This is a guide to the most often used legal research databases. For even more legal databases, consult the law school's A-Z list. For additional topical databases, consult the Kelvin Smith Library's A-Z List
Provides access to published and unpublished congressional hearings from 1824-present. It also includes abstracting and indexing records with full-text searchable PDFs attached. Hearing types include appropriations, general topical discussions, investigations, legislation consideration, nominations, and oversight. The resource contains the full transcripts of the proceedings, including all oral statements, committee questions, and discussion. Hearings also contain texts of related reports, statistical analyses, correspondence, exhibits, and articles presented by witnesses or inserted into the record by committee members and staff.
ProQuest Congressional enables access to the full-text documents of Congress and legislative history summaries (from 1970 forward), including digital versions of the U.S. Serial Set. Includes Congressional Research Service (CRS) Reports from 1985 forward; Serial Set Maps 1789-1969;
Covering 1936-2014, Regulatory Insight contains administrative law histories organized by public law, facilitating research in federal agencies and executive branch rulemaking. Provides access to all notices, proposed rules and final rules directly linked to specific Public Laws. Also provides regulatory histories associated with specific C.F.R. parts or sections, or U.S. Code citations.
Supreme Court Insight, 1975-2016/2017, is a complete online collection of full opinions from Supreme Court argued cases, including per decision: dockets, oral arguments, joint appendices and amicus briefs.
***NOTE: In order to access the contents of this database you must create an account. First, click the database name above (PrivCo), then click the "Click Here to Sign Up" button and follow directions for creating an account. PrivCo allows users to search for privately-held companies across a global, cross-sector platform. Users can identify key metrics like revenues, employees, funding, and deals through a single interface." Provides articles on pros & cons of being a privately-held or publicly-traded company, a knowledge bank and a research blog. See: PrivCo Overview Video: http://cdn01.privco.com/public/video/PrivCo_Overview_Academic.mp4; See PrivCo for Academia: http://cdn01.privco.com/media/Privco_for_Academia.pdf