Ask a Librarian
[U]Tech Help
216.368.HELP
Live Chat
Request Help
Visit the C.A.R.E. Center
Key to Icons
- Bloomberg
- Lexis
- Westlaw
- Individual password required
- CWRU login needed
- CWRU Law access only
- VPN required for off-campus access
If a title is available both electronically and in print, click the icon to access the electronic version.
Alumni Library Card
Alumni may use the library during regular library hours. Check below for current hours.
Alumni who have applied for a library card can use an active CWRU username and password to access select research databases.
Library Hours
Access to Databases
The Law Alumni Library provides access to select research databases, including:
- Business Source Alumni EditionDesigned for the business research needs of post-college professionals, Business Source Alumni Edition provides current information from essential business magazines and journals.
- EBSCO eBook CollectionThis is an e-book library on many academic subjects. The collection includes thousands of titles purchased by OhioLINK, plus thousands of public-domain e-books. EBSCO operates on the library check-out model, where readers check out e-books for a specified amount of time. Many titles published before 2005.
- HeinOnline (Alumni Access)For registered CWRU law and CWRU alumni (alumni application required for user name and password).
Law Journal Library & American Bar Association Law Library Periodicals contains more than 1,800 law and law-related journals, including over 100 ABA-related periodicals, all in searchable PDF format.
- In BriefThe Case Western Reserve University Law Alumni Bulletin provides a treasure trove of information about the law school since 1970. Scanning the contents from 1965-1990 provides photographs and information about various law faculty members and noted alumni, including Judge Ben C. Green, after whom the Law Library is named; Charles R. Richey, who has a reading room named after him in honor of his donation of his papers to the Law Library; and civil rights icons (and CWRU Law alumni) Fred Gray and C.B. King.
- JSTOR (CWRU Alumni Access)
Provides electronic, full text access to the back files to hundreds of scholarly periodicals in a variety of disciplines in humanities, arts and sciences, social sciences, and business. Coverage begins with the first issue of the journal. The latest issue available is determined by a moving wall. The moving wall represents the time period between the last issue available in JSTOR and the most recently published issue of a journal. It is specified by publishers in their license agreements with JSTOR, and generally ranges from three to five years.
- Scholarly CommonsScholarly Commons has selected law faculty publication, all the student-edited journals (Law Review, Journal of International Law, Health Matrix, JOLTI, and Canada-United States Law Journals), and other free content.
For a full list of databases available to alumni, click here.
Recent Graduates
While you cannot use these databases in situations where you are billing a client, The Judge Ben C. Green Law Library encourages you to use them to build your knowledge of the law and prepare for your bar exam.
- Westlaw Precision
Access Thomson Reuters products, including Westlaw and Practical Law, for six-months after graduation. Your “Grad Elite” access gives you 60-hours of usage per month to gain understanding and build confidence in your research skills. Opt-in to Grad Elite
