Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Business & Law Colloquium (LAWS 5432)

Course Info

This course will bring together law students, business students, mid-level attorneys and senior leaders in the legal field for a one-semester weekly colloquium. Even though women have represented approximately half of law-school graduates for a number of years, women represent only 16% of law firm equity partners and even fewer corporate General Counsels. This course aims to offer an introduction to the business skills that both women and men will need to rise to the highest levels of law practice and organizational leadership. Each week will focus on a different aspect of law and business. The curriculum will include sessions focused in financial management, business development, communication skills, and intercultural business and law practices.

Professor

Prof. Juliet Kostritsky

Prof. Juliet P. Kostritsky is a Visiting Assistant Professor of Law who teaches securities regulation, business associations, and law, theory and practice in financial markets.

Textbook

** No Text Required **

Locating Research Materials

Secondary Source Material by Practice Area

A.    Westlaw Edge Text & Treatises By Topic

B.    Lexis Advance Practice Areas

C.    Bloomberg Law Corporate Practice Center – Click on the “Practice Centers” Tab
 

Books

A.  Tools for Locating Hard Copy Monographs, Treatises, Loose-leafs, and ebooks (i.e., library catalogs):

  • http://catalog.case.edu/- CWRU campus-wide library catalog.  Use “Advance Search” or “Simple Search” and then “Modify Search.” Can limit to just the Law Library but the Kelvin Smith Library also has many relevant books on business law, accounting, pensions, family-owned businesses, etc.
  • OhioLink- Union catalog of all university and college libraries in Ohio. Enables you search all the catalogs simultaneously and place your own request for the book online. The book(s) will be delivered to the law library circulation desk and you will receive an email when the book has arrived.
  • WorldCat- Union catalog of many, if not most, research libraries in the U.S.  Place ILL requests with a reference librarian.
  • Cleveland Public Library, Main Branch- An excellent resource. 
  • Cuyahoga County Public Library, Also an excellent resource.

B.  Catalog allows for keyword searching, Library of Congress subject heading searches, call number browsing, etc.

C.  Bibliographic records in Catalog link into eBooks on Westlaw, Lexis, Heinonline, LLMC, etc.  

Note:  Searches by call number will not retrieve eBooks in electronic databases.

D.  Google Books – Has the full text of older books. Good for finding titles of newer books but will only be able to preview new books and will have to obtain from a different source.

 

Electronic Resources

If working from home, you will need to use a VPN connection. You can download the Case VPN client from https://vpnsetup.case.edu/

Many of our electronic resources are being transferred over to Single Sign On which requires only that you type in your Case ID and Password. It is hit or miss at this point. Most of the legal databases still require VPN if working from home—the exceptions being Westlaw Edge, Lexis Advance, and Bloomberg Law which require your personalized passwords.

  1. Research Database Finder from Law Library webpage (i.e., A-Z list of legal databases): https://lawresearchguides.cwru.edu/az.php
  2. A-Z Database Listing on the KSL webpage (KSL’s Research Databases): http://researchguides.case.edu/az.php

References to Law Review Articles

  1. Online Resources:
    1. Index to Legal Periodicals & Books  (Full Text)
    2. Index to Foreign Legal Periodicals:  Coverage 1985-present.
  2. Westlaw Edge:
    1. Legal Resource Index:  Cover-to-cover indexing of over 850 law journals, six law newspapers plus legal monographs.  Coverage is 1980 to present. 
  3. Lexis Advance:
    1. Legal Resource Index:  Coverage is 1977 to current.

Full-Text of Law Review Articles and Legal Newspapers/Newsletters

A.  Print Resources:

  1. Use Case Online Library Catalog to locate law review record. Then use the call number to locate the law review on the Ground Floor of the Law Library. Or, where available, follow the link in the catalog record to connect to an electronic copy via HeinOnline, Ebsco, JSTOR, etc.
  2. If not available at CWRU law library, try an electronic source (e.g., OhioLink Electronic Journal List, Westlaw, Lexis, JSTOR, etc.), put in an Interlibrary Loan Request, or see a reference librarian.

B. ​HeinOnline (Electronic Journals): Full-text collection of back issues of over 2,700 U.S. and foreign law reviews and journals. The most complete collection and coverage. Multiple searching capabilities, including access by official citation. Exact page images. Coverage varies by publication. Coverage pre-dates Westlaw & Lexis. 

C. Westlaw Edge:

  1. Law Reviews and Journals:  Covers U.S. and Canadian law reviews, journals, and CLE publications. Dates of coverage vary by publication—most start in late 1980s and early 1990s.
  2. Legal Newspapers & Newsletters:  Dates of coverage vary by publication.
  3. Lexis Advance
    1. Law Reviews and Journals - Dates of coverage vary by publication—most start in

late 1980s and early 1990s.

  1. Legal News
  1. Bloomberg/BNA Law Reports and Newsletters - Dates of coverage vary by publication—

most start in the mid to late 1990s.

Business and Finance Journal Articles

Full-Text Business Article Resources (Access via KSL Research Databases):

  1. Academic Search Complete- Indexes over 9,300 periodicals and contains full text for over 5,300 scholarly publications. Provides full text journal coverage for nearly all academic areas of study - including social sciences, humanities, education, computer sciences, engineering, language and linguistics, arts & literature, medical sciences, and ethnic studies.  Coverage from 1975 to present.
  2. Accounting & Tax- Abstracts and some full-text newspaper and periodical articles covering accounting and tax news.  Coverage from 1971 to present.
  3. Business Source Complete- Covers 1,200 scholarly business journals in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, accounting, finance, international business, econometrics and economics.  Coverage is from 1886 to present.
  4. EconLit- Produced by the American Economics Association, this database covers international economic issues.  It provides comprehensive information on capital markets, econometrics, economic forecasting, government regulations, labor economics, monetary theory, urban economics and much more. EconLit records include journals as well as articles in collective volumes (essays, proceedings, etc.), books, book reviews, dissertations, and working papers.  Coverage is from 1886 to present.
  5. The Economist - The Economist.com website offers opinion on international news, politics, business, finance, science and technology. The site includes articles from The Economist print edition (including those printed only in British copies) and maintain a searchable online archive that dates back June 1997.
  6. The Economist Historical Archive 1843-2012 - The Economist Historical Archive delivers a complete searchable copy of every issue of The Economist from 1843 to 2009.
  7. JSTOR (Electronic Journals)- Provides full text searchable access to 670 scholarly periodicals in the Social Sciences, Humanities, Science and Business.
  8. OECD iLibrary - The online library of the Organisation for Economic Cooperation and Development (OECD) featuring its books, papers and statistics and is the gateway to OECD’s analysis and data. It replaced SourceOECD in July 2010.
  9. OhioLINK Electronic Journal Center- Full text collection of over 7000 journals in a variety of subjects. It includes titles in the following subject areas: Arts and Humanities, Business, Economics, & Management, Chemistry & Chemical Engineering, Computers & Computer Science, Earth Sciences, Engineering, Health Sciences & Medicine, Life Sciences, Mathematics, Physics & Astronomy, and Social Sciences.
  10. Social Science Research Network- https://papers.ssrn.com/sol3/DisplayJournalBrowse.cfm SSRN is devoted to the rapid worldwide dissemination of social science research and is composed of a number of specialized research networks in each of the social sciences (i.e., financial, economics, accounting, legal, management).  Each of SSRN's networks encourages the early distribution of research by publishing submitted abstracts and by soliciting abstracts of top quality research papers around the world.  The SSRN eLibrary consists of two parts: an Abstract Database containing abstracts on over 907,000 scholarly working papers and forthcoming papers and an Electronic Paper Collection currently containing over 775,000 downloadable full text documents in Adobe Acrobat pdf format. The eLibrary also includes the research papers of a number of fee based partner publications.  The SSRN eLibrary can be searched by title, author, or Journal/Topic.
  11. BePress Legal Repository- http://law.bepress.com/repository/ The bepress Legal Repository offers working papers and pre-prints from scholars and professionals at top law schools around the world.
  12.  Google Scholar - Google Scholar provides a simple way to broadly search for scholarly literature. From one place, you can search across many disciplines and sources: articles, theses, books, abstracts and court opinions, from academic publishers, professional societies, online repositories, universities and other web sites.

Newspaper Articles

  1. Factiva - Aggregates news content from newspapers, journals, magazines, television and radio transcripts and provides organizations with search, alerting, dissemination, and other information management capabilities. Major newspapers include the Wall Street Journal, New York Times, and Washington Post. Select a specific newspaper by clicking the NEWS PAGES tab on the left top menu bar. Or, use the search box at the top of any page. This searches all 17,000 Pro sources for the past 12 months. Try also searching within an industry or topic using the drop down menu within the search form. This will modify the sources searched to focus on those that may be most relevant to your selection.
  2. Financial Times - CWRU: Register for full access. Made available by WSOM for Case. Authoritative global news, comment, analysis via Menu bar with sub-menus. Current affairs, socio-economic, geo-political, life & arts, emerging markets, robust Tools section & more.
  3. Financial Times Historical Archive 1888-2010 - The Financial Times Historical Archive,1888-2010 is a complete facsimile run of the of this daily business newspaper and includes over 700,000 pages of past issues, including Special Supplements and the FT Magazine.
  4. New York Times - Current
  5. New York Times Historical – Covers 1851-2012.
  6. NewsBank Newspapers - Access to full national collection and selected historical archives.
  7. Newspaper Source - Selected full text for 245 regional U.S. newspapers and other news sources.
  8. The Plain Dealer - Access archived and current issues of the newspaper.
  9. Regional Business News - This database provides comprehensive full text coverage for regional business publications. Regional Business News incorporates coverage of more than 80 regional business publications covering all metropolitan and rural areas within the United States.
  10. The Wall Street Journal Historical - Complete page images from 1889-1998.
  11. General News & Newspapers on Westlaw Edge
  12. Newspapers on Lexis Advance

Congressional Statutes and Regulations

  1. Legislative Insight - ProQuest Legislative Insight consists of approximately 18,000 legislative histories covering the public laws of the United States from 1929 to the present. Nine thousand of these are brand new and 4,000 (from 1969-1983) include new research. PDF documents included with the public laws include all the standard elements of legislative histories.
  2. Congressional Publications and Hearings
  3. Regulatory Insight - Covering 1936-2014, Regulatory Insight contains administrative law histories organized by public law, facilitating research in federal agencies and executive branch rulemaking. Provides access to all notices, proposed rules and final rules directly linked to specific Public Laws. Also provides regulatory histories associated with specific C.F.R. parts or sections, or U.S. Code citations.
  4. Index of U.S. Government Department and Agency Websites
  5. See also Lexis Advance, Westlaw Edge, Bloomberg Law, Congress.gov, GPO govinfo

Publicly Held Corporations

 

Privately Held Companies

 

Personal Reference Consultation (PeRC)