Research Guides: Sources for Student Publication Cite Checking: Secondary Sources

Legal Articles (published)

Hein Online coverage varies most from volume 1 (pdfs of originals).
Library catalog, coverage varies, but for most have from volume 1 (Both print collections and validated online collections (like HeinOnline) are cataloged (and linked) at the level of the journal name, so a catalog search by journal title should work as a universal first step).
Journal homepage (for example the Santa Clara Computer and High Technology Law Journal):
- example: “Wikipedia and the European Union Database Directive,” 26 Santa Clara Computer and High Technology Law Journal 631 (2010).

Social Science Research Network [SSRN] coverage varies (pdfs of drafts of articles posted by authors):
- example citation: Jensen, Erik M., Under the Robes: A Judicial Right to Bare Arms (and Legs and …)?. Green Bag, 2d, Vol. 12, p. 221, 2009; Case Legal Studies Research Paper No. 09-7. Available at SSRN: http://ssrn.com/abstract=1353388.
BePress: Digital Commons Network coverage varies (pdfs of drafts of articles posted by authors):
- example citation: Jensen, Erik M., Under the Robes: A Judicial Right to Bare Arms (and Legs and …)?. Jensen, Erik M., "Under the Robes: A Judicial Right to Bare Arms (and Legs and . . .)" (2009). Faculty Publications. Paper 64.

Find and search other disciplines' articles (note you may only use pdf versions).

Library catalog (for those articles you cannot find in pdf. NOTE: search for the journal title not the article title when using the library catalog.).

Library catalog (most books from either print or e-book/online collections should be cataloged at the title level).
OhioLINK catalog (for those books you cannot find in pdf or in one of our libraries).
For legal classics try:
- Making of Modern Law: Legal Treatises 1800-1926
- Legal Classics Library, Hein Online
- Hathi Trust

Cleveland Plain Dealer –
- NewsBank 1970 - Current
- Proquest Historical Newspapers 1845 – (pdf).
New York Times:
- See research guide on accessing the New York Times
Wall Street Journal:
- Proquest Historical Newspapers 1889- (pdf).
- Kelvin Smith microfiche through December 2011
Links from the A-Z Database List: F
- Factiva
Links from the A-Z Database List: N
- NewsBank Newspapers
- Newspaper Source
- NewsVault
See also, the Online Journals, Newspapers, and Current Awareness Materials research guide.