This is a guide to the most often used legal research databases. For even more legal databases, consult the law school's A-Z list. For additional topical databases, consult the Kelvin Smith Library's A-Z List
Foreign Primary Sources consists of historical legal codes, statutes, regulations and commentaries on codes from the UK, the Republic of Ireland, France, Germany, and other northern European countries. It was sourced from the law libraries of Yale, Harvard and George Washington University.
The Making of Modern Law (MOML): Legal Treatises, 1800-1926 is a full-text searchable digital archive of 21,000 British and American legal treatises covering the watershed period of legal development during the 19th and early 20th centuries. Choose either American treatises, British treatises or both. Preselect up to as many as 10 topics to browse at a time from a list of almost 100 broad legal topics. All pages in this collection as PDF images. (Individual works included within this collection are cataloged, and can be located through regular searches of catalog.case.edu, as with other printed or e-books.)
This resource is technically the online edition of a large multi-volume encyclopedia. However, the scope and quality of this resource are sufficiently unique to set it apart as an extremely valuable online starting point for any research in public international law topics and Oxford University Press treats it as a database. This is published in partnership with Germany’s Max Planck Institute for Comparative Public Laws and International Law.
FCIL provides extensive online access to foreign and international legal literature including pre-1926 treatises and monographs in the following areas: International Law, Foreign Law, Comparative Law, Roman Law, Islamic Law, Jewish Law and Ancient Law.
The Making of Modern Law (MOML): U.S. Supreme Court Records and Briefs: 1832-1978 is a fully searchable digital archive of records and briefs of 150,000 cases brought before the U.S. Supreme Court in the period 1832-1978. It includes a majority of the records and briefs for cases in which the Court did not render a full opinion.
Includes all of the content available in MEDLINE as well as cover-to-cover full text for 1,014 journals indexed as cover-to-cover in MEDLINE, including hundreds of journals not available as full text in any other EBSCO database.