Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Free Legal Research Resources

This guide contains selected free (or low-cost) online legal research resources. These resources are meant to act as a starting point for legal research when paid databases are inaccessible or unfeasible.

Quick Links

Seal of the Northern District of Ohio

United States District Court, Northern District of Ohio 

The official website for the United States District Court for the Northern District of Ohio includes court info, FAQs, and electronic filing.

AALL logo

Public Library Toolkit 

The American Association of Law Librarians' (AALL) toolkit meant to help public librarians understand the process of legal research and help the patron locate the legal information they need.

FindLaw logo

FindLaw 

FindLaw is a resource created by Thomson Reuters that contains case law and codes, case summaries, blogspodcasts, practice information, and an attorney directory

LII logo

Legal Information Institute (LII) 

LII provides open access to legal materials, including: Wex, a legal dictionary and encyclopedia; state constitutions, statutes, and regulations; Supreme Court decisions; the Code of Federal Regulations (CFR), and more.

CAP logo

Caselaw Access Project

Caselaw Access Project provides access to Harvard Law School's digitized collection and includes all official, book-published state and federal U.S. case law. 

Justia logo

Justia 

Justia provides a search tool for federal and state cases, laws and regulations, research guides, newsletters, attorney directory, and information on law schools. Justia requires registration to annotate but provides links to search for cases, etc. via Google Scholar and other search engines that provide open access.

PACER logo

Public Access to Court Electronic Records (PACER) 

PACER provides U.S. federal case and docket information. Although quarterly fees less than $30 are waived, PACER requires registration with a valid credit card.

RECAP logo

RECAP

RECAP is a joint project of the Center for Information Technology Policy at Princeton University and Free Law Project. It is a browser extension used to archive millions of docket files from PACER. Search the archived court data at CourtListener.

CourtListener logo

CourtListener

CourtListener contains millions of legal opinions from federal and state courts as well as a citator

LoC logo

Guide to Law Online 

The Law Library of Congress provides research guides to federal and state lawinternational and foreign law; beginner's guides to a number of legal topics; and more.

GlobaLex logo

GlobaLex 

GlobaLex is an electronic legal publication dedicated to international and foreign law research. It is published by the Hauser Global Law School Program at NYU School of Law.

Georgetown logo

Health Law Research Guide 

This guide is Georgetown Law Library's introduction to U.S. health law research. It includes select legal and policy resources on various aspects of health law.