The 105 databases that are most useful for researching legal topics
- Legal CollectionLegal Collection includes full text for nearly 250 of the world's scholarly law journals, including a mix of law-school based journals, peer-reviewed journals, bar journals, and other genres of legal literature. Provides index, abstracts and selected full text.
- Index to Legal Periodicals and BooksThis is the premier index of legal periodicals, books, and sympoisa, with a primary focus on English language resources. Many articles are available in full-text. Some articles may be available via HeinOnline. (1981-Present)
- HeinOnlineThe HeinOnline platform provides numerous online collections of legal source material, and provides both page-image (as pdf files) copies for retrieval and display of cited works and full-text page images. Use the Comprehensive User's guide to learn about special features such as Scholar Check or retrieving case law from Fastcase by clicking on inline hyperlinks throughout HeinOnline documents. A premiere online database containing more than 200,000 titles, including law reviews and journals, government documents, classic legal treatises, and more.
- Max Planck Encyclopedias of International LawThis resource is technically the online edition of a large multi-volume encyclopedia. However, the scope and quality of this resource are sufficiently unique to set it apart as an extremely valuable online starting point for any research in public international law topics and Oxford University Press treats it as a database. This is published in partnership with Germanys Max Planck Institute for Comparative Public Laws and International Law.
- Academic Search CompleteIndexes thousands of journals from multiple disciplines and also includes full text (pdf) of a substantial subset of those. On the EBSCOhost platform.
- Oxford Reports on International LawSelective reporter of decisions on public international law from international law courts, domestic courts, and ad hoc tribunals, with added commentary and analysis.
- Cambridge CoreAccess a collection of e-books published since 2015 by Cambridge University Press. Choose subject Law after clicking the Browse by Subject Link. It includes full-text of law journals published by Cambridge. Choose Explore Law books link to view Ebooks on legal topics that are available.
Middle Eastern & Central Asian Studies This link opens in a new window
This database provides an index to journal and newspaper articles, books and research on the culture and politcs of the Middle East, Central Asia and North Africa.
Mideastwire.com This link opens in a new window
Provides translations of the Arabic and Persian media including top newspapers and some satellite TV. Coverage of opinions, business news, political and society/cultural pieces. Each brief also contains precisely translated quotes, statistics and context. Includes a searchable database of over 50,000 archived items. Ideally suited for researchers, journalists, students, policy makers and advocates.