Course Info
This course surveys a range of issues in public health law including contagious diseases, health surveillance and privacy, tobacco, controlled substances, obesity, firearms, emergency preparedness and bioterrorism. It is designed to introduce students studying law or public health to the basic constitutional principles involved in public health law; the scope of local, state and federal authority to regulate; and the variety of ethical issues that arise.
Instructor
Prof. Katharine Van Tassel is the Interim Executive Director, Graduate Programs in Compliance and Risk Management and Visiting Professor of Law at Case Western Reserve School of Law. Her subject specialties are Health Law; Healthcare Finance; Food, Drug & Biotech Law; Public Health Law; Eldercare Law; and Governance, Compliance & Risk Management.
Syllabus
The syllabus for your course is available on Canvas.
Textbook
Public Health Law by Call Number: KF3775.P83ISBN: 9781531013530Publication Date: 2019-08-16Available via LexisNexis Digital Library.
Study Aids
CALI
Computer-Aided Legal Instruction (CALI) requires an authorization code to use. If you do not have a CALI account, please contact Kieran Layton or the reference desk for assistance.
Quimbee
If you have not registered your Quimbee account, please contact Kieran Layton or the reference desk for assistance.
Research
- MEDLINE with Full Text (EBSCO)Includes all of the content available in MEDLINE as well as cover-to-cover full text for 1,014 journals indexed as cover-to-cover in MEDLINE, including hundreds of journals not available as full text in any other EBSCO database.
- MEDLINEProvides free access to MEDLINE, the NLM database of more than 11 million bibliographic citations and abstracts in the fields of medicine, nursing, dentistry, veterinary medicine, health care systems, and preclinical sciences.
- Legal CollectionLegal Collection includes full text for nearly 250 of the world's scholarly law journals, including a mix of law-school based journals, peer-reviewed journals, bar journals, and other genres of legal literature. Provides index, abstracts and selected full text.
- Index to Legal Periodicals and BooksThis is the premier index of legal periodicals, books, and sympoisa, with a primary focus on English language resources. Many articles are available in full-text. Some articles may be available via HeinOnline. (1981-Present)
- Academic Search CompleteIndexes thousands of journals from multiple disciplines and also includes full text (pdf) of a substantial subset of those. On the EBSCOhost platform.
