Substance Abuse and Trauma Resources

Cognition and Addiction: A Researcher's Guide from Mechanisms Towards Interventions provides researchers with a guide to recent cognitive neuroscience advances in addiction theory, phenotyping, treatments and new vistas, including both substance and behavioral addictions. This book focuses on "what to know" and "how to apply" information, prioritizing novel principles and delineating cutting-edge assessment, phenotyping and treatment tools. Written by world renowned researcher Antonio Verdejo-Garcia, this resource will become a go-to guide for researchers in the field of cognitive neuroscience and addiction. Examines cognitive neuroscience advances in addiction theory, including both substance and behavioral addictions Discusses primary principles of cutting-edge assessment, phenotyping and treatment tools Includes detailed chapters on neuro-epidemiology and genetic imaging

This widely respected text and practitioner guide, now revised and expanded, provides a roadmap for effective clinical practice with clients with substance use disorders. Specialists and nonspecialists alike benefit from the authors' expert guidance for planning treatment and selecting from a menu of evidence-based treatment methods. Assessment and intervention strategies are described in detail, and the importance of the therapeutic relationship is emphasized throughout. Lauded for its clarity and accessibility, the text includes engaging case examples, up-to-date knowledge about specific substances, personal reflections from the authors, application exercises, reflection questions, and end-of-chapter bulleted key points.   New to This Edition *Chapters on additional treatment approaches: mindfulness, contingency management, and ways to work with concerned significant others. *Chapters on overcoming treatment roadblocks and implementing evidence-based treatments with integrity. *Covers the new four-process framework for motivational interviewing, diagnostic changes in DSM-5, and advances in pharmacotherapy. *Updated throughout with current research and clinical recommendations.

Editor Biography: Sarah Callahan received her undergraduate degree in Behavioral Science from DePaul University, her Masters' degree and doctorate in Community Psychology from DePaul University. Her research includes substance abuse and aftercare, the microeconomics of substance abuse and incarceration, and reducing barriers to reentry for marginalized groups. She teaches classes on substance abuse and mental health at DePaul University, and has been working with formerly incarcerated substance abusers for over 10 years. Book Description: Drug and alcohol addiction are critical social problems in the United States. Drug and alcohol abuse are powerful facilitators of health and economic disparities, making recovery and re-entry into the community difficult. Alcohol and drug abuse/addiction are among the costliest of health problems, totaling approximately $428 billion annually. A range of services have been developed to address the problem of substance dependence, including inpatient services, outpatient services, and recovery housing. However, only about 11% of those with substance addictions reach any type of substance abuse treatment, and those that are treated evidence high rates of relapse. Thus, it is critical to understand the mechanisms by which individuals are successful, and sustain abstinence after receiving treatment and aftercare. This book provides a collection of research that explores alternative models, aftercare programs, employment services, trauma issues that effect recovery, gender-specific, and culturally modified treatment and aftercare programs. Each chapter is an individual study that addresses key unanswered questions in substance abuse and recovery research. Furthermore, the editors and authors identify potentially important, understudied topics for further research and formulate public policy recommendations. This is a must read for addiction researchers, academics, students, and individuals interested in learning about the dangers of substance abuse. Target Audience: Researchers, Academics, Students, Substance Abuse practitioners

also available in print - KSL Stack Third Floor HV4998 .N488 2010

The premier text on substance abuse and addictive behaviors is now in its updated and expanded Fourth Edition, with up-to-the-minute insights from more than 150 experts at the front lines of patient management and research. This edition features expanded coverage of the neurobiology of abused substances, new pharmacologic therapies for addictions, and complete information on "club drugs" such as Ecstasy. New sections focus on addiction in children, adolescents, adults, and the elderly and women's health issues, including pregnancy. The expanded behavioral addictions section now includes hoarding, shopping, and computer/Internet abuse.  ncludes access to a Companion wesbite that has fully searchable text.