Selected Databases
- ACLU Papers, 1912-1990Faculty and students who research twentieth-century American social history, politics, and law will find this archive of special interest because of its focus on civil rights, civil liberties, race, gender, and issues relating to the Supreme Court.
- Index to Legal Periodicals and BooksThis is the premier index of legal periodicals, books, and sympoisa, with a primary focus on English language resources. Many articles are available in full-text. Some articles may be available via HeinOnline. (1981-Present)
- Academic Search Complete Indexes thousands of journals from multiple disciplines and also includes full text (pdf) of a substantial subset of those. On the EBSCOhost platform.
- America: History and LifeIndex of articles, from thousands of journals, on the history and culture of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present (from 1964 to present). Useful for U.S. & Canadian history. Includes selected full-text.
- Civil Rights and Social Justice (HeinOnline)"HeinOnline’s Civil Rights and Social Justice database brings together a diverse offering of publications covering civil rights in the United States as their legal protections and definitions are expanded to cover more and more Americans. Containing links to more than 500 scholarly articles*, hearings and committee prints, legislative histories on the landmark legislation, CRS and GAO reports, briefs from major Supreme Court cases, and publications from the Commission on Civil Rights..."
- Criminal Justice Abstracts with Full-Text
This link opens in a new window
Includes full text and bibliographic records of leading journals in the criminal justice field. Covering a wide range of topics, it is an essential collection for students and scholars researching criminal justice and criminology. Includes resources that discuss evidence, scientific evidence, court decisions, Bureau of Justice Statistics, Sex offender statutes, and law-enforcement issues. - Factiva
Aggregates news content from newspapers, journals, magazines, television and radio transcripts and provides organizations with search, alerting, dissemination, and other information management capabilities. Major newspapers include the Wall Street Journal, New York Times, and Washington Post. Please LOG-OFF Factiva when finished. Select a specific newspaper by clicking the NEWS PAGES tab on the left top menu bar. Or, use the search box at the top of any page. This searches all 17,000 Pro sources for the past 12 months. Try also searching within an industry or topic using the drop down menu within the search form. This will modify the sources searched to focus on those that may be most relevant to your selection. - NAACP Papers: The NAACP's Major Campaigns: Scottsboro, Anti-Lynching, Criminal Justice, Peonage, Labor, and Segregation and Discrimination ComplaintsCivil Rights and the Black Freedom Struggle; Black Freedom Struggle in the 20th Century: Federal Government Records; NAACP Papers: Board of Directors, Annual Conferences, Major Speeches, and National Staff Files; NAACP Papers: Branch Department, Branch Files, and Youth Department Files; NAACP Papers: Special Subjects; NAACP Papers: The NAACP's Major Campaigns--Education, Voting, Housing, Employment, Armed Forces; NAACP Papers: The NAACP's Major Campaigns--Legal Department Files; NAACP Papers: The NAACP's Major Campaigns--Scottsboro, Anti-Lynching, Criminal Justice, Peonage, Labor, and Segregation and Discrimination Complaints and Responses; Southern Life, Slavery, and the Civil War; Slavery and the Law (1775-1867); Southern Life and African American History, 1775-1915, Plantations Records, Part 1
- ProQuest Congressional, including the U.S. Serial SetProQuest Congressional enables access to the full-text documents of Congress and legislative history summaries (from 1970 forward), including digital versions of the U.S. Serial Set. Includes Congressional Research Service (CRS) Reports from 1985 forward; Serial Set Maps 1789-1969;
- ProQuest Legislative InsightProQuest Legislative Insight is a federal legislative history service that provides compilations of digital full text Congressional publications relevant to enacted U.S. public laws. Provides compiled histories of laws enacted from 1789 to the present, including the following document types: bills, reports, documents, hearings, CRS reports, committee prints, Congressional Record sections, presidential signing statements, and statutes. Legislative Insight includes documents related to the passage of a law.
- ProQuest Supreme Court InsightSupreme Court Insight, 1975-2016/2017, is a complete online collection of full opinions from Supreme Court argued cases, including per decision: dockets, oral arguments, joint appendices and amicus briefs.