Master of Arts in Financial Integrity

Regulation and control of the financial industry has become the weapon of choice for governments struggling to control the rise in global crime and terrorism. Tim Parkman and Gill Peeling's Countering Terrorist Finance - A Training Handbook for Financial Services is a practical, specialist guide for training staff in financial institutions in the processes and skills needed to respond to terrorist financing activities. The book explains international legal responses and obligations (with particular jurisdictional emphasis on the US, the UK, and Hong Kong); dissects the financing typologies behind terrorist attacks including September 11th, Madrid, Bali and other non al-Qaeda examples; analyzes potential causes for suspicion and offers an overview of the main issues and considerations affecting compliance professionals, in their efforts to protect against terrorist financing. The accompanying collection of eight training activities, with supporting materials and presentation slides, provides compliance officers with a resource for developing awareness and appropriate behaviour amongst employees tasked with managing terrorist finance risk. Additional training resource materials, including Powerpoint presentations, audio visual slideshows and pdf handouts are available on a CD ROM that accompanies the book. The background material, practical advice and training resources make this collection an excellent starting point for organizations striving to make a difference in this complex and difficult area.

This edited volume describes various analytic methods used by intelligence analysts supporting military operations in Iraq and Afghanistan as members of the Iraq and Afghan Threat Finance Cells--interagency intelligence teams tasked to disrupt terrorist and insurgent funding. All contributors have deployed to Iraq and/or Afghanistan and detail both the bureaucratic and intellectual challenges in understanding terrorist and insurgent finance networks and then designing operations to attack such networks via conventional military operations, Special Forces kill/capture targeting operations, and non-kinetic operations such as asset freezing or diplomacy. The analytic methods described here leverage both quantitative and qualitative methods, but in a language and style accessible to those without a quantitative background. All methods are demonstrated via actual case studies (approved for release by the U.S. government) drawn from the analysts' distinct experiences while deployed. This book will be of interest to current or aspiring intelligence analysts, students of security studies, anti-money laundering specialists in the private sector, and more generally to those interested in understanding how intelligence analysis feeds into live operations during wartime at a very tactical level.

This monograph analyzes the finances of the militant group al-Qa'ida in Iraq in Anbar province during 2005 and 2006, at the peak of the group's power and influence. The authors draw on captured financial documents that give details on the daily financial transactions of one specific sector within Anbar province and of the financial transactions of the AQI provincial administration.

Since the Second World War, States have increasingly relied upon economic sanctions programs, in lieu of military action, to exert pressure and generally to fill the awkward gap between verbal denunciation and action. Whether or not sanctions are effective remains a point of contention among policymakers. Frequently asked questions include whether any legal order constrains the use of sanctions, and, if so, what the limits on the use of sanctions are. This volume gathers contributions from leading experts in various relevant fields providing a seminal study on the limits of economic sanctions under international law, including accountability mechanisms when sanctioning States go too far. Where there are gaps in the law, the authors provide novel and important contributions as to how existing legal structures can be used to ensure that economic sanctions remain within an accepted legal order. This book is a most valuable contribution to the literature in the fields of international economic law, public international law and international dispute resolution. Ali Z. Marossi is an advisory board member of The Hague Center for Law and Arbitration. Marisa R. Bassett is Associate Legal Officer in the Office of the Prosecutor for the ICTY and former Associate at White & Case LLP.

Over the past decade and beyond, the need for a modern anti-money-laundering strategy has become widely accepted internationally. Depriving criminal elements of the proceeds of their crimes has increasingly been seen as an important tool to combat drug trafficking and, more recently, as a critical element in fighting organized crime, corruption, and the financing of terrorism, and maintaining the integrity of financial markets. The first few financial intelligence units (FIUs) were established in the early 1990s in response to the need for countries to have a central agency to receive, analyze, and disseminate financial information to combat money laundering. Over the ensuing period, the number of FIUs has continued to increase, reaching 84 in 2003. This handbook responds to the need for information on FIUs. It provides references to the appropriate Financial ActionTask Force (FATF) standards wherever appropriate.

Effectively implement comprehensive anti-money laundering regulations Handbook of Anti-Money Laundering details the most up-to-date regulations and provides practical guidance toward implementation. While most books focus on the regulations themselves, this useful guide goes further by explaining their meaning to bank operations, and how the rules apply to real-life scenarios. The international perspective provides a broader understanding of the anti-money laundering controls that are in place worldwide, with certain country-specific details discussed in-depth. Coverage includes the Wolfsberg Principles, Financial Action Task Force guidance, the U.S. Patriot Act, and the latest from both the EU and Bank for International Settlements. The IMF estimates that two to five per cent of the global GDP - $590 billion to $1.5 trillion - is laundered every year. Globally, banks and other financial institutions have been required to put in place specific arrangements to prevent and detect money laundering and the criminal activity that underlies it. This book provides the latest regulations and guidance toward application. Understand what money laundering regulations mean in practice Reference international and country-specific rules and regulations Get up to speed on the most current regulations and practices Implement the most effective anti-money laundering measures In response to the increased monitoring and regulation, money launderers have become more sophisticated at disguising the source of their funds. Financial institutions' employees must be ever more aware of what they're facing, and how to deal with it, making actionable guidance a critical companion to any regulatory information. For financial institutions seeking more thorough understanding and practical advice, the Handbook of Anti-Money Laundering is a comprehensive guide.

This book provides practical recommendations on how to improve the effectiveness and efficiency of AML compliance by introducing the theory, framework and approach for dealing with the concerns of Money Laundering Reporting Officers (MLROs) within the UK banking industry. Accordingly, Bello focusses on providing a theoretical explanation of compliance behaviour which is inadequately covered. Although the research is centred on MLROs within the UK banking industry, the self-protecting theory discovered from the research has general application to other compliance officers within and outside the UK.  It is also applicable to regulatory environments in other economic sectors. The choice of MLROs and the UK as the focus of the study was because these individuals are arguably the most important stakeholders in AML and the UK is one of the largest financial centres in the world that provides opportunity for money laundering activities. A methodological and detailed study, this book will be of particular interest to practitioners and the regulatory authorities, as well as scholars of criminology and finance.

This book provides an updated and comprehensive review of the subject of anti-money laundering activity. Given the huge complexity of domestic and global money laundering schemes and networks and the increased complexity of the laws designed to prevent and detect money laundering, it has become more difficult for practitioners, courts, and scholars to manage the scope of its ever-changing features. The useful text is designed to organize and simplify (to the extent possible) the explanation of the laws, regulations, and salient cases. The book also examines the role of the regulatory agencies, U.S. Department of Justice prosecution policies, most common methods of money laundering, and how legitimate financial institutions, in concert with other professionals, facilitate the practically open and notorious operation of money laundering activities. This book covers the following topics in depth: Bank Secrecy Act The USA Patriot Act Money Laundering Crimes and Criminal Penalties Role of Government Agencies and Advisory Organizations Information Sharing Among Financial Institutions and Law Enforcement Global Enforcement Cooperation Measures And more This book is a must-have for federal and state prosecutors looking to build a criminal case, whistleblowers and their attorneys, and criminal defense attorneys. This book is an excellent resource for those involved in cases raising issues regarding the transfer of funds and compliance efforts to meet the growing demands to adhere strictly to the law."

The purpose of this book is to introduce the reader to mechanisms useful for detection and avoidance of money-laundering activities (MLAs) and terrorist financing as well as suggest improvements to existing anti-MLA methods and procedures where appropriate. Money laundering occurs in every country. The significant factor is to diagnose illegal MLAs and apply regulations to mitigate them. To meet this objective, managers of financial institu#65533;tions need to train their employees about anti-money-laundering pro#65533;cesses and how to diagnose and prevent them. Anti-money-laundering activities can also affect financial systems of a country. MLAs can create a big gap between income classes. Money laundering can also decrease bank's and financial institu#65533;tion's credibility. This book will be of special interest to financial managers in the pri#65533;vate and public sector and will also be a useful guide for those involved in international financial transactions.

The UN Security Council's transition to "targeted sanctions" in the 1990s marked a revolutionary shift in the locus of the Council's decision-making from states to individuals. The establishment of the targeted sanctions regime, should be regarded as more than a shift in policy and invitesattention to an emerging tier of international governance. This book examines the need to develop a due process framework having regard to the uniquely political and crisis-based context in which the Security Council operates. Drawing on Anglo-American jurisprudence, this book develops procedural principles for the international institutional context usinga value-based approach as an alternative to the formalistic approach taken in the literature to date. In doing so, it is recognized that due process is more than a set of discrete legal standards, but is a touchstone for the way the international legal order conceives of far larger questions aboutcommunity, law and values.

International sanctions have become the instrument of choice for policymakers dealing with a variety of different challenges to international peace and security. This is the first comprehensive and systematic analysis of all the targeted sanctions regimes imposed by the United Nations since the end of the Cold War. Drawing on the collaboration of more than fifty scholars and policy practitioners from across the globe (the Targeted Sanctions Consortium), the book analyzes two new databases, one qualitative and one quantitative, to assess the different purposes of UN targeted sanctions, the Security Council dynamics behind their design, the relationship of sanctions with other policy instruments, implementation challenges, diverse impacts, unintended consequences, policy effectiveness, and institutional learning within the UN. The book is organized around comparisons across cases, rather than country case studies, and introduces two analytical innovations: case episodes within country sanctions regimes and systematic differentiation among different purposes of sanctions.