Legal Research For HCL Staff

Campus wide focus; Nexis Uni features more than 15,000 news, business and legal sources from LexisNexis including U.S. Supreme Court decisions dating back to 1790 with an intuitive interface that offers quick discovery across all content types, personalization features such as alerts, saved searches, and a collaborative workspace with shared folders and annotated documents. Registration is not required for campus and VPN access but in order to take full advantage of personalized features you must create a profile. Not the Law School Version of Lexis+.

ProQuest Legislative Insight is a federal legislative history service that provides compilations of digital full text Congressional publications relevant to enacted U.S. public laws. Provides compiled histories of laws enacted from 1789 to the present, including the following document types: bills, reports, documents, hearings, CRS reports, committee prints, Congressional Record sections, presidential signing statements, and statutes. Legislative Insight includes documents related to the passage of a law.

ProQuest Congressional enables access to the full-text documents of Congress and legislative history summaries (from 1970 forward), including digital versions of the U.S. Serial Set. Includes Congressional Research Service (CRS) Reports from 1985 forward; Serial Set Maps 1789-1969;

Provides access to published and unpublished congressional hearings from 1824-present. It also includes abstracting and indexing records with full-text searchable PDFs attached. Hearing types include appropriations, general topical discussions, investigations, legislation consideration, nominations, and oversight. The resource contains the full transcripts of the proceedings, including all oral statements, committee questions, and discussion. Hearings also contain texts of related reports, statistical analyses, correspondence, exhibits, and articles presented by witnesses or inserted into the record by committee members and staff.

Covering 1936-2014, Regulatory Insight contains administrative law histories organized by public law, facilitating research in federal agencies and executive branch rulemaking. Provides access to all notices, proposed rules and final rules directly linked to specific Public Laws. Also provides regulatory histories associated with specific C.F.R. parts or sections, or U.S. Code citations.

Supreme Court Insight, 1975-2016/2017, is a complete online collection of full opinions from Supreme Court argued cases, including per decision: dockets, oral arguments, joint appendices and amicus briefs.

The HeinOnline platform provides numerous online collections of legal source material, and provides both page-image (as pdf files) copies for retrieval and display of cited works and full-text page images. Use the Comprehensive User's guide to learn about special features such as Scholar Check or retrieving case law from Fastcase by clicking on inline hyperlinks throughout HeinOnline documents. A premiere online database containing more than 200,000 titles, including law reviews and journals, government documents, classic legal treatises, and more.

This is the premier index of legal periodicals, books, and sympoisa, with a primary focus on English language resources. Many articles are available in full-text. Some articles may be available via HeinOnline. (1981-Present)

Legal Collection includes full text for nearly 250 of the world's scholarly law journals, including a mix of law-school based journals, peer-reviewed journals, bar journals, and other genres of legal literature. Provides index, abstracts and selected full text.

PLI-Plus includes CLE Course Handbooks, Transcripts and PLI Treatises. Scope: a wide range of civil & business law topics, including corporate, health, diversity, international, IP plus. PLI Pro Bono section covers criminal. Includes books, forms, and transcripts of PLI CLE programs. Inclusive dates: 1980-present. Links to cases seamlessly via Fastcase.

The Making of Modern Law (MOML): U.S. Supreme Court Records and Briefs: 1832-1978 is a fully searchable digital archive of records and briefs of 150,000 cases brought before the U.S. Supreme Court in the period 1832-1978. It includes a majority of the records and briefs for cases in which the Court did not render a full opinion.