Administrative Information
Preferred Citation
The Arthur D. Austin Jury Study Documents Collection, Case Western Reserve University School of Law, The Judge Ben C. Green Law Library.
Acquisition Information
Professor Arthur Austin donated his materials on jury comprehension research to The 
Processing Information
The collection was processed by Deborah Dennison in 2011-12.
Detailed Description of the Collection
A- Curriculum Vitae/ Arthur D. Austin, 2012
Scope and Content
View Professor Austin's
CV and personal statement
SERIES I: CITY OF CLEVELAND v. CLEVELAND ELECTRIC ILLUMINATING CO. (CEI), abt. 1974-1982
Scope and Content
This series documents Professor Austin's studies of the two trials between the City of Cleveland and the Cleveland Illuminating Co. Although impressed by "counsel's organized and persuasive opening statements", he observed that members of the jury appeared to have difficulty understanding the complexities of the antitrust issues involved. As Professor Austin noted at the time, "it would have taken an antitrust expert to understand what the lawyers were talking about."City of Cleveland v. CEI, No.C75-560 (N.D. Ohio, filed July 1, 1975).;(2d trial & appeal) City of Cleveland v. Cleveland Electric Illuminating Co., 734 F2d. 1157 (1984).
1- City of Cleveland v. Cleveland Electric Illuminating Co.: monopolization, regulation, and natural monopoly, 13 U. Tol. L. Rev. 609 (1981-82)., --
2 A- "Diary of Cleveland VS CEI" "The Snail" (Shorthand notebook), --
2 B- "Diary of Cleveland VS CEI "The Snail" (Typed manuscript from shorthand notebook), --
3- City v. CEI (Schedule of events), --
4- Juror Pool Studies (Type of Juror Desired by CEI), --
Scope and Content: Cover letter from James P. Murphy/Squire Sanders, Dempsey 9-14-82); two polls taken by Ira Gaffin prior to the first and second trials.
5- A Quantitative Estimate of the Readability of the Written Material Provided by the Jurors/Dr. Elsie M. Nicholson, Director, Learning Center, Cleveland State University, Cleveland Oh. -- Contains variations of three reports, Mar. 18, 1981
6- CEI Jury Interviews, Dec. 1980 - Nov. 1981
Scope and Content: Jury interviews have been reformatted from VHS to DVD (6A); 6B includes individual typed files of juror interviews.
7- Articles by Professor Austin on Jury Comprehension, 1982 - 2002
Scope and Content: File consists of 26 full text articles Professor Austin wrote on the subject, and one article where he is the interviewee.
8- City v. CEI Newspaper Articles, 1974-1984
Scope and Content: Bibliography and full text of 282 articles, local press coverage, of City v. CEI trials
SERIES II: NEW MEXICO NATURAL GAS ANTITRUST LITIGATION JURY SURVEY, 1982-84
Scope and Content
Professor Austin conducted juror interviews between April 24th and May 1st, 1983 in Las Cruces, New Mexico. All interviews were taped, but are the property of Jones, Gallegos, Snead, & Wertheim.From Professor Austin's notes about the jurors' interview process: "... Interview questions were designed to elicit jurors' perceptions about the issues and personalities involved in the trial. Jurors were encouraged to "freely associate" by discussing any point they deemed important or that came to mind. After each interview I made notes on the juror and recorded my impressions of his/her personality as it related to the case. In addition, Jeanie Armbruster (paralegal; Jones, Gallegos) got responses to a set of "phychographic questions" designed to help construct a profile of the jury." (New Mexico Jury Survey, p.1.)Note that Professor Austin considers the four spiral notebooks of one juror's trial notes among the most valuable pieces in this collection, in terms of a juror's perception.
1 A- New Mexico Natural Gas Antitrust Litigation Jury Survey, c.1, 1983
1 B- New Mexico Natural Gas Antitrust Litigation Jury Survey, c.2, July 6,1983
2- Juror notebook I, abt. 1982
Scope and Content: Four 5X7 juror notebooks kept by one of the jurors during the trial.
2- Juror notebook II, 1982
2- Juror notebook III, 1982
2- Juror notebook IV, 1982
3- Correspondence & receipts, 1983-84
4- Newspaper articles, abt. 1984-85
SERIES III: INDEPENDENT STUDY - PROFESSIONAL FOOTBALL LEAGUE JURY RESEARCH, abt. 1986
Scope and Content
Documents from Finley, Kumble, Wagner, Heine, Underberg, Manley, Myerson, & Casey (New York).
Report in support of motion for a new trial (containing certain of juror statements), Dec. 4, 1986
Scope and Content: Note: sent to "Professor Hahn" (mistook Professor Austin's name for his Chair at Law School).
SERIES IV: LIGGETT & MYERS (N. CAROLINA) JURY SURVEY, abt. 1990
1- Correspondence & receipts, 1990
2- Jury Survey notes, 1990
SERIES V: GIBSON, DUNN, & CRUTCHER: LITIGATION RETREAT, abt. 1993
Scope and Content
Papers on Professor Austin's presentation at Firm's annual litigation retreat.
1- Correspondence & receipts, Apr.-May 1993
2- Professor Austin's presentation: handwritten notes & drafts, Apr. 1993
|
A- Curriculum Vitae/ Arthur D. Austin |
A- Curriculum Vitae/ Arthur D. Austin, 2012
Scope and Content
View Professor Austin's
CV and personal statement. (broken link – fix; add obit)
|
SERIES I: CITY OF CLEVELAND v. CLEVELAND ELECTRIC ILLUMINATING CO. (CEI) [Add Bepress link] SERIES I: CITY OF CLEVELAND v. CLEVELAND ELECTRIC ILLUMINATING CO. (CEI), abt. 1974-1982 Scope and Content This series documents Professor Austin's studies of the two trials between the City of Cleveland and the Cleveland Illuminating Co. Although impressed by "counsel's organized and persuasive opening statements", he observed that members of the jury appeared to have difficulty understanding the complexities of the antitrust issues involved. As Professor Austin noted at the time, "it would have taken an antitrust expert to understand what the lawyers were talking about."City of Cleveland v. CEI, No.C75-560 (N.D. Ohio, filed July 1, 1975).;(2d trial & appeal) City of Cleveland v. Cleveland Electric Illuminating Co., 734 F2d. 1157 (1984). 1- City of Cleveland v. Cleveland Electric Illuminating Co.: monopolization, regulation, and natural monopoly, 13 U. Tol. L. Rev. 609 (1981-82)., -- 2 A- "Diary of Cleveland VS CEI" "The Snail" (Shorthand notebook), -- 2 B- "Diary of Cleveland VS CEI "The Snail" (Typed manuscript from shorthand notebook), -- 3- City v. CEI (Schedule of events), -- 4- Juror Pool Studies (Type of Juror Desired by CEI), -- Scope and Content: Cover letter from James P. Murphy/Squire Sanders, Dempsey 9-14-82); two polls taken by Ira Gaffin prior to the first and second trials. 5- A Quantitative Estimate of the Readability of the Written Material Provided by the Jurors/Dr. Elsie M. Nicholson, Director, Learning Center, Cleveland State University, Cleveland Oh. -- Contains variations of three reports, Mar. 18, 1981 6- CEI Jury Interviews, Dec. 1980 - Nov. 1981 Scope and Content: Jury interviews have been reformatted from VHS to DVD (6A); 6B includes individual typed files of juror interviews. 7- Articles by Professor Austin on Jury Comprehension, 1982 - 2002 Scope and Content: File consists of 26 full text articles Professor Austin wrote on the subject, and one article where he is the interviewee. 8- City v. CEI Newspaper Articles, 1974-1984 Scope and Content: Bibliography and full text of 282 articles, local press coverage, of City v. CEI trials |
|
SERIES II: NEW MEXICO NATURAL GAS ANTITRUST LITIGATION JURY SURVEY |
SERIES II: NEW MEXICO NATURAL GAS ANTITRUST LITIGATION JURY SURVEY, 1982-84
Scope and Content
Professor Austin conducted juror interviews between April 24th and May 1st, 1983 in Las Cruces, New Mexico. All interviews were taped, but are the property of Jones, Gallegos, Snead, & Wertheim.From Professor Austin's notes about the jurors' interview process: "... Interview questions were designed to elicit jurors' perceptions about the issues and personalities involved in the trial. Jurors were encouraged to "freely associate" by discussing any point they deemed important or that came to mind. After each interview I made notes on the juror and recorded my impressions of his/her personality as it related to the case. In addition, Jeanie Armbruster (paralegal; Jones, Gallegos) got responses to a set of "phychographic questions" designed to help construct a profile of the jury." (New Mexico Jury Survey, p.1.) Note that Professor Austin considers the four spiral notebooks of one juror's trial notes among the most valuable pieces in this collection, in terms of a juror's perception.
1 A- New Mexico Natural Gas Antitrust Litigation Jury Survey, c.1, 1983
1 B- New Mexico Natural Gas Antitrust Litigation Jury Survey, c.2, July 6,1983
2- Juror notebook I, abt. 1982
Scope and Content: Four 5X7 juror notebooks kept by one of the jurors during the trial.
2- Juror notebook II, 1982
2- Juror notebook III, 1982
2- Juror notebook IV, 1982
3- Correspondence & receipts, 1983-84
4- Newspaper articles, abt. 1984-85
|
SERIES III: INDEPENDENT STUDY - PROFESSIONAL FOOTBALL LEAGUE JURY RESEARCH SERIES III: INDEPENDENT STUDY - PROFESSIONAL FOOTBALL LEAGUE JURY RESEARCH, abt. 1986 Scope and Content Documents from Finley, Kumble, Wagner, Heine, Underberg, Manley, Myerson, & Casey (New York). Report in support of motion for a new trial (containing certain of juror statements), Dec. 4, 1986 Scope and Content: Note: sent to "Professor Hahn" (mistook Professor Austin's name for his Chair at Law School). |
|
SERIES IV: LIGGETT & MYERS (N. CAROLINA) JURY SURVEY SERIES IV: LIGGETT & MYERS (N. CAROLINA) JURY SURVEY, abt. 1990 1- Correspondence & receipts, 1990 2- Jury Survey notes, 1990 |
SERIES V: GIBSON, DUNN, & CRUTCHER: LITIGATION RETREAT, abt. 1993
Scope and Content
Papers on Professor Austin's presentation at Firm's annual litigation retreat.
1- Correspondence & receipts, Apr.-May 1993
2- Professor Austin's presentation: handwritten notes & drafts, Apr. 1993