International Trade Law

The relevance of the WTO legal system for environmental protection is a central topic in general international law, WTO law and international environmental law. The relationship between WTO law and international and domestic efforts to protect the environment has moved to centre stage in WTOand international environmental law. It has also spurred the discussion on fragmentation in international law in recent years.This book analyses these issues by examining the 'horizontal' interaction between WTO law and 'other' international law, the 'vertical' relationship between WTO law and domestic law, and the contents and the interrelations between fundamental provisions of WTO law. This study relies on establishedinsights from legal theory in order to achieve greater clarity in legal argumentation. The main results of this analysis are applied to two topical instances of international regime interplay, namely the relevance of WTO law for international and domestic measures protecting the earth's climate andthe ozone layer.A series of controversial topics in WTO and general international law are addressed in this book, including the notion of conflicts of norms, and the resolution of conflicts of norms; the role of international law in WTO proceedings; extraterritorial jurisdiction and unilateral trade measures;proportionality and balancing of interests in international and WTO law; the core disciplines of the GATT and the TBT Agreement; process and production-based measures (PPMs) in WTO law; climate protection, protection of the ozone layer, and WTO disciplines

A world model: economies, trade, migration, security and development aid. This bookprovides the analytical capability to understand and explore the dynamics of globalisation. It is anchored in economic input-output models of over 200 countries and their relationships through trade, migration, security and development aid. The tools of complexity science are brought to bear and mathematical and computer models are developed both for the elements and for an integrated whole. Models are developed at a variety of scales ranging from the global and international trade through a European model of inter-sub-regional migration to piracy in the Gulf and the London riots of 2011. The models embrace the changing technology of international shipping, the impacts of migration on economic development along with changing patterns of military expenditure and development aid. A unique contribution is the level of spatial disaggregation which presents each of 200+ countries and their mutual interdependencies - along with some finer scale analyses of cities and regions.  This is the first global model which offers this depth of detail with fully work-out models, these provide tools for policy making at national, European and global scales. Global dynamics: Presents in depth models of global dynamics. Provides a world economic model of 200+ countries and their interactions through trade, migration, security and development aid. Provides pointers to the deployment of analytical capability through modelling in policy development. Features a variety of models that constitute a formidable toolkit for analysis and policy development. Offers a demonstration of the practicalities of complexity science concepts. This book is for practitioners and policy analysts as well as those interested in mathematical model building and complexity science as well as advanced undergraduate and postgraduate level students.

NOTE: You are purchasing a standalone product; MyManagementLab does not come packaged with this content. If you would like to purchase both the physical text and MyManagementLab search for ISBN-10: 0133973026 /ISBN-13:  9780133866247. That package includes ISBN-10:  0133866246/ISBN-13:  9780133866247 and ISBN-10:  013386703X/ISBN-13:  9780133867039.   For courses in International Business Cultural Understanding in International Business International Business: The Challenges of Globalization is a comprehensive introduction to the difficulties of global entrepreneurship. By employing engaging features and real world examples through a concise and focused text, the Eighth Edition presents a fresh take on the subject that is both interesting and invaluable to readers.   The material has been thoroughly updated based on both reader and instructor feedback and ongoing changes in the international business world to ensure that it remains up-to-date and well received by audiences. Focusing on relating major concepts to concrete examples, this hands-on text is highly relevant to a future career as a global entrepreneur.   International Business addresses the issue of cultural barriers that arise in global business, as well as the theory and terminology essential to the process of conducting successful business abroad. Its brief yet inclusive coverage of all major international business topics make it the ideal introductory text for readers exploring this subject.  

International development is a dynamic, vibrant and complex field - both in terms of practices and in relation to framing and concepts. This collection draws together leading experts from a range of disciplines, including development economics, geography, sociology, political science and international relations, to explore persistent problems and emergent trends in international development. Building from an introduction to key development theories, this Handbook proceeds to examine key development questions relating to the changing donor and aid landscape, the changing role of citizens and the state in development, the role of new finance flows and privatization in development, the challenges and opportunities of migration and mobility, emerging issues of insecurity and concerns with people trafficking, the drugs trade and gang violence, the role of rights and activism in promoting democracy and development, the threats posed by and responses to global environmental change, and the role of technology and innovation in promoting development.  

Leading trade esperts examine the world trading system today, from the multilateralism of the WTO to explosive bilateralism and the mega-regionals TPP and TTIP. When the General Agreement on Tariffs and Trade (GATT) metamorphosed into the World Trade Organization (WTO) in 1994, it seemed that the third pillar of the international economic superstructure was finally in place. And yet with the failure of member countries to close the Doha Round of trade negotiations and the emergence of bilateral and plurilateral preferential trade arrangements (PTAs) such as the Trans-Pacific Partnership (TPP), the future of the multilateral WTO seems uncertain. In this volume, leading economists examine issues in trade policy that have arisen during this shift. The contributors discuss such topics as the effect of trade on poverty and inequality, PTAs and litigation between trading partners, the WTO Trade Facilitation Agreement, and the relationship of food security and trade liberalization. They also offer regional perspectives on the TPP and trans-Atlantic free trade. Contributors Rahel Aichele, Jagdish Bhagwati, Steve Charnovitz, Gabriel Felbermayr Dimitar Gueorguiev, Bernard Hoekman, Jonas Kasteng, Pravin Krishna, Mary Lovely, Petros Mavroidis, Devashish Mitra, Arvind Panagariya, Tom Prusa, Andre Sapir, Stefan Tangermann

This book investigates how human rights law can be applied to corporate entities. To date there have been insufficient international legal mechanisms to bring corporations to justice for their misconduct abroad. The book argues that rather than trying to solve the problem locally, an international approach to corporate human rights compliance needs to be sought to prevent future corporate human rights abuses. Implementing effective and enforceable human rights compliance policies at corporate level allows businesses to prevent negative human rights impacts such as loss of revenue, high litigation costs and damage to reputation. By considering human rights to be an inherent part of their business strategy, corporations will be well equipped to meet national and regional business and human rights standards, which will inevitably be implemented in the next few years. This approach, in turn, also furthers the fundamental aim of international human rights law.

This book seeks to answer the questions: how do the rules of international treaties on trade and investment apply to the new laws and policies relating to energy-related trade, and do the rules of the multilateral system contribute to or detract from sustainable development?  An emerging set of new problems in the law of international trade is how to reconcile the rules of the multilateral trading system with shortages of certain natural resources and the necessity to develop renewable energy resources.  The chapters in this book provide a comprehensive analysis of the international trade issues presented by national trade laws and policies with regard to natural resources and energy. This book is about the extent to which we are interpreting existing rules to cover emerging problems and how the rules of the multilateral trading system can be adapted to achieve sustainable development in natural resources and energy. The book begins with a survey of selected national laws relating to recent restrictions on the export of natural resources, both resources used to produce energy as well as natural resources essential for industrial production. After examining the range of such laws in selected important countries, we turn to the application of the rules of the multilateral trading system to such export restrictions. We discuss the major rules of the World Trade Organization (WTO) as well as the natural resources rules in selected regional preferential free trade agreements. While there is not a comprehensive global legal regime on competition law, we believe it is also important to examine how selected national competition laws impact export restrictions on natural resources. This book will be a major contribution to the international dialogue on international economic law issues with respect to trade in natural resources and energy.

Volume 7 of the EYIEL focusses on criticalperspectives of international economic law. Recent protests against free tradeagreements such as the Transatlantic Trade and Investment Partnership (TTIP)remind us that international economic law has always been a politically andlegally contested field. This volume collects critical contributions on trade,investment, financial and other subfields of international economic law fromscholars who have shaped this debate for many years. The critical contributionsto this volume are challenged and sometimes rejected by commentators who havebeen invited to be "critical with the critics". The result is a uniquecollection of critical essays accompanied by alternative and competing views onsome of the most fundamental topics of international economic law. In its section on regional developments, EYIEL 7addresses recent megaregional and plurilateral trade and investment agreementsand negotiations. Short insights on various aspects of the TranspacificPartnership (TPP) and its sister TTIP are complemented with comments on otherdevelopments, including the African Tripartite FTA und the negotiations on aplurilateral Trade in Services Agreement (TiSA). Further sections addressrecent WTO and investment case law as well as recent developments concerningthe IMF, UNCTAD and the WCO. The volume closes with reviews of recent books ininternational economic law.

via JSTOR

Tracing the treatment of language in international business as represented in the Journal of International Business Studies, this seminal collection critically explores the conceptualizations of language that have been adopted or ignored by international business scholars over the years and showcases nine articles that have played an important role in establishing and advancing the field. In today's increasingly globalized context of business, significantly richer theories from interdisciplinary perspectives are needed to explain the complexity of the interplay between multiple facets of language and how they affect day-to-day operations. With insights from linguistics, psychology and organizational theory, Language in International Business provides an assessment of scholarly efforts to uncover the profound impact that language has on global business today and proposes some important ways in which this nascent field of language in international business may be further advanced. Chapter 9 is licensed under a Creative Commons Attributtion NonCommercial-NoDerivs 3.0 Unported License. The Journal of International Business Studies (JIBS) is an official publication of the Academy of International Business and is the top-ranked journal in the field of international business. The goal of JIBS is to publish insightful, innovative and impactful research on international business. JIBS is multidisciplinary in scope and interdisciplinary in content and methodology. For more information, visit www.jibs.net. The Academy of International Business (AIB) is the leading association of scholars and specialists in the field of international business. A global community of scholars and researchers for the creation and dissemination of knowledge about international business and policy issues, the AIB transcends the boundaries of single academic disciplines and managerial functions to enhance business education and practice. For more information, visit aib.msu.edu 

This book revisits the economic relationship that ties the UK andIreland to the United States in the aftermath of the greatest economic crisisof the past fifty years. Whenconsidering recent developments to these economic links, it appears thatoppositional forces are at work. On one hand, globalization and the rise of neweconomic powers may undermine the ties. Besides, Ireland's and the UK's EuropeanUnion membership could also loosen their economic ties with the US. Conversely,the future Transatlantic Trade and Investment Partnership agreement may wellstrengthen trade and investment links between the US and Europe. Are the economic bonds between the US, the UK and Ireland waning, assome pundits purport? Or are those claims overstated? Could their economicrelationship simply be going through a process of change? Although there maynot be a single and straightforward answer to these questions, the authors seekto address these issues and provide insight into the changing dynamics of thishistoric economic relationship.

The book aims at providing an overview of the main economic issues related to tourism activities. While tourism is an important sector, contributing to more than 10% of the European Union's GDP, research and teaching at the university level has only recently grown to a considerable level, and the field still lacks a firm research methodology. This book approaches tourism economics as an applied field of study in which tourism markets are represented as imperfect markets, with asymmetric and incomplete information among agents, bounded rationality, and with a strong presence of externalities and public goods. The economic issues studied in the book are approached both intuitively, largely using examples and case studies, and formally, with mathematical formalizations in text boxes.