SJD Research Guide

SJD Research: Library Resources Refresher

 

SJD Research Guide: http://lawresearchguides.cwru.edu/SJDResearch

SJD Thesis Formatting: http://lawresearchguides.cwru.edu/c.php?g=934336

 

CWRU Law SJD theses (print – not available electronically): http://catalog.case.edu (LC call # =LB 2371.S53 …)

OhioLINK Electronic Theses and Dissertations: https://etd.ohiolink.edu/pg_1?:::::

Dissertations & Theses Global Fulltext: https://search.proquest.com/pqdtglobal/dissertations/fromDatabasesLayer?accountid=9920

 

Treatises (Expert Authors, Primary Sources and Explanation, Updated, mostly U.S. law)

• Usually available full-text via either Lexis or Westlaw
• Usually focus on U.S. law
• http://lawresearchguides.cwru.edu/majortreatises (to find treatises by topic)

Scholarly Books

CWRU libraries: http://catalog.case.edu  

OhioLINK catalog: http://catalog.ohiolink.edu/iii/encore/;jsessionid=984F44FE287A8A0CC7AEF8492116EC4F?lang=eng  

• print and e-books at over 100 libraries
• you can order any book (not already at a CWRU library) that says “available” with your e-mail ID and password and have it sent here in about a week

WorldCat:

https://firstsearch.oclc.org/WebZ/FSPrefs?entityjsdetect=:javascript=true:screensize=large:sessionid=fsapp5-42977-k0piv27t-bye0jj:entitypagenum=1:0  (Interlibrary Loan)

Law Review (and Scholarly) Articles

            Lexis, Westlaw, HeinOnline, Scholarly Commons (bepress)

Ohiolink research databases (560 research databases)

            Legal Collection

            Index to legal Periodicals and Books

            Academic Search Complete

            Business Source Complete

CWRU Law (legal databases): 145 databases

Meet with a librarian to pick which databases are most relevant to your research.

ElgarOnline ebooks (has a private international law encyclopedia)

Max Planck Encylopedia of International Law

https://opil.ouplaw.com/home/MPIL

e-books

• Elgaronline eBook Collections

access to 295 electronic book titles on various international law topics

• Lexis Digital Collection

electronic access to selected Lexis treatises

• Making of Modern Law, Legal Treatises, 1800-1926

access to historical American and British legal treatises

• OhioLINK Electronic Book Center

multi-disciplinary titles

• ProQuest Ebook Central

legal titles from a variety of publishers

• ProView eBooks

electronic access to selected Westlaw books

Study Aids

• LexisNexis Study Aids

study aids published by Lexis and Carolina Press, such as the Understanding and Q&A Series

• West Academic Study Aids

study aids published by West, such as hornbooks, nutshells, and the Black Letter Series

• Wolters Kluwer Study Aids

study aids published by WK, including Emmanuel Law Outlines and Examples and Explanations