Finding Articles
Legal articles are available from a variety of sources: Lexis, Westlaw, HeinOnline, Google Scholar, Bepress Scholarly Commons, and the various legal indexes. For more precise searching, consult the the major legal indexes below: Legal Resource Index, Index to Legal Periodicals and Ebscohost Legal Collection. One can search the latter two databases simultaneously via the "combine database" search feature on OhioLINK's research databases.
CWRU provides access to approximately 300 research databases on various topics. Please check the Database tab above for databases that are particularly relevant to research traditional knowledge in a legal and intellectual property setting.
Legal Research Databases: General
- Legal CollectionThis is a collection of about 250 law journals, including a mix of law-school based journals, peer-reviewed journals, bar journals, and other genres of legal literature.
- Index to Legal Periodicals and Books (ILP) (1981-present)Indexes over 2400 law review & journal titles (English-language law reviews, Bar Association publications and books).
Include links to full-text articles when available.
Try Subject searches and Browse or Advanced Search.
Try starting with a known article to identify appropriate subjects assigned to your topic.
- Electronic Journal Center (OhioLINK)A rich collection of over 7,000 full-text, mutidisciplinary electronic journals purchased or leased through OhioLINK. Coverage varies by specific journal title. Current and recent articles are available. Scholars may set-up e-mail notifications to tell them about new relevant articles according to subject, author, or journal title.
CWRU Research Databases: Complete
- CWRU Research Databases Current CWRU faculty, students, and staff may access approximately 300 topical research databases.
Selected Articles on Traditional Knowledge and Intellectual Property
- 36 U. Pa. J. Int’l L. 1077 (2015)Gregory Younging, Traditional Knowledge Exists; Intellectual Property Is Invented or Created.
- Christian Rippel, Traditional Knowledge (MPEPIL, April, 2014)access for CWRU Law patrons
- 22(2) J.L. Inf. & Sci. 56 (2013)Gary D. Meyers and Olasupo A. Owoeye. Intellectual Property Law and the Protection of Indigenous Australian Traditional Knowledge in Natural Resources
- 29 Law in Context 74 (2013)Christoph Antons. At the Crossroads: The Relationship Between Heritage and Intellectual Property in Traditional Knowledge Protection in Southeast Asia.
- 14 Int'l Community L. Rev. 137 (2012)Teshager Dagne. The Protection of Traditional Knowledge in the Knowledge Economy: Cross-Cutting Challenges in International Intellectual Property Law
- 27 Cardozo Arts & Ent. L.J. 37 (2009)Stephen R. Munzer and Kal Raustiala. The Uneasy Case for Intellectual Property Rights in Traditional Knowledge (cited 800 times, per HOL)
- 17 Wm. & Mary Bill Rts. J. 831 (2009)Steven R. Munzer and Phyliss Chen Simon. Terrritory, Plants, and Land-Use Rights Among the San of Southern Africa: A Case Study in Regional Biodiversity, Traditional Knowledge, and Intellectual Property (cited 438 times)
- 3 Intercultural Hum. Rts. L. Rev. 215 (2008)Hann Wager, Biodiversity, Traditional Knowledge and Folklore: Work on Related IP Matters in the WTO
- 12 Deakin L. Rev. 105 (2007)Kanchana Kariyawasam and Scott Guy. Intellectual Property Protection of Indigenous Knowledge: Implementing Initiatives at National and Regional Levels (cited 6 times)
- 17 Ind. Int’l & Comp. L. Rev. 67 (2007)Paul Kuruk. The Role of Customary Law under Sui Generis Frameworks of Intellectual Property Rights in Traditional and Indigenous Knowledge (cited 106 times, per HOL)
- 10 Marq. Intell. Prop. L. Rev. 155 (2006)Olufunmilayo B, Arewa. TRIPS and Traditional Knowledge: Local Communities, Local Knowledge, and Global Intellectual Property Frameworks (cited 252 times)
- 17 Fla. J. Int'l L. 115 (2005)Rosemary J. Coombe. Protecting Traditional Environmental Knowledge and New Social Movements in the Americas... (cited 581 times)
- 12 Int’l J. on Minority & Group Rts. 1 (2005)Mpazi Sinjela and Robin Ramcharan. Protecting Traditional Knowledge and Traditional Medicines of Indigenous Peoples through Intellectual Property Rights: Issues, Challenges, and Strategies
- 15 Fordham Intell. Prop. Media & Ent. L.J. 1 (2004)Nancy Kremers, Speaking with a Forked Tongue in the Global Debate on Traditional Knowledge and Genetic Resources...
- 11 Cardozo J. Int'l & Comp. L. 769 (2003)Weerawit Weeraworawit. Formulating an International Legal Protection for Genetic Resources, Traditional Knowledge and Folklore: Challenges for the Intellectual Property System.
- 7 Int’l Intell. Prop. L. & Pol’y 76-1 (2002)Daniel J. Gervais. Traditional Knowledge: A Challenge to the International Intellectual Property System (cited 208 times)
- 14 S. Afr. Mercantile L.J. 656 (2002)Conrad Visser. Some Thoughts on Making Intellectual Property Work for Traditional Knowledge. (cited 54 times)
- Hastings Int'l & Comp. L. Rev. 777 (1999)Meetali Jain. Global Trade and the New Millennium: Defining the Scope of Intellectual Property Protection of Plant Genetic Resources and Traditional Knowledge in India (cited 22 times)