CWRU Law School Faculty Publication 1970 - Now

This 4th volume of Annotated Leading Cases of International Criminal Tribunals contains decisions taken by the International Criminal Tribunal for the former Yugoslavia in 1999-2000. It includes the most important decisions, identical to the original version, and includes concurring, separate, and dissenting opinions. In the book, distinguished experts in the field of international criminal law have commented on the decisions. (Series: Annotated Leading Cases of International Criminal Tribunals - Vol. 4)

Bailey (a writer and adjunct scholar at CEI, the Competitive Enterprise Institute) gathers these dozen articles to discredit what he calls false science and an ideological environmentalism that wants to claim the mantle of objective science.... Bailey's contributor assertions include: global

Thirty scholars and experts discuss and provide wide-ranging views on a variety of accountability measures: the establishment of ad hoc criminal tribunals for the Former Yugoslavia and Rwanda; truth commissions in South Africa and El Salvador; and lustration laws for the former Czechoslovakia and Germany after its reunification. Also discussed are amnesty for previous crimes and accountability, post-conflict justice involving issues pertaining to the restoration of law and order, and the rebuilding of failed national justice systems. In addition, the book also contains an important set of guidelines designed to achieve accountability and eliminate impunity. The guidelines with commentaries have been prepared by a distinguished group of experts, many of whom have also contributed articles to this volume. Published under the Transnational Publishers imprint.

Star Trek Visions of Law and Justice weds popular media with academic inquiry, by illustrating the connection between the future world of Star Trek and today’s American and international legal system. Editors Robert H. Chaires and Bradley Chilton collect fourteen articles exploring issues of the legal system, international law, corrections, justice, and equality. Scholars in law, political science, criminal justice, sociology, education, and public administration provide a truly interdisciplinary perspective on the Star Trek universe and how it relates to the real world of law and justice today. Star Trek Visions of Law and Justice is for anyone interested in what the future holds for the American justice system and for fans of Star Trek worldwide. It makes an ideal text to teach students interdisciplinary academic concepts using a familiar, popular media phenomenon.

Provides up-to-date, annotated bibliographies of the basiclegal practice tools for each of the fifty states and theDistrict of Columbia in a single, easily accessible source.Each bibliography is current within a few months of itspublication and includes cases, statutes, administrativematerials, law-related periodicals, encyclopedias, andtreatises. Both print and electronic resources are listed.Essential for anyone conducting state law research.

Most discussion of sustainable development has paid more attention to the long-term needs of the environment than to the needs of the present. But, as this book argues, the needs of people who are alive today must not take second place. And although the policies that are put forward in the name of 'sustainable development' are intended to benefit everyone, especially the poor, in reality many of them would harm rich and poor alike.Seventeen expert contributors examine every aspect of sustainable development, including the changes in humanity's well-being over the last two centuries, the prospects for specific current global policies, the predicament of poorer regions that have failed to develop sustainably, and the problems of climate change, energy policy and management of natural resources. Their analysis shows that the key to more sustainable development is not to impose global environmental regulations, but to ensure that people have a real stake in the global economy. Formal ownership of property and removal of the red tape that holds back entrepreneurial activity: these steps will give people the incentives they need to protect, conserve and innovate, and in so doing to build sustainable societies. In this way sustainable development can truly promote progress - not perpetuate poverty.

'The contributions of Woodiwiss, Lister and Sassen are outstanding but not unrepresentative of the many merits of this excellent collection'- The British Journal of Sociology From women's rights, civil rights, and sexual rights for gays and lesbians to disability rights and language rights, we have experienced in the past few decades a major trend in Western nation-states towards new claims for inclusion. This trend has echoed around the world: from the Zapatistas to Chechen and Kurdish nationalists, social and political movements are framing their struggles in the languages of rights and recognition, and hence, of citizenship. Citizenship has thus become an increasingly important axis in the social sciences. Social scientists have been rethinking the role of political agent or subject. Not only are the rights and obligations of citizens being redefined, but also what it means to be a citizen has become an issue of central concern. As the process of globalization produces multiple diasporas, we can expect increasingly complex relationships between homeland and host societies that will make the traditional idea of national citizenship problematic. As societies are forced to manage cultural difference and associated tensions and conflict, there will be changes in the processes by which states allocate citizenship and a differentiation of the category of citizen. This book constitutes the most authoritative and comprehensive guide to the terrain. Drawing on a wealth of interdisciplinary knowledge, and including some of the leading commentators of the day, it is an essential guide to understanding modern citizenship. About the editors: Engin F Isin is Associate Professor of Social Science at York University. His recent works include Being Political: Genealogies of Citizenship (Minnesota, 2002) and, with P K Wood, Citizens

Students and instructors alike will welcome this comprehensive and coherent approach to the study of cyberspace law. Authors Ku, Farber, and Cockfield blend their academic and practical experience to create an exceptionally strong casebook that illuminates the issues that arise when existing legal rules are applied to the emerging area of cyberspace. Carefully crafted for use in both introductory and advanced courses, Cyberspace Law: Cases and Materials opens with an introductory chapter, then delves into: - regulating cyberspace - speech in cyberspace - content as property in cyberspace - privacy - the ownership of computer networks - private ordering of cyberspaceWhen you review this new teaching tool, be sure to notice: - how skillfully the authors help students apply existing legal rules to cyberspace - the many practical, classroom-tested problems - the balanced presentation of competing approaches and theories for each issue - the flexible organization, allowing instructors to emphasize selected perspectives - cases such as Quill Corp. v. North Dakota Tasini v. N. Y. Times, UMG Recordings v. MP3.com, A&M Recordings v. Napster, and Amazon.com v. BarnesandNoble.com that offer a sophisticated analysis of cutting-edge legal issues - the review of policy concerns that will drive future legal analysis - the book's extremely thorough (250 pages) Teacher's Manual that offers concise discussions of cases, teaching suggestions, and analysis of the issues raised by the problems

A tour de force of writing and analysis, Down to Earth offers a sweeping history of our nation, one that for the first time places the environment at the very center of our story. Writing with marvelous clarity, historian Ted Steinberg sweeps across the centuries, re-envisioning the story of America as he recounts how the environment has played a key role in virtually every social, economic, and political development. Ranging from the colonists' attempts to impose orderon the land to the modern efforts to sell the wilderness as a consumer good, packaged in national parks and Alaskan cruises, Steinberg reminds readers that many critical episodes in our history were, in fact, environmental events: the California Gold Rush, for example, or the great migration ofAfrican Americans to the North in the early twentieth century (in part the consequence of an insect infestation). Equally important, Steinberg highlights the ways in which we have envisioned nature, attempting to reshape and control it--from Thomas Jefferson's surveying plan that divided thenational landscape into a grid, to the transformation of animals, crops, and even water into commodities (New Englanders started trading water rights by the early nineteenth century). From the Pilgrims to Disney World, Steinberg's narrative abounds with fascinating details and often disturbinginsights into our interaction with the natural world. Few books truly change the way we see the past. Down to Earth is one of them: a vivid narrative that reveals the environment to be a powerful force in our history--a force that must be examined if we are truly to understand ourselves.

Written to impress upon students that the law of evidence remains far from "federalized." Many states remain without local counterparts to the Federal Rules of Evidence and, even where such counterparts exist, state law frequently varies substantially from the federal pattern. These considerations, together with the fact that vast areas of evidence are outside the purview of the federal rules, warrant continuing attention to state law.

From the publisher: "In Ohio Arrest, Search and Seizure, a nationally recognized Fourth Amendment authority examines the balance of an individual's rights with legitimate law enforcement procedures, as reflected in decisions of the U.S. Supreme Court, Ohio criminal rules and statutes, and state caselaw. This basic reference on Ohio criminal procedure interprets new trends and developments while addressing facts and holdings in more than 800 cases.."

From the publisher: "Ohio Juvenile Law is a straightforward treatise containing selected provisions of the state revised code and rules of procedure and covering all major aspects of juvenile law..."

Resolving the Yugoslav conflict was the last great foreign policy challenge of the 20th century. In this work, two former State Department lawyers, Paul Williams and Michael Scharf, undertake to tell the warts and all story of the role of justice in building peace in the former Yugoslavia. During the conflict, Serb leader Slobodan Milosevic was transformed from a key partner in peace to an indicted war criminal. But the road from accommodation to accountability in the Balkans was anything but smooth. Based on their personal experience, research and interviews with key players in the Yugoslav peace-building process, Williams and Scharf provide an account of how and why justice was misapplied and mishandled throughout the peace-builders' efforts to settle the Yugoslav conflict. All too often human rights and peace advocates treat justice as a panacea for conflict and atrocities, while self-proclaimed realists and professional diplomats dismiss justice as an impediment to peace.

From 1991 to 1999, Slobodan Milosevic launched and ultimately lost four Balkan wars, resulting in the deaths of hundreds of thousands and the displacement of millions. He saw himself as a modern day Abe Lincoln, employing force in a valiant effort to hold his crumbling Yugoslavia together. But the ruthless Serb leader's tactics included systematic war crimes and ethnic cleansing, ultimately prompting the U. S. and its NATO allies to launch a controversial military intervention in the spring of 1999 to halt the bloodshed.Now Milosevic is on trial in The Hague before the United Nations-created International War Crimes Tribunal. He is the first former head of state ever to face international justice. The televised trial of Slobodan Milosevic is expected to last for two years and could well prove to be the most watched criminal proceedings since the trial of O. J. Simpson.There is much the public will want to know about this historic and complex trial. Written in a lively, journalistic style by two of the leading experts on the International War Crimes Tribunal, Slobodan Milosevic on Trial: A Companion is designed to inform the reader about what to watch for, who the players are, what the rules are, who has won in the past, and who is likely to win this time. Complete with maps, photos, and a glossary of legal terms, this comprehensive guide to the Milosevic trial will help the public understand the important and complex proceedings taking place in The Hague.

As part of a new series of Greenwood's comprehensive reference guides to the United States Constitution, Professor Durchslag's edition on the Eleventh Amendment's guarantee of state sovereign immunity is the most thorough and up-to-date treatment of that amendment. The Court's interpretation of the Eleventh Amendment over the past two centuries has been an attempt to balance the sovereign interests of the states against the primacy of federal law, and is currently its primary means of articulating its federalist doctrine. Beginning with an extensive history of the Eleventh Amendment and the ratification debates surrounding it, Durchslag proceeds to a chronological discussion of the development of the first generation of Eleventh Amendment jurisprudence from 1793 - 1890. The book then proceeds topically, tracing the developments of the various doctrinal components of the Amendment, and includes suggestions as to how they may evolve. The work concludes with an erudite bibliographic essay to guide the reader to relevant primary and secondary works, and is fully indexed. For constitutional students, scholars, and legal practitioners, as well as for political scientists and historians studying the constitution or federalism.