This is a guide to the most often used legal research databases. For even more legal databases, consult the law school's A-Z list. For additional topical databases, consult the Kelvin Smith Library's A-Z List
Casemaker is an online legal research (CALR) platform available by group license to Ohio State Bar Association Members. Law students of Ohio law schools may join the Bar Association for free while in law school. They will then be granted access to the Casemaker service. It may be used for summer employment.
CALI is known for its collection of over 800 computer-based interactive tutorials that supplement traditional law school instruction. They are written by law professors or law librarians. Each lesson covers a narrow topic of law. The CALI lessons are sometimes assigned as homework. Law students should go to the Law Library Reference Desk to pick up the CALI authorization code.
Chinalawinfo.com (CLI) (also known as PKUlaw.cn) is the Chinese-language version of the Chinese legal information system launched by Peking University in 1985. It provides complete access to China's primary and secondary legal materials. (Coverage is more extensive than lawinfochina.com (LIC), the English-language version).
China Legal Knowledge Database (CLKD) is part of the China National Knowledge Infrastructure (CNKI), launched in late 2010. Its content is officially sanctioned by the People's Republic of China. Content includes: Laws/regulations from 1949 to date (500,000 records); Cases from 1979 to date (230,000 records); and Secondary Sources: (1.5 million records). The database is updated daily and newly enacted laws are provided within 48 hours. Both primary and secondary resources cover over 400 legal topics. Includes an English-Chinese dictionary.
CCH IntelliConnect (aka Cheetah) offers online access to CCH's extensive legal and regulatory resources in the areas of business, finance, health, intellectual property (IP), securities, taxation and trade. When Loislaw was sold to Fastcase, several commercial law and IP treatises moved to IntelliConnect. Most Loislaw treatises moved to Fastcase.
FDSys, formerly GPOAccess, is the online outlet of the U.S. Government Printing Office. Resources on the platform include, but are not limited to: bills; Public Laws; the Code of Federal Regulations; and the Federal Register.
ProQuest Congressional enables access to the full-text documents of Congress and legislative history summaries (from 1970 forward), including digital versions of the U.S. Serial Set. Includes Congressional Research Service (CRS) Reports from 1985 forward; Serial Set Maps 1789-1969;
Provides access to published and unpublished congressional hearings from 1824-present. It also includes abstracting and indexing records with full-text searchable PDFs attached. Hearing types include appropriations, general topical discussions, investigations, legislation consideration, nominations, and oversight. The resource contains the full transcripts of the proceedings, including all oral statements, committee questions, and discussion. Hearings also contain texts of related reports, statistical analyses, correspondence, exhibits, and articles presented by witnesses or inserted into the record by committee members and staff.