Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

SWUPL and CWRU Law Dual LLM Program Research Guide

This is a guide to the resources available to the students while they are in China for two years and in Cleveland for an additional year while obtaining LLM degrees from both instittuions.

CWRU Law Library Resources

Subject to our license agreements, students have access to collections of electronic books, electronic journals, and over 500 research databases, of which approximately 160 contain legal information. Databases with a particular foreign or international law focus are listed below. Reference librarians are available in person, by Zoom, and possibly WeChat to answer students’ basic reference questions or to conduct research consultations to help students design a research strategy and find relevant research resources.

CWRU is part of the OhioLINK consortium, which includes electronic books from publishers, such as Oxford University Press and Springer. OhioLINK includes an Electronic Journal Center, which offers full-text, multidisciplinary journal articles on a variety of topics, and an Electronic Book Center. The CWRU law library selectively acquires electronic books on international law from Cambridge University Press, Elgaronline, as well as additional ebook platforms, such as Ebsco ebooks, which may include international law content. Students have access to international law study aids via the libraries’ commercial subscriptions. Reference librarians curate topical research guides on various international law topics, as well as the basics of international law research.

Students should have access to Lexis, Westlaw, and BloombergBNA during their year in Cleveland.

CWRU law library databases with a foreign/international law focus include: 

Annotated Leading Cases of International Tribunals

Brill Foreign Law Guide

China Academic Journals

China Doctoral Dissertations and Theses

China Law Info/Law Info China

China Legal Knowledge Database (CLKD, Chinese interface)

HeinOnline (multiple resources)

Kluwer Arbitration (international commercial arbitration resoruces)

Max Planck Encyclopedias of International Law

NexisUni (U.S. federal and state case law, law journals, news)

Oxford Reports on International Law