Articles Published in 2005
Articles on our Scholarly Commons
Book Chapters Published in 2005
Michael P. Scharf, Forced Marriage: Exploring the Viability of the Special Court for Sierra Leone's New Crime Against Humanity, in 3 African Perspectives on International Criminal Justice 77 (Evelyn A. Ankumah & Edward K. Kwakwa eds., 2005).
African Perspectives on International Criminal Justice by ISBN: 9076441030Publication Date: 2005
Theodore Steinberg, Environment, in Encyclopedia of New England: The Culture and History of an American Region 531 (Burt Feintuch & David H. Watters eds., 2005).
The Encyclopedia of New England by Call Number: OhioLinkISBN: 0300100272Publication Date: 2005Often defined by the familiar images of taciturn Yankees, town meetings, maple syrup, and rocky seacoasts, New England is both a distinctively American place and a distinctive place within America. Yet these images present only one aspect of the richly varied region that is New England in the twenty-first century. Today traditional scenes of white-clapboard buildings surrounding an idyllic village green, hillside farms, and red-brick mills rub shoulders with advanced research centers, nuclear power plants, and urban neighborhoods of immigrants from around the globe. In entries written by leading authorities in the field, The Encyclopedia of New England presents a comprehensive view of this important region, past and present. Both authoritative and entertaining, this single-volume reference will be an invaluable resource for the scholar and an irresistible pageturner for the browser. The Encyclopedia contains * 1,300 alphabetically arranged entries examining significant people, places, events, ideas,and artifacts * Fascinating and little-known facts that rarely appear in history books * More than 500 illustrations and maps * Contributions from nearly 1,000 distinguished scholars and writers, including journalists, academics, and specialists from museums, industries, and historical societies * 1.5 million words in 22 thematic sections, ranging from agriculture to tourism, each with an introduction by a leading specialist in the field * Extensive cross-references and a full index
Jessica Wilen Berg, Children and Placebos, in Ethics and Research with Children: A Case-Based Approach 294 (2005).
Ethics and Research with Children by Call Number: RJ47 .E839 2005ISBN: 0195171780Publication Date: 2005In this edited volume, a diverse group of scholars present and discuss challenging cases in the field of pediatric research ethics. After years of debate and controversy, fundamental questions about the morality of pediatric research persist: Is it ever permissible to use a child as a meansto an end? How much authority should parents have over decisions about research that involves young children? What should be the role of the older child in decisions about research participation? How do the dynamics of hope and desperation influence decisions about research involving dyingchildren? Should children or their parents be paid for participation in research? What about economic incentives for doctors, researchers and the pharmaceutical industry? Most importantly, how can the twin goals of access to the benefits of clinical research and protection from research risk bereconciled? Following an introductory overview by editor Eric David Kodish, the book is divided into three sections of case studies: Research Involving Healthy Children, Research Involving At Risk Children, and Research Involving Children with Serious Illness. Each case raises compelling ethicalissues, and the analysis presented in each chapter illuminate the challenges posed across a wide spectrum of both research protocols and stories of individual case-based approach, this book provides a balanced and through account of the enduring dilemmas that arise when children become researchsubjects.
Peter M. Gerhart, Distributive Values and Institutional Design for the Global Commons, in International Public Goods and Transfer of Technology Under a Globalized Intellectual Property Regime 69 (Keith Maskus & Jerome Reichman eds., 2005).
International Public Goods and Transfer of Technology under a Globalized Intellectual Property Regime by Call Number: K1401 .I588 2005ISBN: 9780521603027Publication Date: 2005This volume considers the effects of the increasingly globalized protection of intellectual property rights on the ability of countries to provide their citizens with basic research, education, public health, and environmental protection. The contributions of distinquished economists, political scientists, and legal experts accordingly assess public processes and inputs. They reveal what an emerging transnational system of innovation needs to promote technical progress, economic growth and welfare for all participants.
Calvin W. Sharpe, The Story of Emporium Capwell: Civil Rights, Collective Action, and the Constraints of Union Power, in Labor Law Stories in Labor Law Stories (Laura J. Cooper & Catherine L. Fisk eds., 2005), (with Marion G. Crain & Reuel E. Schiller) (with Marion G. Crain & Reuel E. Schiller).
Labor Law Stories 2005 by Call Number: KF3368 .L34 2005ISBN: 1587788756Publication Date: 2005This book tells the story of the development of labor law over the course of nearly seventy years - beginning with Mackay Radio, one of the earliest cases under the National Labor Relations Act (NLRA), and ending with Hoffman Plastic, one of the most recent. It includes cases from the major topics in a basic or advanced course on Labor Law, describing not only the doctrinal evolution of law under the NLRA, but also the impact of the law on the lives of the people involved. The authors interviewed dozens of participants in the fourteen cases addressed in the book.
Joseph A. Custer, The Law of Bleeding Kansas: A Selected Bibliography of Legal Documents from Pre-Statehood Kansas, 1803 – 1861, In Prestatehood Legal Materials: A Fifty-State Research Guide (2006) (with Robert Mead, and M Lung).
Prestatehood Legal Materials by Call Number: KF240 .P688 2005ISBN: 9780789020567Publication Date: 2006Explore the controversial legal history of the formation of the United States Prestatehood Legal Materialsis your one-stop guide to the history and development of law in the U.S. and the change from territory to statehood. Unprecedented in its coverage of territorial government, this book identifies a wide range of available resources from each state to reveal the underlying legal principles that helped form the United States.
Calvin W. Sharpe, Seniority, in The Common Law of the Workplace: The Views of Arbitrators 133 (Theodore J. St. Antoine ed., 2d ed. 2005).
The Common Law of the Workplace (2nd ed) by Call Number: KF3424 .C66 2005ISBN: 1570185409Publication Date: 2005This second edition provides new information on ethics in arbitration, application of external law, and drug abuse and violence in the workplace.
Michael P. Scharf, Amnesty, in 1 The Encyclopedia of Genocide and Crimes Against Humanity 31 (Dinah Sheltoned ed., 2005).
Encyclopedia of Genocide and Crimes Against Humanity by Call Number: HV6322.7.E532 2005ISBN: 9780028658476Publication Date: 2004-10-29Genocide: the systematic annihilation of a group of people for simply being who they are, whether in ethnic, religious or social terms. It has been with us since the beginning of history. The most widely-studied and catastrophic examples are, however, historically close: the Nazi Holocaust against the Jew, ethnic cleansing in Bosnia, and tribal warfare in Rwanda. Genocide is unfortunately a key feature of the study of world history at nearly every level. The Encyclopedia of Genocide and Crimes against Humanity spans the globe to explain the issues behind crimes against humanity and human rights issues as they relate to individual countries and the world at large. It traces the history of events that qualify as genocide and crimes against humanity, profiles perpetrators and heroes, and explains international laws and law proceedings aimed at ending genocide and crimes against humanity at specific groups or at least punishing those who have committed such crimes.
Erik M. Jensen, Direct Taxes -- Article I, Section 9, Clause 4, in The Heritage guide to the Constitution 207 (Edwin Meese, III, David F. Forte & Matthew Spalding eds., 2005).
Erik M. Jensen, Income Tax-- Amendment XVI, In The Heritage guide to the Constitution 524 (Edwin Meese, III, David F. Forte & Matthew Spalding eds., 2005).
Erik M. Jensen, Three-fifths Clause -- Article I, Section 2, Clause 3, in The Heritage guide to the Constitution 67 (Edwin Meese, III, David F. Forte & Matthew Spalding eds., 2005).
The Heritage Guide to the Constitution by Call Number: KF4527 .H47 2005ISBN: 159698001XPublication Date: 2005This guide is the first of its kind, and presents the U.S. Constitution as never before, including a clause-by-clause analysis of the document, each amendment and relevant court case, and the documents that serve as the foundation of the Constitution.
Books Published in 2005
- Courtroom Criminal Evidence (4th ed) byPublication Date: 2005-2010 (annual supplements)
Criminal Law: A Contemporary Approach by Call Number: KF9218.B57 2005ISBN: 0735539650Publication Date: 2005This refreshing new alternative for the first-year Criminal Law course is a lively coursebook that blends text, statutes, cases, and problems in a presentation that is user-friendly for both students and instructors. These distinctive characteristics make CRIMINAL LAW: A CONTEMPORARY APPROACH both effective and engaging: shorter length and with a rich and diverse mix of materials that promotes intellectual challenge without sacrificing accessibility the authors treat criminal law as an introduction to both statutes and cases and emphasize statutes as a primary source, with explicit treatment of statutory drafting and interpretation issues goes beyond the traditional focus on the judiciary to also examine the role of the legislature and the executive in defining offenses clear, direct text introduces statutes, cases, and problems the materials support a wide array of teaching techniques to address varied student learning styles within each section, the authors introduce the basics and then the materials grow progressively more challenging includes both modern and classic criminal cases includes material on ethics and highlights criminal law perspectives The casebook is part of a comprehensive teaching package that includes a videotape discussion of one of the homicide cases in the book, PowerPoint slides, and an extensive Teacher's Manual featuring: support for a range of teaching options on each topic, such as problems, simulations, role plays, and the traditional question-and-answer approach video suggestions graphics that can be easily reproduced and customized Recognition of the potential difficulty of teaching topics such as rape and domestic violence and detailed suggestions for teaching approaches to them sample syllabi for three- and four-credit courses
Giannelli Snyder Evidence (2nd ed) by Call Number: KFO540.G52 2001ISBN: 0832208574Publication Date: 2001 with 2005 supplement- Giannelli Snyder Rules of Evidence Handbook (2005 ed) by Call Number: KFO540.G53Publication Date: 2005
- Katz & Giannelli Ohio Criminal Justice (2005 ed) byCall Number: KFO561.A29O32Publication Date: 2005
Katz Giannelli Criminal Law (2nd ed) by Call Number: KFO561.K37 2003ISBN: 9780832209833Publication Date: 2003 - 2008 (annual supplements)- New York Suppression Manual : Arrest, Search & Seizure, Confession, Identification byCall Number: KFN6166.K389 1991Publication Date: 1991 - 2012 (looseleaf)
Ohio Arrest, Search and Seizure (2005 ed) by Call Number: KFO576.K37ISBN: 9781539228394Publication Date: 2005From the publisher: "In Ohio Arrest, Search and Seizure, a nationally recognized Fourth Amendment authority examines the balance of an individual's rights with legitimate law enforcement procedures, as reflected in decisions of the U.S. Supreme Court, Ohio criminal rules and statutes, and state caselaw. This basic reference on Ohio criminal procedure interprets new trends and developments while addressing facts and holdings in more than 800 cases.."
Ohio Juvenile Law (2005 ed) by Call Number: KFO595.O38Publication Date: 2005From the publisher: "Ohio Juvenile Law is a straightforward treatise containing selected provisions of the state revised code and rules of procedure and covering all major aspects of juvenile law..."- Scientific Evidence (3rd ed) byCall Number: KF8961.G53 1999ISBN: 0327049855Publication Date: 1999-2006 (annual supplements)
- Tax Aspects of Marital Dissolution (2nd ed) byCall Number: KF6333.W74 1997Publication Date: 1997-2004 (loose-leaf)
The Taxing Power by Call Number: KF6289 .J46 2005ISBN: 031331229XPublication Date: 2005The U.S. Constitution contains several limitations on the national taxing power. These limitations are almost always ignored due to the assumption that Congress is unconstrained in imposing taxes. The Taxing Power proves that assumption faulty by illustrating the importance of such limitations as the uniformity rule, the direct-tax apportionment rule, and the Export Clause. By looking at the historical origins of these limitations, Jensen argues that they are essential parts of the Constitution and should be taken seriously, as the founders intended. This full-scale treatment of the subject is a timely reminder that the national taxing power is not absolute. In the last decade the Supreme Court has begun to see the Export Clause as an important factor in taxation. This has opened the door for other limitations to be considered, making this work of utmost importance in the study of taxation.
