Books
A. Tools for Locating Hard Copy Monographs, Treatises, Loose-leafs, etc. (i.e., library catalogs!):
1. Case catalog - CWRU campus-wide library catalog. Use "Advance Search" or "Simple Search" and then "Modify Search." Can limit results to just the law library's holdings, but the Kelvin Smith Library also has many relevant books on reproductive rights.
2. OhioLINK catalog - Union catalog of all university and college libraries in Ohio. You can directly request any "available" book which is not already available at a CWRU campus library.
3. WorldCat - Union catalog of many, if not most, research libraries in the United States. Request materials via Interlibrary Loan (ILL).
5. Cuyahoga County Public Library
6. Bibliographies - Search for "reproductive rights bibliography" using Google.
B. Library of Congress Subject Heading Searches:
5. Conception
7. Abortion
8. Abortion Law and Legislation United States
11. Women’s Rights
13. Human Reproductive Technology
14. Pro-life and Pro-choice Movement
C. Search by LC Call Number:
|
Call Number |
Subject Area |
|
Parent and Child Law |
|
|
Abortion, Reproductive Rights |
|
|
Human Rights |
|
|
Human Reproductive Technology—Law and Legislation |
|
|
Women and the Law |
|
|
Sexual Harassment/Discrimination in the Workplace |
|
|
Abortion—Law and Legislation |
|
|
Constitutional Law |
|
|
Abortion Law and Legislation |
|
|
Family Planning/Birth Control (mainly at Kelvin Smith Library) |
|
|
Abortion/Childhood (mainly at Kelvin Smith Library) |
|
|
Reproductive Technologies |
5. Google Books
Databases
If working from home, you will need to use a VPN connection or Single Sign-On. You can download the Case VPN client from UTECH.
A. The Law Library's A-Z Database Finder
B. Kelvin Smith Library's A-Z Database Finder
Online Resources
- Index to Legal Periodicals and BooksThis is the premier index of legal periodicals, books, and sympoisa, with a primary focus on English language resources. Many articles are available in full-text. Some articles may be available via HeinOnline. (1981-Present)
- Legal CollectionLegal Collection includes full text for nearly 250 of the world's scholarly law journals, including a mix of law-school based journals, peer-reviewed journals, bar journals, and other genres of legal literature. Provides index, abstracts and selected full text.
Locating Full-Text of Law Review Articles
Online Resources
HeinOnline (Electronic Journals)
- Full-text collection of back issues of legal journals.
- Multiple searching capabilities, including access by official citation.
- Exact page images.
- Coverage varies by publication. Coverage pre-dates Westlaw and Lexis.
- An alphabetical listing with links to all electronic journals accessible to Case students and faculty.
- Specific journals can be browsed or searched by keyword or specific citation.
Print Resources
Use Case Catalog to locate law review record. Then use the call number to locate the law review on the Ground Floor of the Law Library. Where available, follow the link in the EuclidPlus record to connect to an electronic copy via HeinOnline, Ebsco, JSTOR, etc.
- If not available at CWRU law library, try an electronic source (e.g., Case/OhioLink Electronic Journal List, Westlaw, Lexis, JSTOR, etc.), put in an Interlibrary Loan Request, or see a reference librarian.
Federal Statutes and Regulations
- U.S. Code (print, law library third floor, Range 47)
- U.S. Code Annotated (Westlaw)U.S.C.A. also is available in print, 1st floor, Range 62
- U.S. Code Service (Lexis)U.S.C.S. also is available in print, law library third floor, Range 47.
- Congressional Record – GPO, HeinOnline, Westlaw, Lexis, Law Library Ground Floor, Range 103
- Congressional Hearings - ProQuest Congressional Hearings Digital Collection
- Sources for Legislative Histories – ProQuest Legislative Insight, Westlaw
- Code of Federal Regulations (CFR) – GPO, HeinOnline, Westlaw, Lexis, Current: Law Library 1st Floor, Range 62, Previous editions: Ground Floor, Range 105
- Federal Register - GPO, HeinOnline, Westlaw, Lexis, Law Library Ground Floor, Range 104
- Regulatory Histories – ProQuest Regulatory Insight
Ohio Statutes
- Baldwin's Ohio Revised Code Annotated (Westlaw)Print edition: Law Library 1st Floor, Range 64
- Page's Ohio Revised Code Annotated (Lexis)Print Edition: Law Library 1st Floor, Range 63
Locating Case Law
- Westlaw Precision
Westlaw is a comprehensive legal research service providing legal and law-related documents. It provides primary and secondary legal resources. Westlaw passwords are distributed at orientation, & afterwards at the Reference Desk. Law School faculty, students, and staff receive individual accounts to Westlaw. - Lexis+
Law School faculty and students are provided individual accounts to Lexis and we are contractually unable to provide broader access. Non-law affiliates should use Nexis Uni, which does provide an interface to many of the Lexis products and tools of most value to academic researchers. Lexis provides extensive primary legal materials, secondary resources, selected general news resources and selected legal news services. - Bloomberg Law (B-LAW)
Bloomberg Law is a CALR platform that integrates cases, statutes, regulations, sample transactional documents, and a citator service with Bloombergs corporate news and analysis of financial markets. Known for U.S. Law Week. Also includes selected Wiley treatises and other selected publishers' treatises. Selected Federal filings from PACER are available. Users can set-up personal e-mail alerts. Getting Started resources appear on the main screen - ProQuest Supreme Court InsightSupreme Court Insight, 1975-2016/2017, is a complete online collection of full opinions from Supreme Court argued cases, including per decision: dockets, oral arguments, joint appendices and amicus briefs.
Electronic Resources for Finding Reproductive Rights and Health Care Law Scholarly Articles, Papers, Dissertations, Briefs, etc.
- Academic Search CompleteIndexes thousands of journals from multiple disciplines and also includes full text (pdf) of a substantial subset of those. On the EBSCOhost platform.
- JSTOR Complete ArchiveProvides electronic, full text access to the backfiles of approximately 670 scholarly periodicals in a variety of disciplines including law, social sciences, humanities, arts and the sciences.
- Dissertations and Theses A&I (ProQuest)The "world's most comprehensive collection of dissertations and theses from around the world, spanning from 1861 to the present day." Indexing and abstracts provided for all items.
- MEDLINE with Full Text (EBSCO)Includes all of the content available in MEDLINE as well as cover-to-cover full text for 1,014 journals indexed as cover-to-cover in MEDLINE, including hundreds of journals not available as full text in any other EBSCO database.
- Women's Issues and IdentitiesWomen's Issues and Identities provides the opportunity to witness history from the female perspective. The database provides fascinating historical records, including a wide range of primary sources in four languages from the nineteenth and twentieth centuries, featuring a wide geographical range from Europe, North and South America, Africa, India, East Asia, and the Pacific Rim.
- ACLU Papers, 1912-1990Faculty and students who research twentieth-century American social history, politics, and law will find this archive of special interest because of its focus on civil rights, civil liberties, race, gender, and issues relating to the Supreme Court.
- HeinOnline's Women and the LawContains Congressional Hearings, Congressional Research Service Reports, Briefs of major cases, etc.
- Women’s Studies Manuscript Collections from the Schlesinger Library: Voting Rights, National Politics, and Reproductive RightsThese collections from the Schlesinger Library at Radcliffe College consist of three distinct series of collections from the Schlesinger Library: voting rights, national politics, and reproductive rights.
- Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000 (scholar's edition)This extensive collection of primary historic documents, books, images, scholarly essays, teaching tools, and book and Web site reviews documents the history of women's activism in public life, and is one of the most heavily visited resources for women's studies and for U.S. history on the Web. Organized around document projects written by leading scholars, the collection is a powerful research and classroom tool designed to help users develop the skills needed to analyze primary documents and conduct research. Document projects are organized around interpretive questions, each with 20-50 primary documents that address the question.
- Women’s Studies InternationalCovers the core disciplines in Women's Studies to the latest scholarship in feminist research. Nearly 800 essential sources include: journals, newspapers, newsletters, bulletins, books, book chapters, proceedings, reports, theses, dissertations, NGO studies, Web sites and Web documents, and grey literature. Coverage from 1972 to present.
- Health Source: Nursing/Academic EditionFull text from 590 scholarly journals, and abstracts from other 625 journals, covering many medical disciplines. Coverage from 1975.
- ATLA Serials, Religion CollectionOffers full text for over 211,000 electronic articles and book reviews, from more than 100 journals selected by leading religion scholars in the United States. This database is produced by the American Theological Library Association. Coverage from 1949.
- Religion and Philosophy CollectionIndex, abstracts, and full text covering such topics as world religions, major denominations, biblical studies, religious history, epistemology, political philosophy, philosophy of language, moral philosophy and the history of philosophy.
- OhioLINK Electronic Journal CenterThe OhioLINK Electronic Journal Center (EJC) is a full text searchable database of electronic journal articles from more than 11,000 academic journals from top scholarly publishers, academic societies and university presses. The EJC covers a wide range of disciplines and contains just published scientific research as well as historical journal articles. New articles are added daily.
- bepress Legal RepositoryThe Bepress Legal Repository offers working papers and pre-prints from scholars and professionals at some of the best law schools in the world.
Additionally, the bepress Legal Repository includes articles from bepress' roster of peer-
reviewed journals - SSRNSSRN is devoted to the rapid worldwide dissemination of social science research and is composed of a number of specialized research networks in each of the social sciences (i.e., financial, economics, accounting, legal, management). Each of SSRN's networks encourages the early distribution of research by publishing submitted abstracts and by soliciting abstracts of top quality research papers around the world. The SSRN eLibrary consists of two parts: an Abstract Database containing abstracts on over 43,500 scholarly working papers and forthcoming papers and an Electronic Paper Collection
currently containing over 24,300 downloadable full text documents in Adobe Acrobat pdf format. The eLibrary also includes the research papers of a number of fee based partner publications. The SSRN eLibrary can be searched by title, author, or journal/topic. - Google BooksA service from Google Inc. that searches the full text of books and magazines that Google has scanned, converted to text using optical character recognition (OCR), and stored in its digital database. Currently contains over 40 million titles.
- Google ScholarFor case law and journal articles.
- KSL's A-Z List of DatabasesPlease see the Kelvin Smith Library's A-Z List of Databases if any of the above links are not functioning and for additional databases that may be helpful.