the official print version.
USA.gov
This website includes links to the websites of agencies (and their forms), branches of government, and state, local, and tribal governments. The site also provides information on the federal budget and contact information for elected officials.
Supreme Court of the United States
The official website of the Supreme Court includes Opinions of the Court, Opinions Relating to Orders, In-Chambers Opinions and Bound Volumes (every step in the publication of Supreme Court opinions). The site also includes: Internet Sources Cited in Opinions, Media Resources, a Case Citation Finder, transcripts of Arguments, Audio of Arguments, and more.
The American Bar Association provides full-text briefs from a large number of U.S. Supreme Court cases, including cases that have not yet been heard.
District & Appellate Courts:The Office of the Law Revision Counsel of the U.S. House of Representatives offers a searchable version of the most recent version of the U.S. Code. The website also provides access to session laws.
Published by the Office of the Federal Register, National Archives and Records Administration (NARA), the Federal Register is the official daily publication for rules, proposed rules, and notices of Federal agencies and organizations, as well as executive orders and other presidential documents. The Federal Register is updated daily by 6 a.m. and is published Monday through Friday, except Federal holidays.