Islamic Law

Many of the principles prevalent in modern Islamic contract law and commercial practice remain the same as those outlined by the Qur'an and the Prophet Muhammad, and expounded by scholars of jurisprudence as far back as the 13th century, despite the advancement in time and sophistication of commercial interaction. Hanaan Balala here provides an analysis of the fundamental principles underlying Islamic law and commerce in comparison with their common law equivalents in the English-speaking world. The book is available via the OhioLINK to borrow.

This work describes the field of Islamic banking and finance as practised in the modern era. This unique form of commerce has grown dramatically over the past twenty years, and is coincident with expanding wealth in the Middle East and parts of Asia, and with a turning away from secular Western practices in those areas. It examines the cultural background of this development and its legal and religious underpinnings. These prohibit Muslims from transactions that involve interest (riba) and speculation (gharar), among others, rendering many Western forms of finance and investing unacceptable. The book is available via the law school library collection to borrow.

slamic finance is growing at an astonishing rate and is now a $1200 billion industry, with operations in over 100 countries. This book explains the paradox of a system rooted in the medieval era thriving in the global economy.Coverage is exhaustively comprehensive, defining Islamic finance in its broadest sense to include banks, mutual funds, securities firms and insurance (or takaful) companies. The author places Islamic finance in the context of the global political and economic system and covers a wide variety of issues such as the underlying principles of Islamic finance, the range of Islamic financial products, and country differences. The book is located in the KSL stacks 3rd floor.

Since the discovery of oil in the Middle East an increasing number of important contracts must be framed in accordance with the Shari'a. Moreover various factors have helped to create among Muslims a more acute sense of an original Islamic identity & a collective feeling that Shari's should govern their lives not only with regard to personal & family matters but also as a valid & reasonable corpus of commercial & civil laws. The book is available via the law school library collection to borrow.

The body of Islamic law, or Shari'a, is central to the understanding of Islamic society and the current conflict between fundamentalism and modernism in the Islamic world. While acknowledging the regional differences in the local characteristics of the Shari'a, this work provides a straightforwaard introduction to procedure and punishment, discussing the major concepts, principles, and practices. The establishment of the Shari'a signified a progressive step in the development of legal practice as it modified the Islamic customs of retaliation and blood revenge. The book is available via the OhioLINK to borrow.

Rudolph Peters' book, first published in 2006, is about crimes and their punishments as laid down in Islamic law. In recent years some of the more fundamentalist regimes, such as those of Iran, Pakistan, Sudan and the northern states of Nigeria have reintroduced Islamic law in place of western criminal codes. Peters gives a detailed account of the classical doctrine and traces the enforcement of criminal law from the Ottoman period to the present day. The book is available via the OhioLINK to borrow.

This innovative and important book applies classical Sunni Muslim legal and religious doctrine to contemporary issues surrounding armed conflict. In doing so it shows that the shari'a and Islamic law are not only compatible with contemporary international human rights law and international humanitarian law norms, but are appropriate for use in Muslim societies. The book is located in the KSL stacks 3rd floor.

Whilst other works exist which examine the Islamic law of personal status, this is the first to set out in a single volume the laws relating to marriage and divorce in the Arab states, both codified and uncodified, in a manner which will enable the reader to look up the provisions of the law in specific areas and, where required, to compare the positions of the laws of different countries. The book is available via the OhioLINK to borrow.

hen the Islamic Institute of Civil Justice announced it would begin offering Sharia-based services in Ontario, a subsequent provincial government review gave qualified support for religious arbitration. However, the ensuing debate inflamed the passions of a wide range of Muslim and non-Muslim groups, garnered worldwide attention, and led to a ban on religiously based family law arbitration in the province. The book is located in the KSL stacks 3rd floor.

This new edition of the authoritative English-language treatment of Islamic personal status law gives practitioners and courts throughout the world direct access to this important body of law in its most up-to-date development. All Middle Eastern and North African Arab states are covered; new to this edition is coverage of recent provisions enacted in Kuwait, Yemen, and Sudan. he book is available via the OhioLINK to borrow.

The meanings and contexts of Shari'a are the subject of both curiosity and misunderstanding by non-Muslims. Shari'a is sometimes crudely characterized by outsiders as a punitive legal system operating broadly outside, and separate from, national laws and customs. This groundbreaking book shows that Shari'a and its 'fiqh' (laws set forward by various Islamic legal schools) comprise a far more nuanced matrix of interpretations than is often assumed to be the case.The book is available via the law school library collection to borrow.

The role of global capital in relation to human social systems has assumed enormous proportions in liberalised, deregulated markets. States attempt to nationalise it, financial centres spring up in its wake, and INGOs attempt to deal with its de-territorialising, supranational characteristics. A global adjudication system (arbitration) has been introduced to safeguard and buttress its flow. The book is available via the OhioLINK to borrow.