Transborder Criminal Enforcement and International Criminal Law

International criminal law and justice is a flourishing field which has led, in recent years, to new international criminal tribunals and new mechanisms for investigation and holding criminals to account. These developments have, in turn, led to an increasing volume and greater consolidation of case law, and even more scholarly attention. The second edition of this volume of Kai Ambos' seminal treatise has been revised and rewritten in parts to provide coverage of recent developments in the 'Special Part' of international criminal law: namely, the specific crimes and sentencing. Amongst other updates, there are significant extensions of the discussion on sexual and gender-based crimes; the introduction of environmental crimes into international criminal law; further elaboration on the nexus requirement in war crimes and asymmetrical conflicts (e.g., ISIS); and reference to the newly introduced war crimes of the ICC Statute and of the peculiarities of cyber-attacks and other emerging activities. The volume complements Volume I of the treatise on issues relevant to the foundations, general part of international criminal law, and general principles of international criminal justice. Taken together with the other new editions of the three-volume series, this second edition provides an exhaustive guide to every aspect of international criminal law, from fundamental principles to procedures and implementation. Kai Ambos' Treatise remains an indispensable reference work for academics and practitioners of international criminal law.

The first comprehensive analysis of domestic and international law defining and prohibiting torture and other forms of ill-treatment, this groundbreaking work reviews the law on torture in countries around the world. It considers how international law governs the use of force by police against suspects held in custody and during protests, and the practice and outlawing of torture both in peacetime and during armed conflict. The analysis also includes the application of universal jurisdiction, which is used in the attempt to prosecute and punish torture committed anywhere in the world. The application and execution of the death penalty are also discussed in detail.

This book draws inspiration from existing practices of the ICC and analyzes some of these achievements and challenges concerning the prosecution of war crimes/enforcement of IHL before the ICC. The common denominator of all contributions is therefore twofold: (i) war crimes, and (ii) the ICC. All contributions identify and unfold issues that present obstacles on the way to the desired aforementioned goal of a successful prosecution of war crimes. Upon assessment of particular issues, the book reveals whether the stance adopted by the ICC either makes reaching this goal easier (achievement), more difficult (challenge), or potentially both. 

This book investigates whether corporate criminal liability should be incorporated within the scope of international criminal law. The work provides unique insight into the evolution of the debate on the international criminal liability of corporations to facilitate future discussion on the possibility of including corporations within the scope of international criminal law. It combines a detailed examination of Nuremberg and Rome with the examination of previously overlooked initiatives such as the Draft Code of Offences against Peace and Security of Mankind and the 1951 and 1953 Committees on International Criminal Jurisdiction. This analysis is also complemented by a review of significant post-1998 international and domestic developments around corporate criminal liability. In addition, it offers suggestions for the development of an amendment to hold corporations accountable under the Statute of the International Criminal Court. This book contributes to the existing literature on the topic of corporate liability which attracts significant attention from scholars in the fields of Law, Business, and Political Science. It will be useful to professionals in the academic and diplomatic fields, researchers, legal advisors, and business leaders. It will also be of interest to anyone who wants to understand the debate on holding businesses accountable under international criminal law.

In this book Barry de Vries addresses the issue of autonomous weapons in international criminal law. The development of autonomous weapon systems is progressing. While the technology advances, attempts to regulate these weapons are not keeping pace. It is therefore likely that these weapons will be developed before a new legal framework is established. Many legal questions still remain and one of the most important ones among them is how individual responsibility will be approached. Barry de Vries therefore considers this issue from a doctrinal international criminal law perspective to determine how the current international criminal law framework will address this topic.

This book examines the importance of international criminal law in promoting and defending human rights as well as its relationship with law and international politics. It highlights criminal cases at the International Criminal Tribunals for the former Yugoslavia and the International Criminal Tribunals for Rwanda, the International Criminal Court, and the International Crimes Tribunal of Bangladesh. The book considers human rights approaches to crimes from a theoretical and practical perspective, analyses various crimes under international law, and examines the application, implementation and enforcement of international criminal law. This book will serve as an important reference for students, teachers, scholars and lawyers specialising in international human rights, international criminal law and international humanitarian law.

National borders are permeable to all types of illicit action and contraband goods, whether it is trafficking humans, body parts, digital information, drugs, weapons, or money. Whilst criminals exist in a borderless world where territorial boundaries allow them to manipulate different markets in illicit goods, the authorities who pursue them can remain constrained inside their own jurisdictions. In a new edition of his ground-breaking work, Boister examines how states must cooperate to tackle some of the greatest security threats in this century so far, analyses to what extent vested interests have determined the course of global policy and law enforcement, and illustrates how responding to transnational crime itself becomes a form of international relations which reorders global political power and becomes, at least in part, an end in itself.Arguing that transnational criminal law is currently geared towards suppressing criminal activity, but is not as committed to ensuring justice, Boister suggests that it might be more strongly influenced by individual moral panics and a desire for criminal retribution than an interest in ensuring a proportional response to offences, protection of human rights, and the preservation of the rule of law.

​This book proposes and outlines a comprehensive framework for judicial protection in transnational criminal proceedings that ensures the right to judicial review without hampering the effective functioning of international cooperation in criminal matters. It examines a broad range of potential approaches in the context of selected national criminal justice systems, and offers a comparative analysis of EU Member States and non-Member States alike. The book particularly focuses on the differences between cooperation within the EU on the one hand and cooperation with third states on the other, and on the consequences of this distinction for the scope of judicial review.

In the past twenty years, international criminal law has become one of the main areas of international legal scholarship and practice. Most textbooks in the field describe the evolution of international criminal tribunals, the elements of the core international crimes, the applicable modes of liability and defences, and the role of states in prosecuting international crimes.The Oxford Handbook of International Criminal Law, by contrast, takes a theoretically informed and refreshingly critical look at the most controversial issues in international criminal law, challenging prevailing practices, orthodoxies, and received wisdoms. Some of the contributions to the Handbook come from scholars within the field, but many come from outside of international criminal law, or indeed from outside law itself. The chapters are grounded in history, philosophy, and international relations. The result is a Handbook that expands the discipline and should fundamentally alter how international criminal law is understood.

Proving International Crimes e lucidates how international criminal tribunals have tackled the immense and complex task of proving international crimes such as genocide, war crimes, and crimes against humanity. The challenges posed by the scale and scope of these crimes and the distance in time and space between their commission and their prosecution are well-known. Nevertheless, investigators, lawyers, scholars, and policy makers often look to the law and practice of international criminal tribunals to establish what standards need to be met in the collection, preservation, presentation, and analysis of evidence to prove international crimes. In offering a comprehensive account of the law and practice of evidence before international criminal courts and tribunals to date, as well as recommendations for future practice, this book aims to inform domestic, regional, and international accountability processes for crimes going forward. This book demonstrates that, owing to the flexibility built in to the legal and procedural frameworks of international criminal courts and tribunals, the law of international criminal evidence is often unpredictable and uncertain. To this end, McDermott argues for the development of a coherent epistemic framework driven by two guiding principles: rectitude of decision and the highest standards of fairness.

This book aims to provide readers with an overview of the rules of evidence within the International Criminal Court (ICC) and offers guidance for both prosecution and defense counsel. It emphasizes the pivotal role of defense counsel in shaping case law, particularly concerning the admissibility of documentary and forensic evidence, in a system still evolving. Drawing from academic research and practical experience, the book provides practical inside-information for defense counsel on evidence.