Course Info
This seminar builds on the foundation established during the first-year curriculum and focuses on the law and technology of payment systems. Such topics will include the contractual relationship amongst and between the various organizations transacting to enable a b2c payment; the various elements of such agreements; the various impacts of a payment system (criminal, civil, and administrative); the implications for legal structure and policy; and the ethical considerations of a lawyer advising clients within this domain. Grade is based on a paper, a presentation, and class attendance and participation.
Instructor
Prof. Jason Korosec is an adjunct professor at the Case Western Reserve University School of Law and Texas A&M. He is @thepaymentsguy on Twitter.
Syllabus
The syllabus for your course is available on Canvas.
Textbook
** No Text Required **
Study Aids
These study aids are available online. Please click the hyperlinked title to view them. For instructions on how to use the specific platforms, including troubleshooting, please view Andy Dorchak's Study Aids Research Guide.
Black Letter Outline on Payments Law by ISBN: 9781634603171Publication Date: 2017Available via West Academic Study Aids.
Gilbert Law Summaries on Commercial Paper and Payment Law by ISBN: 9781684678723Publication Date: 2020-11-12Available via West Academic Study Aids.
Glannon Guide to Commercial and Paper Payment Systems by ISBN: 9781543822434Publication Date: 2021-04-23Available via Aspen Learning Library.
Payments Law in a Nutshell by ISBN: 9780314290311Publication Date: 2015Available via West Academic Study Aids.
Principles of Payment Systems by ISBN: 9781683285281Publication Date: 2018-12-13Available via West Academic Study Aids.
Mastering Negotiable Instruments (UCC Articles 3 and 4) and Other Payment Systems by ISBN: 9781531001643Publication Date: 2018-08-20Available via LexisNexis Digital Library.
Understanding Negotiable Instruments and Payment Systems by ISBN: 9781531014117Publication Date: 2019-06-01Available via LexisNexis Digital Library.
Examples and Explanations for Payment Systems by ISBN: 9781454834205Publication Date: 2013-01-08Available via Aspen Learning Library.
CALI
Computer-Aided Legal Instruction (CALI) requires an authorization code to use. If you do not have a CALI account, please contact Kieran Layton or the reference desk for assistance.
Quimbee
If you have not registered your Quimbee account, please contact Kieran Layton or the reference desk for assistance.
Selected Secondary Resources
Articles
- Innovation and Cost Efficiency in the Banking Industry: The Role of Electronic Payments48 Economic Notes (2019, 26 p.)
- The Impact of Electronic Payments for Vulnerable Consumers: Evidence from Social Security52 Journal of Consumer Affairs 35 (2018, 26 p.)
- Better than Cash, but Beware the Cost: Electronic Payment Systems and Financial Inclusion in Developing Countries48 Development and Change 205 (2017, 23 p.)
- The Effects of Electronic Payments on Monetary Policies and Central Banks195 Procedia -- Social and Behavioral Sciences 680 (2015, 6 p.)
eBooks
The Book of Crypto: The Complete Guide to Understanding Bitcoin, Cryptocurrencies and Digital Assets by ISBN: 3030979512Publication Date: 2022What Is Libra? by
Publication Date: 2020
Crypto Uncovered: The Evolution of Bitcoin and the Crypto Currency MarketplacePublication Date: 2019Cryptoassets: Legal, Regulatory, and Monetary Perspectives
Publication Date: 2019Fundamentals of Smart Contract Security
Publication Date: 2019What is Blockchain?: A User-Friendly Guide for the Enterprise
Publication Date: 2019
Databases
- Business Source Complete (EBSCOhost)Indexing and abstracts for scholarly, peer-reviewed business and business law-related articles back to 1886. Many full-text articles. Searchable, cited references for more than 1,200 journals.
- HeinOnlineThe HeinOnline platform provides numerous online collections of legal source material, and provides both page-image (as pdf files) copies for retrieval and display of cited works and full-text page images. Use the Comprehensive User's guide to learn about special features such as Scholar Check or retrieving case law from Fastcase by clicking on inline hyperlinks throughout HeinOnline documents. A premiere online database containing more than 200,000 titles, including law reviews and journals, government documents, classic legal treatises, and more.
- Legal CollectionLegal Collection includes full text for nearly 250 of the world's scholarly law journals, including a mix of law-school based journals, peer-reviewed journals, bar journals, and other genres of legal literature. Provides index, abstracts and selected full text.
- Index to Legal Periodicals and BooksThis is the premier index of legal periodicals, books, and sympoisa, with a primary focus on English language resources. Many articles are available in full-text. Some articles may be available via HeinOnline. (1981-Present)
