Head of Reference
CWRU Resources
- Race, Law, and Societyresources from a 2020-2021 CWRU Law book discussion seminar course
- Race, Law, and Genderresources from a 2021-2022 CWRU Law book discussion seminar course
- Race, Law, and Society: LBGTQ+ Identityresources for a 2023-2024 CWRU Law book discussion seminar course
- University Center for Innovation and Teaching in EducationEmpowers innovation and excellence in teaching, including grants for innovative teaching projects.
- Gender and Sexuality StudiesOne hundred open-access books on gender and sexuality, courtesy of Big 10 Open Books
Annotated Bibliographies on Diversity and Teaching/Higher Education
- Integrating DEI Concepts into the Law School ClassroomJane Meland (2023); especially good for recent legal articles on the topic
- Resources on Equity and Inclusion: An Annotated BibliographyWilliam and Mary (July, 2022 update); especially good for gender and faculty/student diversity resources
- Equity and Inclusion: Annotated BibliographyLorrie Halverson-Wente (2021-2022); especially good for Minnesota!
- Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion in Academic TechnologyTexas A&M (June, 2021); especially for for technology resources
- Equity, Diversity and Inclusion: Policy for Pedagogical DevelopmentUniversity of Utah (Jan., 2021); especially good for pedagogy and procedure
- DEI Resources for FacultyBoston College Law Library libguide; especially good for additional, selected, course-specific legal articles (similar to the Integrating Doctrine and Diversity book)
Selected Book Chapters and Articles
- Reckoning with Structural Racism in Legal Education: Methods Toward a Pedagogy of Antiracism 29 Cardozo J. Equal Rts. & Soc. Just. 1 (2022) "This Article responds to that struggle, offering a holistic, methodical approach to a pedagogy of antiracism whose goal is twofold: create conditions in which racially minoritized students learn to their full potential, free from the harms of traditional legal education; and equip all students, regardless of identity, to contribute to the dismantlement of structural racism."
- Should DEI Statements Be Included in Faculty Section, Exploring Legal, Diversity, and Validity Issues (2023 article).pdf "Many public and private employers have been using DEI (Diversity, Equity and Inclusion) statements during the selection process as part of their mission of having a diverse workforce. This paper focuses on the use of DEI statements in public and private higher education."
- Progress and Backlash in our Unequal Profession Southwestern University Law Review, Vol. 52, 2022 " In tandem with the aforementioned ordeals, there has also been progress on issues of diversity, equity, and inclusion. A growing body of scholarship now draws attention to inequities and offers solutions; law schools have organized conferences and initiated campus-wide efforts to facilitate greater inclusion. Yet, accompanying this headway has been backlash that pushes against the very values steeped within my book: Critical Race Theory (CRT) and anti-racism, the scientific method, and support for women."
Vulnerable Populations and Transformative Law Teaching by
The essays included in this volume began as presentations at the March 19-20, 2010 "Vulnerable Populations and Economic Realities" teaching conference organized and hosted by Golden Gate University School of Law and co-sponsored by the Society of American Law Teachers (SALT). That conference, generously funded by a grant from The Elfenworks Foundation, brought together law faculty, practitioners, and students to reexamine how issues of race, gender, sexual identity, nationality, disability, and generally--outsider status--are linked to poverty. Contributors have transformed their presentations into essays, offering a variety of roadmaps for incorporating these issues into the law school curriculum, both inside the classroom as well as in clinical and externship settings, study abroad, and social activism. These essays provide glimpses into "teaching moments," both intentional and organic, to help trigger opportunities for students and faculty to question their own perceptions and experiences about who creates and interprets law, and who has access to power and the force of law. This book expands the parameters of law teaching so that this next generation of attorneys will be dedicated to their roles as public citizens, broadening the availability of justice. Contributors include: John Payton; Richard Delgado; Steven W. Bender; Sarah Valentine; Deborah Post and Deborah Zalesne; Gilbert Paul Carrasco; Michael L. Perlin and Deborah Dorfman; Robin R. Runge; Cynthia D. Bond; Florence Wagman Roisman; Doug Simpson; Anne Marie Harkins and Robin Clark; Douglas Colbert; Raquel Aldana and Leticia Saucedo, Marci Seville; Deirdre Bowen, Daniel Bonilla Maldonado, Kathleen Neal Cleaver, Colin Crawford, and James Forman, Jr.; Susan Rutberg; Mary B. Culbert and Sara Campos; MaryBeth Musumeci, Elizabeth Weeks Leonard, and Brutrinia D. Arellano; Libby Adler; and Paulette J. Williams. The editorial board includes Raquel Aldana, Steven Bender, Olympia Duhart, Michele Benedetto Neitz, Angela Onwuachi-Willig, Hari Osofsky, and Hazel Weiser.
Note: Librarian Alyssa Thurston provides annotations to three chapters of this title and related books and articles in chapter 6 of Integrating Doctrine and Diversity (2021), at pp. 255-63)
Call Number: Law Stacks Third Floor KF336 .V85 2011ISBN: 9781594609497Publication Date: 2011-03-01
Selected Books
- Supplemental Materials, Strategies and Techniques for Integrating Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion into the Core Law Curriculumsupplemental materials for the free 2022 ebook
- Cases on Social Issues: For Class Discussion byCall Number: Open Textbook Academy ebookPublication Date: 2023"'Cases on Social Issues: For Class Discussion 2nd Edition,' includes valuable cases for student use on issues of discrimination, diversity, equity, inclusion and general social issues in the workplace..."
Extending Justice by
Extending Justice: Strategies to Increase Inclusion and Reduce Bias offers expert perspective and actionable tools for interrupting bias. The first book in this series, Enhancing Justice: Reducing Bias, was written to increase awareness of implicit bias and serve as a benchbook for judges. This book goes the next step to be useful to a wider audience with virtually every chapter offering thoughtful context and practical strategies for interrupting unintentional bias. Edited by two proven leaders in the field, with twenty-six chapters written by fifty diverse authors, the voices here combine to provide wide-ranging and user-friendly science and tools. Perspective comes from authors who are diverse in gender, gender orientation, race and ethnicity, age, ability, education, and profession. Fields covered are also diverse, including law, health, education, artificial intelligence, nonprofits, education, the military, and disability. Thought-provoking essays and interviews on healthcare, extremism, courage, and the silence and invisibility of the Native American community further enrich the work. The chapters are written to stand alone but build on each other for a strong collective whole. Readers will find the book useful in their own disciplines and beyond. Teachers, students, judges, and professionals in all fields can use this work for inspiration and reference as they apply its strategies and thinking to enhance their accomplishments in achieving diversity, equity, and inclusion, individually and systemically.
Call Number: Overdrive ebookISBN: 9781531024697Publication Date: 2022-10-24
Integrating Doctrine and Diversity by
Drawing upon the experience of faculty from across the country, Integrating Doctrine and Diversity is a collection of essays with practical advice, written by faculty for faculty, on specific ways to integrate diversity, equity and inclusion into the law school curriculum. Chapters focus on subjects traditionally taught in the first-year curriculum (Civil Procedure, Constitutional Law, Contracts, Legal Writing, Legal Research, Property, Torts) and each chapter will also include a short annotated bibliography curated by a law librarian. With submissions from over 40 scholars, the collection is the first of its kind to offer reflections, advice, and specific instruction on how to integrate issues of diversity and inclusions into first-year doctrinal courses.
Call Number: Law Stacks 3rd Floor KF273.I58 2021 (print)ISBN: 9781531017019Publication Date: 2021-04-01
LatCrit: From Critical Legal Theory to Academic Activism by Call Number: JSTOR ebookISBN: 9781479809318Publication Date: 2021
Minding the Marginalized Students Through Inclusion, Justice, and Hope by
While the issue of advancing equity occupies the pages of many education journals across the world and pursuing it in schools and classrooms is a common instructional goal, there is an obvious absence of established school policies combined with pedagogies on how to achieve educational equity. Therefore, equity solution driven by inclusion, justice, and hope is needed to transform the current systemic educational inequities. To ensure and sustain the notion that all children have the opportunities they need to develop, succeed, and meet their potential, it is imperative that we move the discussion about the impact of education from celebrating the academic gain of a few, to the needs of the many marginalized students who are often discounted and dehumanized.
Call Number: Ebsco ebookISBN: 9781839827945Publication Date: 2021-07-26
What Inclusive Instructors Do by
Inclusive instruction is teaching that recognizes and affirms a student's social identity as an important influence on teaching and learning processes, and that works to create an environment in which students are able to learn from the course, their peers, and the teacher while still being their authentic selves. It works to disrupt traditional notions of whosucceeds in the classroom and the systemic inequities inherent in traditional educational practices.--Full-time Academic Professional, Doctorate-granting University, Education This book uniquely offers the distilled wisdom of scores of instructors across ranks, disciplines and institution types, whose contributions are organized into a thematic framework that progressively introduces the reader to the key dispositions, principles and practices for creating the inclusive classroom environments (in person and online) that will help their students succeed. The authors asked the hundreds of instructors whom they surveyed as part of a national study to define what inclusive teaching meant to them and what inclusive teaching approaches they implemented in their courses. The instructors' voices ring loudly as the authors draw on their responses, building on their experiences and expertise to frame the conversation about what inclusive teachers do. The authors in addition describe their own insights and practices, integrating and discussing current literature relevant to inclusive teaching to ensure a research-supported approach. Inclusive teaching is no longer an option but a vital teaching competency as our classrooms fill with racially diverse, first generation, and low income and working class students who need a sense of belonging and recognition to thrive and contribute to the construction of knowledge. The book unfolds as an informal journey that allows the reader to see into other teachers' practices. With questions for reflection embedded throughout the book, the authors provide the reader with an inviting and thoughtful guide to develop their own inclusive teaching practices. By utilizing the concepts and principles in this book readers will be able to take steps to transform their courses into spaces that are equitable and welcoming, and adopt practical strategies to address the various inclusion issues that can arise. The book will also appeal to educational developers and staff who support instructors in their inclusive teaching efforts. It should find a place in reflective workshops, book clubs and learning communities exploring this important topic.
Call Number: ProQuest ebookISBN: 9781642671926Publication Date: 2021-05-25- The Guide to Belonging in Law SchoolCall Number: West Academic Study Aids ebookPublication Date: 2020
Higher Education, Pedagogy and Social Justice: Politics and Practice by Call Number: SpringerLink ebookISBN: 9783030264840Publication Date: 2019
Inclusion, Equity and Access for Individuals with Disabilities: Insights from Educators across World by Call Number: ProQuest ebookISBN: 9789811359620Publication Date: 2019
Unequal Profession: Race and Gender in Legal Academia by Call Number: Ebsco ebookISBN: 9781503607859Publication Date: 2019Also in print: Law Stacks 3rd Floor KF272.D47 2019
Critical Race Theory by
This highly-readable primer on Critical Race Theory (CRT) examines the theory's basic commitments, strengths, and weaknesses. In addition to serving as a primary text for graduate and undergraduate Critical Race Theory seminars or courses on Race and the Law, it can also be assigned in courses on Antidiscrimination Law, Civil Rights, and Law and Society. The book can be used by any reader seeking to understand the relationship between constructions of race and the law. The text consists of four Parts. Part I provides a history of CRT. Part II introduces and explores several core concepts in the theory--including institutional/structural racism, implicit bias, microaggressions, racial privilege, the relationship between race and class, and intersectionality. Part III builds on Part II's discussion of intersectionality by exploring the intersection of race with a variety of other characteristics--including sexuality and gender identity, religion, and ability. Part IV analyzes several contemporary issues to which CRT speaks--including racial disparities in health, affirmative action, the criminal justice system, the welfare state, and education.
Call Number: Law Stacks 3rd Floor KF4755.B75 2019 (print)ISBN: 9781683284437Publication Date: 2018-12-05
Critical Race Theory by
Critical Race Theory has become a dynamic, eclectic, and growing movement in the study of law. With this third edition of Critical Race Theory, editors Richard Delgado and Jean Stefancic have created a reader for the twenty-first century-one that shakes up the legal academy, questions comfortable liberal premises, and leads the search for new ways of thinking about our nation's most intractable, and insoluble, problem-race. The contributions, from a stellar roster of established and emerging scholars, address new topics, such as intersectionality and black men on the "down low." Essays also confront much-discussed issues of discrimination, workplace dynamics, affirmative action, and sexual politics. Also new to this volume are updated section introductions, author notes, questions for discussion, and reading lists for each unit. The volume also covers the spread of the movement to other disciplines such as education. Offering a comprehensive and stimulating snapshot of current race jurisprudence and thought, this new edition of Critical Race Theory is essential for those interested in law, the multiculturalism movement, political science, education, and critical thought.
Call Number: EBC ebookISBN: 9781439910627Publication Date: 2013-06-15- Legal Education and the Reproduction of hierarchy: A Polemic Against the System byCall Number: Law Stacks Third Floor KF279.K45 1983 (print)Publication Date: 1983
Best Practices & Microaggressions
Dismantling Everyday Discrimination: Microaggressions toward LGBTQ People by Call Number: JSTOR ebookISBN: 9781433840166Publication Date: 2023
Microaggression Theory by
Get to know the sociopolitical context behind microaggressions Microaggressions are brief, everyday exchanges that send denigrating messages to certain individuals because of their group membership (e.g., race, gender, culture, religion, social class, sexual orientation, etc.). These daily, common manifestations of aggression leave many people feeling vulnerable, targeted, angry, and afraid. How has this become such a pervasive part of our social and political rhetoric, and what is the psychology behind it? In Microaggression Theory, the original research team that created the microaggressions taxonomy, Gina Torino, David Rivera, Christina Capodilupo, Kevin Nadal, and Derald Wing Sue, address these issues head-on in a fascinating work that explores the newest findings of microaggressions in their sociopolitical context. It delves into how the often invisible nature of this phenomenon prevents perpetrators from realizing and confronting their own complicity in creating psychological dilemmas for marginalized groups, and discusses how prejudice, privilege, safe spaces, and cultural appropriation have become themes in our contentious social and political discourse. Details the psychological effects of microaggressions in separate chapters covering clinical impact, trauma, related stress syndromes, and the effect on perpetrators Examines how microaggressions affect education, employment, health care, and the media Explores how social policies and practices can minimize the occurrence and impact of microaggressions in a range of environments Investigates how microaggressions relate to larger social movements If you come across the topic of microaggressions in your day-to-day life, you can keep the conversation going in a productive manner--with research to back it up!
Call Number: Wiley ebookISBN: 9781119420064Publication Date: 2018-09-25
Microaggressions and Modern Racism: Endurance and Evolution by Call Number: SpringerLink ebookISBN: 9783319703329Publication Date: 2018
Microaggressions and Traumatic Stress: Theory, Research, and Clinical Treatment by Call Number: JSTOR ebookISBN: 9781433828607Publication Date: 2018
What If I Say the Wrong Thing? by
In this compelling tip book, you'll find innovative and surprising ways to keep your personal diversity journey moving and the diversity commitment of your organization. Written to make this information bite-size and accessible, you'll find quick answers to typical "What should I do?" questions, like: "What if I say the wrong thing, what should I do?"; "What if I am at work and someone makes a sexist joke, what should I say?" The book is a perfect handbook for anyone who is looking to develop the habits of culturally effective people. In this handy reference, you'll find answers to questions about all types of diversity issues and tips about how to practice culturally effective habits. And with the variety of suggested follow-ups and actions contained within it, you will better know how to handle your own situations. Many of these situations occur without us being "properly prepared" for them; reading these habits is like doing drills so you'll be ready! Turn to these tips whenever you need them, or if you need an infusion of inspiration. Purchase copies for everyone at your organization to make sure everyone knows the culturally effective way to approach diversity situations. With this book, they can be prepared and practiced at moving diversity forward!
Call Number: Law Stacks Third Floor, OhioLINK KF300 .M944 2013 (print)ISBN: 9781614389712Publication Date: 2014-04-07
Selected Websites and Reports
- Brian Soika, Seven Effective Ways to Promote Equity in the ClassroomUSC Rossier School of Education (March 19, 2020)
- Dr. Robey B. Champine, Faculty Voice: Seven Strategies to Infuse Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion into TeachingMichigan State University (Sept. 21, 2021)
- Rethinking the Course Syllabus48(1) Possibility Studies and Society 69 (2021)
- LSSSE, Diversity and Exclusionfinal report, 9/29/2020