Journals & Newsletters
- Annual Review of Resource Economics
This link opens in a new window
Provides authoritative critical reviews evaluating the most significant research developments in resource economics, focusing on agricultural economics, environmental economics, renewable resources, and exhaustible resources.
- American Society of International Law (ASIL)
The Electronic Resource Guide, often called the ERG, has been published online by ASIL since 1997. Systematically updated and continuously expanded, the ERG is designed to be used by students, teachers, practitioners, and researchers as a self-guided tour of relevant, quality, up-to-date online resources covering important areas of international law. The ERG also serves as a ready-made teaching tool at graduate and undergraduate levels.
- Bloomberg Law (B-LAW)
Bloomberg Law is a CALR platform that integrates cases, statutes, regulations, sample transactional documents, and a citator service with Bloombergs corporate news and analysis of financial markets. Known for U.S. Law Week. Also includes selected Wiley treatises and other selected publishers' treatises. Selected Federal filings from PACER are available. Users can set-up personal e-mail alerts. Getting Started resources appear on the main screen - Chronicle of Higher Education
A daily source of news, information, and employment postings for college and university faculty members and administrators.
- Current Index of Legal Periodicals
An index the most recent issues of primarily American law journals by subject heading allows for easy access to nearly 650 legal publications organized within 104 relevant subject headings. Also included are complete tables of contents from all journals indexed, as well as Bluebook citations.
- CQ Weekly
A weekly news magazine featuring in-depth reporting on public policy, politics, congressional legislation, and elections extending back to 1983, including: a complete wrap-up of news on Congress, the status of bills in play, behind-the-scenes maneuvering, committee and floor activity, debates, and all roll-call votes. - E&E News
- This link opens in a new window
E&E News is a news organization focusing on energy and the environment. E&E News five publicationsE&E Daily, Climatewire, Energywire, Greenwire and E&E News PMprovide daily updates and reporting on environmental and energy policy topics.
- The Energy Journal
- This link opens in a new window
The official bi-monthly journal of the International Association for Energy Economics. The journal was founded in 1980 to promote the advancement and dissemination of new knowledge concerning energy and related topics. - Environment & Energy NewsWhere environmental law articles and news are now published on Bloomberg Law.
- Environmental and Energy Policy and the Economy
- This link opens in a new window
Environmental and Energy Policy and the Economy publishes rigorous, careful, and nonpartisan research with high policy impact in environmental and energy economics. The journal focuses on the effective and efficient management of environmental and energy challenges. Research papers offer new evidence on the intended and unintended consequences, the market and nonmarket effects, and the incentive and distributional impacts of policy initiatives and market developments. (Published by the National Bureau of Economic Research)
- Environmental Law Reporter (ELR)
- This link opens in a new window
The Environmental Law Reporter, a publication of the Environmental Law Institute, provides the most-often cited analysis of environmental, sustainability, natural resources, energy, toxic tort, and land use law and policy. It includes several newsletters; a News and Analysis journal; and new and selected full-text state, federal, and international legal documents.
- Journal of the Association of Environmental and Resource Economists
- This link opens in a new window
JAERE publishes papers that are devoted to environmental and natural resource issues. The journal's principal mission is to provide a forum for the scholarly exchange of ideas in the intersection of human behavior and the natural environment. Focusing on original, full-length research papers that offer substantial new insights for scholars of environmental and resource economics, JAERE presents a range of articles that are relevant for public policy, using approaches that are theoretical, empirical, or both.
- Lexology
Lexology delivers the most comprehensive source of international legal updates, analysis and insights for law firms and in-house counsel.
CWRU law users must set up an individual password for themselves. - Preview of United States Supreme Court CasesPresents essays written by scholars about selected cases pending but not yet argued before the United States Supreme Court. These essays provide expert discussion of background and analysis of cases that the Court will eventually decide. Includes coverage of cases extending back to the 1973-1974 Term of the U.S. Supreme Court.
- United States Law WeekUnited States Law Week (U.S.L.W.) is a Bloomberg newsletter known for its quick notification and summary and analysis of U.S. Supreme Court, Federal court and agency opinions, and federal statutory news.
- IP Watch
Intellectual Property Watch, a non-profit independent news service, reports on the interests and behind-the-scenes dynamics that influence the design and implementation of international intellectual property policies. - World Trade Online
World Trade Online is an online news service for subscribers to Inside U.S. Trade. Inside U.S. Trade and two online news services cover U.S. trade policy developments in Washington, among trading partners, and around the world. - War Crimes Prosecution Watch
A bi-weekly e-newsletter that collects official documents and articles from major news sources that detail and analyze salient issues pertaining to the investigation and prosecution of war crimes throughout the world.
Newspapers & Periodicals
- Columbus Dispatch
Newspaper for the capital city of Ohio, which allows registered users to access five article per month.
- Economist
Offers opinion on international news, politics, business, finance, science and technology. Includes articles from the print edition (US & British copies) and web-only content. Also includes a searchable online archive dating back to June 1997.
- Flipster
Access The Atlantic, The Nation, The New Yorker, and more via the Cuyahoga County Public Library. Register for a library card here.
- Mideastwire.com
Provides translations of the Arabic and Persian media including top newspapers and some satellite TV. Coverage of opinions, business news, political and society/cultural pieces. Each brief also contains precisely translated quotes, statistics and context. Includes a searchable database of over 50,000 archived items. - NewsBank - All News and Newspaper Resources
Access to subscribed collections and historical archives. - New York Times
With a Kelvin Smith Library-provided NYTimes.com pass, you have full access to the extensive breaking news, world news, and multimedia of The New York Times. Enjoy full access to NYTimes.com, INYT.com, and NYT mobile apps from any device. Once activated from within the CWRU network, a NYTimes.com pass can be used from any location until expiration documented upon enrollment confirmation (typically one year). - Wall Street Journal
Winner of 38 Pulitzer Prizes for outstanding journalism, the Journal includes coverage of U.S. and world news, politics, arts, culture, lifestyle, sports, health and more. It’s a critical resource of curated content in print, online and mobile apps, complete with breaking news streams, interactive features, video, online columns and blogs.
Students, Faculty, and Staff: if you have a personal WSJ subscription and would like to convert it to your CWRU-sponsored WSJ subscription, please call 1-800-JOURNAL to cancel.
Blogs
- WSJ Law BlogLaw Blog covers the legal arena’s most important and interesting cases, the people behind them, and emerging trends in the broader industry. It’s brought to you by lead writer Jacob Gershman with contributions from across The Wall Street Journal’s staff.
- How AppealingHow Appealing calls itself the first blawg devoted to appellate litigation. Updated frequently throughout the day, it posts links to breaking legal news stories and important court decisions. The site is an affiliate of law.com and also has links to its stories.
- Volokh ConspiracyThe Volokh Conspiracy is a blog, founded in 2002, covering legal and political issues in the States. Articles are often posted by guest law professors who are not among the listed Conspirators.
- Ninth Annual Blawg 100 (2015)This blog provides recent news on all sorts of interesting arbitration decisions nationwide and does accurately, intelligently, concisely and with a sense of humor and, sometimes, savvy political commentary.
- SCOTUS blogSCOTUSblog is a law blog written by lawyers, law professors, and law students about the Supreme Court of the United States (sometimes abbreviated "SCOTUS"). The blog was formerly sponsored by Bloomberg Law. The site tracks cases before the Court from the certiorari stage through the merits stage. The site live blogs as the Court announces opinions and grants cases, and sometimes has information on the Court's actions published before either the Court or any other news source does. The site frequently hosts symposiums with leading experts on the cases before the Court.