Introduction to Trafficking in Persons: Victims, Offenders and, the Justice System
This LibGuide identifies selected resources used to inform and educate those working in the justice system with trafficking victims and their families, offenders, law enforcement officials, law students and, attorneys.
Human Trafficking and Modern Slavery Law and Practice by Philippa Southwell; Michelle Brewer; Ben Douglas-Jones
Call Number: OhioLink
Publication Date: 2018-02-22
Human Trafficking and Modern Slavery Law and Practice is a concise, practical, guide to modern slavery and human trafficking law and procedure, in a step by step format, covering all aspects of representing victims of human trafficking and the law surrounding this. Its cross-discipline approach offers practical guidance for criminal and immigration practitioners unfamiliar with each side of these practice areas.Covers the following areas:Introduction - legal background, framework, domestic and international;Definition of a trafficking victim;Determination of status as a victim of trafficking;Criminal - non punishment etc;Criminal - victim protection etc;Immigration/International protection;Trafficking and the European Convention on Human Rights;Relevance of NRM decisions and interplay with the international protection/immigration claim/deportation etc.Covers the following legislation and case law: The Modern Slavery Act 2015 Palermo Protocol 2000 Refugee Convention on Human Rights 1951A large number of cases involving victims of trafficking have gone through the appeal courts in recent years. Despite the Court of Appeal in those cases heavily criticising police, prosecutors and defence lawyers who failed to identify and act upon claims of trafficking, victims are still slipping through the net and being convicted when they should not be. All practitioners who work in the field of modern slavery and human trafficking will know there is a hybrid of legal issues for any one case and practitioners will need to be alive to all legal issues.This book aims to be a concise, manageable text for criminal and immigration practitioners alike and acts as a quick reference source for use by practitioners at court and at all stages through the justice and immigration system, as well as having appeal to the judiciary, students, academics and law enforcement agencies.
Microaggressions and Traumatic Stress by Kevin L. Nadal
Call Number: APA Books
Publication Date: 2018-01-01
Challenging current definitions of trauma, Kevin L. Nadal distills the latest research on the effects of microaggressions, looking at how regular exposure to subtle discrimination can, over time, elicit similar symptoms to severe trauma. Previous research on trauma has suggested that it results from experiencing or witnessing actual or threatened death, or serious injury, but this view has been expanding in recent years. New research has focused on the relationship between persistent, often casual social discrimination and trauma. In a changing world where discrimination seems to take center stage on the news, more and more individuals are able to put a name to the daily microaggressions that may plague their lives. These stressors can act as trigger mechanisms that impact their ability to cope with life stressors, affecting self‑esteem and relationships. This brief but comprehensive volume includes illustrative case studies that will help practitioners understand and treat clients with trauma resulting from persistent but otherwise subtle and difficult-to-identify microaggressions.
Handbook of Sex Trafficking by Lenore Walker, Giselle Gaviria & Kalyana Gopal, eds.
Call Number: OhioLink Online Resource
Publication Date: 2018
Mobile Orientations by Nicola Mai
Call Number: HQ119.4.E85 M35 2018 KSL Stacks 3d Floor
Publication Date: 2018-11-16
Despite continued public and legislative concern about sex trafficking across international borders, the actual lives of the individuals involved--and, more importantly, the decisions that led them to sex work--are too often overlooked. With Mobile Orientations, Nicola Mai shows that, far from being victims of a system beyond their control, many contemporary sex workers choose their profession as a means to forge a path toward fulfillment. Using a bold blend of personal narrative and autoethnography, Mai provides intimate portrayals of sex workers from sites including the Balkans, the Maghreb, and West Africa who decided to sell sex as the means to achieve a better life. Mai explores the contrast between how migrants understand themselves and their work and how humanitarian and governmental agencies conceal their stories, often unwittingly, by addressing them all as helpless victims. The culmination of two decades of research, Mobile Orientations sheds new light on the desires and ambitions of migrant sex workers across the world.
Sex Trafficking and Commercial Sexual Exploitation: Prevention, Advocacy, and Trauma-Informed Practice by Lara B. Gerassi
Call Number: CWRU EBSCO eBook
Publication Date: 2018
Ending Human Trafficking and Modern Day Slavery by Annalisa V. Enrile (Editor)
Call Number: OhioLink
Publication Date: 2017-10-04
Bringing together conceptual, practice, and advocacy knowledge, Ending Human Trafficking and Modern-Day Slavery: Freedom's Journey explores the complexities of human trafficking and modern-day slavery through a global perspective. This comprehensive, multidisciplinary text includes a discussion of the root causes and structural issues that continue to plague society, as well as real-life case studies and vignettes, the words of human trafficking survivors, and insights from first responders and anti-trafficking advocates. Each chapter includes a "call to action" to inspire readers to implement a range of strategies designed to disrupt, eradicate, or mitigate human trafficking and modern-day slavery.
Gender, Psychology, and Justice by Corinne C. Datchi; Julie R. Ancis
Call Number: CWRU E-Book
Publication Date: 2017-01-01
Reveals how gender intersects with race, class, and sexual orientation in ways that impact the legal status and well-being of women and girls in the justice system. Women and girls' contact with the justice system is often influenced by gender-related assumptions and stereotypes. The justice practices of the past 40 years have been largely based on conceptual principles and assumptions--including personal theories about gender--more than scientific evidence about what works to address the specific needs of women and girls in the justice system. Because of this, women and girls have limited access to equitable justice and are increasingly caught up in outdated and harmful practices, including the net of the criminal justice system. Gender, Psychology, and Justice uses psychological research to examine the experiences of women and girls involved in the justice system. Their experiences, from initial contact with justice and court officials, demonstrate how gender intersects with race, class, and sexual orientation to impact legal status and well-being. The volume also explains the role psychology can play in shaping legal policy, ranging from the areas of corrections to family court and drug court. Gender, Psychology, and Justice provides a critical analysis of girls' and women's experiences in the justice system. It reveals the practical implications of training and interventions grounded in psychological research, and suggests new principles for working with women and girls in legal settings.
Third Party Sex Work and Pimps in the Age of Anti-Trafficking by Amber Horning, Anthony Marcus, eds.
Publication Date: 2017
CWRU Online Electronic Resource; OhioLink
The War on Sex by David M. Halperin (Editor); Trevor Hoppe (Editor)
Call Number: CWRU E-Book
Publication Date: 2017-03-03
The past fifty years are conventionally understood to have witnessed an uninterrupted expansion of sexual rights and liberties in the United States. This state-of-the-art collection tells a different story: while progress has been made in marriage equality, reproductive rights, access to birth control, and other areas, government and civil society are waging a war on stigmatized sex by means of law, surveillance, and social control. The contributors document the history and operation of sex offender registries and the criminalization of HIV, as well as highly punitive measures against sex work that do more to harm women than to combat human trafficking. They reveal that sex crimes are punished more harshly than other crimes, while new legal and administrative regulations drastically restrict who is permitted to have sex. By examining how the ever-intensifying war on sex affects both privileged and marginalized communities, the essays collected here show why sexual liberation is indispensable to social justice and human rights. Contributors. Alexis Agathocleous, Elizabeth Bernstein, J. Wallace Borchert, Mary Anne Case, Owen Daniel-McCarter, Scott De Orio, David M. Halperin, Amber Hollibaugh, Trevor Hoppe, Hans Tao-Ming Huang, Regina Kunzel, Roger N. Lancaster, Judith Levine, Laura Mansnerus, Erica R. Meiners, R. Noll, Melissa Petro, Carol Queen, Penelope Saunders, Sean Strub, Maurice Tomlinson, Gregory Tomso
The Seductions of Quantification by Sally Engle Merry
We live in a world where seemingly everything can be measured. We rely on indicators to translate social phenomena into simple, quantified terms, which in turn can be used to guide individuals, organizations, and governments in establishing policy. Yet counting things requires finding a way to make them comparable. And in the process of translating the confusion of social life into neat categories, we inevitably strip it of context and meaning--and risk hiding or distorting as much as we reveal. With The Seductions of Quantification, leading legal anthropologist Sally Engle Merry investigates the techniques by which information is gathered and analyzed in the production of global indicators on human rights, gender violence, and sex trafficking. Although such numbers convey an aura of objective truth and scientific validity, Merry argues persuasively that measurement systems constitute a form of power by incorporating theories about social change in their design but rarely explicitly acknowledging them. For instance, the US State Department's Trafficking in Persons Report, which ranks countries in terms of their compliance with antitrafficking activities, assumes that prosecuting traffickers as criminals is an effective corrective strategy--overlooking cultures where women and children are frequently sold by their own families. As Merry shows, indicators are indeed seductive in their promise of providing concrete knowledge about how the world works, but they are implemented most successfully when paired with context-rich qualitative accounts grounded in local knowledge.
Trafficked Children and Youth in the United States by Elzbieta M. Gozdziak
Publication Date: 2016-05-10
Trafficked children are portrayed by the media--and even by child welfare specialists--as hapless victims who are forced to migrate from a poor country to the United States, where they serve as sex slaves. But as Elzbieta M. Gozdziak reveals in Trafficked Children in the United States, the picture is far more complex. Basing her observations on research with 140 children, most of them girls, from countries all over the globe, Gozdziak debunks many myths and uncovers the realities of the captivity, rescue, and rehabilitation of trafficked children. She shows, for instance, that none of the girls and boys portrayed in this book were kidnapped or physically forced to accompany their traffickers. In many instances, parents, or smugglers paid by family members, brought the girls to the U.S. Without exception, the girls and boys in this study believed they were coming to the States to find employment and in some cases educational opportunities. Following them from the time they were trafficked to their years as young adults, Gozdziak gives the children a voice so they can offer their own perspective on rebuilding their lives--getting jobs, learning English, developing friendships, and finding love. Gozdziak looks too at how the children's perspectives compare to the ideas of child welfare programs, noting that the children focus on survival techniques while the institutions focus, not helpfully, on vulnerability and pathology. Gozdziak concludes that the services provided by institutions are in effect a one-size-fits-all, trauma-based model, one that ignores the diversity of experience among trafficked children. Breaking new ground, Trafficked Children in the United States offers a fresh take on what matters most to these young people as they rebuild their lives in America.
Working with the Trauma of Rape and Sexual Violence by Sue J. Daniels; Ivan Tyrell (Foreword by)
Call Number: CWRU EBSCOhost E-Book
Publication Date: 2016-11-21
The trauma caused by rape and sexual assault can often be further compounded by unthinking or insensitive comments from people who may judge, disbelieve or disparage the victim. This authoritative resource draws together advice for all people in the helping professions on how to work with victims of rape and sexual violence. The wide-ranging topics cover the effects of rape, male rape, childhood sexual abuse, sex trafficking and prostitution, and sexually transmitted infections, giving best practice advice on how to offer effective and compassionate support to help survivors.
Sex, Power, and Slavery by Gwyn Campbell (Editor); Elizabeth Elbourne (Editor)
Call Number: CWRU EBSCOhost E-Book
Publication Date: 2015-01-02
"This collection challenges many established conceptual boundaries, and refines and reinterprets others." --African Studies Quarterly Sexual exploitation was and is a critical feature of enslavement. Across many different societies, slaves were considered to own neither their bodies nor their children, even if many struggled to resist. At the same time, paradoxes abound: for example, in some societies to bear the children of a master was a potential route to manumission for some women. Sex, Power, and Slavery is the first history of slavery and bondage to take sexuality seriously. Twenty-six authors from diverse scholarly backgrounds look at the vexed, traumatic intersections of the histories of slavery and of sexuality. They argue that such intersections mattered profoundly and, indeed, that slavery cannot be understood without adequate attention to sexuality. Sex, Power, and Slavery brings into conversation historians of the slave trade, art historians, and scholars of childhood and contemporary sex trafficking. The book merges work on the Atlantic world and the Indian Ocean world and enables rich comparisons and parallels between these diverse areas. Contributors: David Brion Davis, Martin Klein, Richard Hellie, Abdul Sheriff, Griet Vankeerberghen, E. Ann McDougall, Matthew S. Hopper, Marie Rodet, George La Rue, Ulrike Schmieder, Tara Iniss, Mariano Candido, James Francis Warren, Johanna Ransmeier, Roseline Uyanga with Marie-Luise Ermisch, Francesca Ann Louise Mitchell, Shigeru Sato, Gabeba Baderoon, Charmaine Nelson, Ana Lucia Araujo, Brian Lewis, Ronaldo Vainfas, Saleh Trabelsi, Joost Coté, Sandra Evers, Subho Basu.
Sex Crimes by Alissa R. Ackerman (Editor); Rich Furman (Editor)
Call Number: KSL Stacks 3d Floor HV6556 .S423 2015
Publication Date: 2015-06-16
Sex crimes, such as rape, child sexual abuse, and intimate partner violence, are increasingly transnational in nature, introducing unique cross-border and cross-cultural challenges for police, the courts, and the law. Policy makers and practitioners are in need of a resource that explores the incidence, prosecution, and treatment of sexual crimes across different countries and cultures. This book is the first to investigate all aspects of sexual crimes and the policy and management initiatives developed to address them from a transnational, global perspective. Introducing an array of tools for reducing the prevalence and consequences of sex crimes, this volume brings together leading scholars in criminology, criminal justice, social work, and law to discuss topics ranging from sex trafficking and sex tourism to pornography, cyberstalking, and sexual abuse in the military and the Catholic church. Case studies track the reporting of these crimes, the methods used to interview victims and perpetrators, and the policies enacted to punish those involved.
Getting Screwed: Sex Workers and the Law by Alison Bass
Call Number: CWRU EBSCOhost E-Book
Publication Date: 2015-10-06
Alison Bass weaves the true stories of sex workers with the latest research on prostitution into a gripping journalistic account of how women (and some men) navigate a culture that routinely accepts the implicit exchange of sex for money, status, or even a good meal, but imposes heavy penalties on those who make such bargains explicit. Along the way, Bass examines why an increasing number of middle-class white women choose to become sex workers and explores how prostitution has become a thriving industry in the twenty-first-century global economy. Situating her book in American history more broadly, she also discusses the impact of the sexual revolution, the rise of the Nevada brothels, and the growing war on sex trafficking after 9/11. Drawing on recent studies that show lower rates of violence and sexually transmitted diseases, including HIV, in regions where adult prostitution is legal and regulated, Bass makes a powerful case for decriminalizing sex work. Through comparisons of the impact of criminalization vs. decriminalization in other countries, her book offers strategies for making prostitution safer for American sex workers and the communities in which they dwell. This riveting assessment of how U.S. anti-prostitution laws harm the public health and safety of sex workers and other citizens--and affect larger societal attitudes toward women--will interest feminists, sociologists, lawyers, health-care professionals, and policy makers. The book also will appeal to anyone with an interest in American history and our society's evolving attitudes toward sexuality and marriage.
Confronting Commercial Sexual Exploitation and Sex Trafficking of Minors in the United States by Institute of Medicine; National Research Council
Call Number: CWRU eBook on EbscoHost
Publication Date: 2014-06-20
Commercial sexual exploitation and sex trafficking of minors in the United States are frequently overlooked, misunderstood, and unaddressed domestic problems. In the past decade, they have received increasing attention from advocates, the media, academics, and policy makers. However, much of this attention has focused internationally. This international focus has overshadowed the reality that commercial sexual exploitation and sex trafficking of minors also occur every day within the United States. Commercial sexual exploitation and sex trafficking of minors not only are illegal activities, but also result in immediate and long-term physical, mental, and emotional harm to victims and survivors. A nation that is unaware of these problems or disengaged from solving them unwittingly contributes to the ongoing abuse of minors and all but ensures that these crimes will remain marginalized and misunderstood. The 2013 Institute of Medicine and the National Research Council report Confronting Commercial Sexual Exploitation and Sex Trafficking of Minors in the United States increases awareness and understanding of the crucial problem of commercial sexual exploitation and sex trafficking of minors in the United States. By examining emerging strategies for preventing and identifying these crimes, for assisting and supporting victims and survivors, and for addressing exploiters and traffickers, that report offers a path forward through recommendations designed to increase awareness and understanding and to support efforts to prevent, identify, and respond to these crimes. Confronting Commercial Sexual Exploitation and Sex Trafficking of Minors in the United States: A Guide for Providers of Victim and Support Services offers a more concise and focused perspective on the problem and emerging solutions for providers of victim and support services for children and adolescents. These service providers include policy makers, leaders, practitioners, organizations, and programs at the local, state, and federal levels. This guide will be a valuable resource for them, and for child welfare and child protective services, other agencies and programs within the state and federal governments (e.g., the U.S. Department of Justice's Office for Victims of Crime), and nongovernmental organizations.
Walking Prey by Holly Austin Smith
Call Number: HQ144.S657 2014 KSL Stacks 3d Floor
Publication Date: 2014-03-18
Today, two cultural forces are converging to make America's youth easy targets for sex traffickers. Younger and younger girls are engaging in adult sexual attitudes and practices, and the pressure to conform means thousands have little self-worth and are vulnerable to exploitation. At the same time, thanks to social media, texting, and chatting services, predators are able to ferret out their victims more easily than ever before. InWalking Prey, advocate and former victim Holly Austin Smith shows how middle class suburban communities are fast becoming the new epicenter of sex trafficking in America. Smith speaks from experience: Without consistent positive guidance or engagement, Holly was ripe for exploitation at age fourteen. A chance encounter with an older man led her to run away from home, and she soon found herself on the streets of Atlantic City. Her experience led her, two decades later, to become one of the foremost advocates for trafficking victims. Smith argues that these young women should be treated as victims by law enforcement, but that too often the criminal justice system lacks the resources and training to prevent the vicious cycle of prostitution. This is a clarion call to take a sharp look at one of the most striking human rights abuses, and one that is going on in our own backyard.
Somebody's Daughter by Julian Sher
Call Number: CWRU EBSCOhost E-book
Publication Date: 2013-04-01
They are America's forgotten children, the hundreds of thousands of child prostitutes who walk the Las Vegas Strip, the casinos of Atlantic City, the truck stops on interstates, and the street corners of our cities. Many people wrongly believe sex trafficking involves young women from foreign lands. In reality, the majority of teens caught in the sex trade are American girls--runaways and throwaways who become victims of ruthless pimps. In Somebody's Daughter: The Hidden Story of America's Prostituted Children and the Battle to Save Them , meet the girls who are fighting for their dignity, the cops who are trying to rescue them, and the community activists battling to protect the nation's most forsaken children. Author Julian Sher takes you behind the scenes to expose one of America's most underreported crimes: A girl from New Jersey gets arrested in Las Vegas and, at great risk to her own life, helps the FBI take down a million-dollar pimping empire. An abused teenager in Texas has the courage to take the stand in a grueling trial that sends her pimp away for 75 years. Survivors of the sex trade in New York, Phoenix, and Minneapolis set up shelters and rescue centers that offer young girls a chance to break free from the streets. "The sex trade is the new drug trade," says one FBI special agent, and Somebody's Daughter is a call to action, shining a light on America's dirty little secret.
Partner Violence by Zeev Winstok
Call Number: CWRU E-Book
Publication Date: 2012-09-18
As domestic violence continues to be a focus of social and psychological concern, two basic contradictory viewpoints endure: one rooted in male power dynamics, the other maintaining that both genders use and are victimized by violence. Although both sides have their merits, neither has adequately answered the crucial question: What causes conflict to escalate into violence? Partner Violence: A New Paradigm for Understanding Conflict Escalation adds a third, escalation-focused paradigm to the debate, addressing the limitations of the two dominant perspectives in a comprehensive scholarly approach. This concise yet comprehensive volume examines key gender- and non-gender-related violence issues and sets out a compelling behavioral argument that using violence to control others is a rational choice. Its theoretical and empirical foundations support an in-depth study of escalating aggression in violent relationships, both throughout periods of chronic conflict and in single violent episodes. This analysis promotes a broader and deeper understanding of partner violence, suitable to developing more finely targeted, effective, and lasting interventions. Among the key topics featured are: Gender differences in aggressive tendencies. Dominance, control, and violence. Partner violence as planned behavior. The process leading to partner violence. Partner conflict dynamics throughout relationship periods and within conflicts. Gender differences in escalatory intentions. Partner Violence is an important volume for researchers, graduate students, and clinicians/professionals across various disciplines, including personality and social psychology, criminology, public health, clinical psychology, sociology, and social work.
Male Rape by Noreen Abdullah-Khan
Call Number: HV6558.A32 2008 MSASS Stacks
Publication Date: 2008-07-16
Focusing on male-on-male rape, this book looks at the common myths surrounding this taboo issue, including the idea that 'men who rape other men must be homosexual' and that 'real men can't be raped'. It also reveals that men are not only raped in prison, as is commonly believed, and that they suffer similar trauma to female survivors of rape.
Sex Work and Sex Workers by Barry M. Dank (Editor); Roberto Refinetti (Editor); Barry Dank (Editor)
Call Number: KSL 3d Floor HQ117.S49 1999
Publication Date: 1998-11-30
Sexuality & Culture serves as a compelling forum for the analysis of ethical, cultural, psychological, social, and political issues related to sexual relationships and sexual behavior. These issues include, but are not limited to: sexual consent and sexual responsibility; sexual harassment and freedom of speech and association; sexual privacy; censorship and pornography; impact of film/literature on sexual relationships; and university and governmental regulation of intimate relationships.In this volume, theoretical essays, research reports, and book reviews examine the topics of prostitution, pornography, and other forms of commercialization of sexuality. Contributions include: "Twelve Step Feminism Makes Sex Workers Sick" by Kari Kerum; "Sex, Beach Boys and Female Tourists in the Caribbean" by Klaus de Albuquerque; "Reframing 'Eve' in the AIDS Era: The Pursuit of Legitimacy by New Zealand Sex Workers" by Bronwen Lichtenstein; "Long-Term Consumption of X-Rated Materials and Attitudes toward Women among Australian Consumers of X-Rated Videos" by Roberto Hugh Potter; "Invisible Man: A Queer Critique of Feminist Anti-Pornography Theory" by Jody Norton; and "Theorizing Prostitution: The Question of Agency" by Melanie Simmons. Also included are reviews of Live Sex Acts: Women Performing Erotic Labor by Wendy Chapkis; New Sexual Agendas edited by Lynne Segal. In addition, Daphne Patai reviews Real Live New Girl: Chronicles of a Sex-Positive Culture by Carol Queen; Nina Hartley reviews Three in Love; Jo Doezema reviews Trafficking in Women; Valerie Jenness reviews Feminist Accused of Sexual Harassment by Jane Gallop; and Warren Farrell reviews the film In the Company of Men. This volume will be of interest to sociologists, psychologists, legal analysts, and policymakers.
Male on Male Rape: The Hidden Toll of Stigma and Shame by Michael Scarce
Call Number: CWRU EBSCOhost E-Book
Publication Date: 1997-01-01
Impulsivity and Aggression by E. Hollander (Editor); D. J. Stein (Editor)
Call Number: RC569.5.A34147 1995 KSL Stacks 3d Fl.
Publication Date: 1995-03-28
Impulsivity and aggression have undergone considerable research scrutiny in recent years and will comprise a major research topic in psychiatry over the next decade. Violence is a public health issue of great concern and advances in our knowledge of the psychiatry of aggression and disorders of impulse control are therefore of tremendous importance. Specifically addressing diagnostic, epidemiologic, evolutionary, neurobiological, neuropsychological and legal issues, this timely text brings together a large array of diverse data to provide a unique, comprehensive and up-to-date account of this subject. Specific impulse control disorders, personality disorders, and related disorders such as self-mutilation, bulimia, substance abuse and neurological trauma are discussed. Treatment strategies?articularly psychopharmacology, new agents undergoing trials and psychological approaches?are reviewed. No single work has yet attempted to address systematically the phenomenology, neurobiology and treatment of impulsivity, aggression and disorders of impulse control. Written by leading world authorities in their field, this text will have a wide audience including researchers and clinicians in psychiatry, psychology, psychopharmacology and mental health care, as well as those in the fields of social and health policy.
Aggressive Behavior by L. Rowell Huesmann (Editor)
Call Number: KSL 3d Fl. BF575.A3A576 1994
Publication Date: 1994-03-31
In this important work twelve eminent scholars review the latest theoretical work on human aggressive behavior. Emerging theories of aggression; peers, sex-roles, and aggression; environmental investigation and mitigation of aggression; development of adult aggression; and group aggression in adolescents and adults are all discussed in detail to provide clinicians, researchers, and students with a cutting-edge overview of the field.
Male Violence by John Archer (Editor)
Call Number: BF575.A3M34 1994 KSL 3d Fl.
Publication Date: 1993-12-01
Most human violence is perpetrated by men. The contributors to this book discuss male violence from a wide range of perspectives: its origins in childhood; its adult forms within and outside the family; and finally using a variety of theoretical approaches.