Course Info
One of the basic courses in commercial law. It serves equally as an introduction to the general organization, structure, and appropriate application of the Uniform Commercial Code. Primarily we study the law of Sale of Goods under Article 2 of the U.C.C. Necessarily this includes a study of products liability law, which is explored under both sales warranty and strict tort liability theories. The interrelationship between these competing theories of products liability law are also investigated. Other specific topics studied are the legal rules applicable to 1) the formation of sale contract, including the battle of the forms, statute of frauds, and parol evidence rule, 2) performance of and excuse of performance from the sales contract, 3) title warranties and title transfers, and 4) remedies for breach of the sales contract.
Instructor
Prof. Juliet Kostritsky is the Everett D. & Eugenia S. McCurdy Professor of Contract Law and Director of the Center for Business Law at CWRU School of Law. She has practiced in the banking/corporate world, delivered papers at international conferences, and is a member of the prestigious American Law Institute. She teaches Contracts, Sales, Commercial Paper, Advanced Contracts and the Business and Law Colloquium.
Syllabus
The syllabus for your course is available on Canvas.
Textbook
Commercial and Debtor-Creditor Law Selected Statutes, 2024 Edition by ISBN: 9798887860220Publication Date: 2024Available for the first 2 weeks of classes at eproducts.westacademic.com.
Instruction sheet to set up access
Problems and Materials on the Sale and Lease of Goods by Call Number: KF914.W447 2023ISBN: 9781543859027Publication Date: 2023-01-31
Study Aids
These study aids are available online. Please click the hyperlinked title to view them. For instructions on how to use the specific platforms, including troubleshooting, please view Andy Dorchak's Study Aids Research Guide.
Examples and Explanations for Sales and Leases by ISBN: 9781543817065Publication Date: 2020-02-03Available via Aspen Learning Library
Glannon Guide to Sales by ISBN: 9781543841299Publication Date: 2021-07-05Available via Aspen Learning Library
Mastering Sales by ISBN: 9781611639902Publication Date: 2019-01-11Available via LexisNexis Digital Library
Sales and Leases of Goods in a Nutshell by ISBN: 9781685611132Publication Date: 2023-05-01Available via West Academic Study Aids
Understanding Sales and Leases of Goods by ISBN: 9781632809568Publication Date: 2016-02-01Available via LexisNexis Digital Library
CALI
Computer-Aided Legal Instruction (CALI) requires an authorization code to use. If you do not have a CALI account, please contact Kieran Layton or the reference desk for assistance.
Quimbee
If you have not registered your Quimbee account, please contact Kieran Layton or the reference desk for assistance.
Audio Guides
Sales: In Other Words Audio Series by Publication Date: 2/6/2020Available via Aspen Learning Library.
Treatises and Hornbooks
These treatises and hornbooks are available online. Please click the hyperlinked title to view them. For instructions on how to use the specific platforms, including troubleshooting, please view Andy Dorchak's Study Aids Research Guide.
Principles of Sales Law by ISBN: 9781683285021Publication Date: 2017-07-25This book provides a comprehensive introduction to Articles 1 and 2 of the Uniform Commercial Code (UCC). It provides a useful resource for students and practitioners dealing with sales or contract issues. Students of contracts or sales and any practitioner dealing with sales or contracts issues will profit from this book's use. Note: The electronic version is available via the West Academic platform.
Sales Law, Domestic and International by ISBN: 9781628101454Publication Date: 2015-11-20Authoritative coverage describes and analyzes the law of sales under Article 2 of the Uniform Commercial Code, as well as under the United Nations Convention on Contracts for the International Sale of Goods. Text provides the framework for sales and governing law, contract formation, implied terms, formal requirements, performance, and risk of loss. Also covers remedies, the rights to goods, and documentary sales. Note: The electronic version is available via the West Academic platform.
Uniform Commercial Code by ISBN: 9781683285205Publication Date: 2022-02-24This fully revised 7th Edition will give students a comprehensive introduction to the Uniform Commercial Code without burdening them with unnecessary detail: Articles 1 and 2 (sales), Articles 3, 4, 4A and 5 (payment systems), and Article 9 (secured transactions), as well as related statutes, amendments, regulations, and operating rules. The new edition deals not only with the 1999 revisions to Article 9 but also with the recent revisions to Article 1. This edition also addresses the earlier revisions to Articles 5, 3, and 4. It has limited coverage of the failed attempt to revise Article 2. A reference volume relied on by students, courts, and business lawyers for decades, the 7th Edition has been updated in light of modern practice and provides a useful resource for students and practitioners dealing with issues in sales, contracts, secured transactions, and payment systems.
